Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SWEEPING HISTORICAL THRILLER
There's a new player in the historical thriller genre, and his name is John Paul Davis. Conspiracy theory, the legends surrounding the Knights Templar, historical fact and global intrigue: Davis brings them all together in THE TEMPLAR AGENDA, a story so richly told you'll have trouble deciphering fact from fiction.

The story begins with the deaths of several...
Published on 4 Mar. 2012 by GAE-LYNN WOODS

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long-winded and messy but ultimately a good story beneath
As has been noted in other reviews, there are many times that the waffle and long-winded descriptions of places or meetings becomes difficult and even unrewarding to wade through. I feel that the story would not be in the least bit harmed by chopping out a significant amount of this 'padding' and it would make for a smoother read.

There are a number of...
Published on 2 Aug. 2012 by Dr. Richard A. Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Templer Agenda, 3 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. R. Fleming "soldier" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Agenda (Kindle Edition)
an excellent story from start to finish, one which one cannot put down, and when read ,one wishes they had taken longer to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so good, 19 May 2012
By 
Mr. Ps Curry "finding that item" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Agenda (Kindle Edition)
This is a well researched book by an author who clearly knows a lot about his subject matter, and its cheap.

Thats the only good thing I can say about it I'm afraid.

The book is huge, and filled with huge sections of pointless descriptive scene-setting. It constantly loses sight of where its trying to go, and conversational sections are a nightmare to try and follow. You would need to keep notes to be sure of who was saying what, espescially as some characters have multiple names which are used randomly in conversation but never fully explained to the reader.

The author also finds phrases that impress him, and then proceeds to use the same phrase several times in very short periods of time. There are countless occasions where the grammar is horrendous. This book desperately needs editing and criticism from people the author trusts.

Its a good plot but so so slow, and definitely not a thriller - the action and suspense scenes are few and far between, and the love plot is horrifically executed.

Its a shame because the author is clearly intelligent, and the plot is good. The total lack of an education in basic English, and the inability of the book to keep track of where its going let it down. Its a shame.

To the author - you show promise but you really really need an editor, hopefully you'll get one for your next book becuase you show a lot of promise. For this book though, 1 star is being generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A struggle to read, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Agenda (Kindle Edition)
It's a struggle to read; the writing style is really awkward and quite poor and in a lot of cases, too far-fetched such as finding a cave big enough to walk through, very close to a tourist hotspot in Scotland that nobody has ever found before and the two guys who arrive in New England in a papal helicopter all the way from Rome.

There are also a lot of bloopers such as an antagonist with hairy palms!

I struggled to keep track of who was whom, there are a lot of characters in this book and they are further confused by referring to them at different times either by their first name, last name, or their description or their title/rank.

The hero, Mike, a papal guard protecting the pretty millionaire heiress, is actually quite useless and doesn't actually seem to do much protecting at all so far. I am almost finished reading it, I do feel that I want to know what the outcome is. I just hope I am not going to be disappointed with the ending as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Templars, Swiss Guards and the Vatican Bank Accounts!, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Agenda (Kindle Edition)
Davis is always thorough in his research and this shows in his stories. I've enjoyed some of his others novels, but I think this one was rather weighed down with the in-depth detail of banking malpractices. The characters are well-drawn and become more engaging as the plot develops, Poor Little Rich Girl thaws to show her intellectual abilities, Soldier shows his Caring side. The interlinking of the Larmenius Rite to the Templars is convoluted and requires close attention as, once again, Davis indulges his love of historical background. The hectic action is paced by the intervals of "information giving", which occur in the guise of board meetings or discussions with Gabrielle's historian uncle. Various recent real-life incidents are incorporated into the conspiracy so the lines between fact and fiction are cleverly blurred. Over all, another well-paced, intelligent, conspiracy thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review The Templar Agenda, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Agenda (Kindle Edition)
I am really struggling with this book and keep looking to see how much I have left to read - or shall I just give up? Far too many characters some with similar names which adds to the confusion. We have the Vatican, the Masons, the Rite of Larmenius, Knights Templar, banks and some mythical countries with ridiculous names. There are Cardinals, bankers, assassins, those who have been killed, Vatican agents, Swiss Guards, the hero, the heroine, her family, members of the Rite of Larmenius etc etc. There should be a list of characters at the front of the book. I keep losing the plot. Essentially, it is a good story but there are a number of strands some of which are just too far fetched and the book drifts off into fantasy. If you like a Knights Templar story I have read better. I will press on just to see 'who done it' and see the hero and heroine get together but........ do I really care?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, overall a bit too long, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Agenda (Kindle Edition)
All in all not a bad read at all, enjoyed the book, just my 'cup of tea'. The story line is great and the author has obviously done his home work. However, in my opinion the book is at least 25% too long. It gets bogged down in far too much detail on occasions, such at the cocktail party at the beginning and the bankers meeting half way through. This tends to slow the novel down so that you find yourself speed reading to the next bit of action. But when the action does pick up the read is gripping and makes you want more. Split by the slow bits, it is never the less a good novel and I look forward to reading the authors next book. One last question though, if there was ever a villain who you'd like to see get his just rewards it was Gullet, but what happened to him? Last I heard he was flying away in a helicopter headed for Rome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Tempar's forever & ever", 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Agenda (Kindle Edition)
I searched this Yarn out as the blurb about it ticked all my box's & it was a pleasant surprise & I found that I really enjoyed it. I was to spend a week hospitalised & this book passed with flying colour's on the "keeping my attention" scale, which isn't easy these day's. I found the plot both formative & interesting, I'm an eager devotee of the Templar's & associated histories, there is no other organisation in the history of man that attract's imagining's of every kind from the scholar's to the damn-right mentally buckled. The author has done his homework & has layed out an interesting take on the Templar history line & well worth the fee, I have now secured his next book for my next stay in hospital & I'm really looking forward to getting to grip's with it. I would recommend this book & long may you keep me enthralled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I was bored., 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Agenda (Kindle Edition)
Fairly early on in the book I became bored by the slow pace of the story line although this did improve about half way through. I was puzzled by the use of English which in places seemed to have been written by someone for whom English was not their first language as there was quite often a peculiar choice of words. Also the absence of ' the and it on occasions made me think that it had been badly edited.
However the most aggravating ploy used by the author to implement the mystery of the story was that of withholding the names of characters. I know this is often done but in this case it was done too often.
I can say in the authors praise that the story line was well and thoroughly researched and also sufficiently different to keep me reading.
Janet Mount
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie in the Making, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Agenda (Kindle Edition)
With colourful scenes and intriguing locations straight from a Hollywood blockbuster, John Paul Davis has penned a movielike masterpiece on paper. From the very first page we are carried on a cinematic thrill ride through the author's photographic imagination, learning as we do that historical facts are not necessarily historical truths. The author's attention to detail is nothing short of breathtaking. Davis is quite clearly a master at weaving the rich tapestry of history into the vibrant fabric of a thrilling storyline. When it comes to de-mystifying the secrets of the Knights Templar, this book stands head and shoulders above its peers. If you like your Dan Brown-style conspiracy thrillers fast and furious, then look no further than John Paul Davis' début novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Withdraw for Re-write, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Agenda (Kindle Edition)
Everything the reviewers in the one star category have written is unfortunately true. This book is a mess. It needs a thorough reworking with a good editor because it does have the basis of a sound plot. Readers are not interested in long meetings about banking mores involving characters who make fleeting appearances, add nothing to the plot, then disappear. It's like watching paint dry and is called padding, or waffle. Similarly, descriptions of places ideal for a travelogue but where the reader visits little and wishes to revisit less.

I gave up half way through.

My advice is to withdraw this book, do a thorough professional rewrite, edit then re-publish under a different title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Templar Agenda
The Templar Agenda by John Paul Davis
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews