Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, comprehensive and even fun to read, 6 Mar. 2012
I am envious of anyone who gets to begin their experience with UDK by reading this book. Having got into this through online tutorials and other user created content, I found it quite hard at first to adjust to the development environment.

However, this book guides you through everything you need to know in order to get comfortable with the codebase, the development environment you require for compiling code for the kit and more.

Such things as the development of Kismet sequences and events through UnrealScript are hard to come by through the likes of the UDN simply because there's a lack of documentation for it or no one has managed to produce a tutorial that is capable of fully explaining how parts of the UnrealScript foundation works.

This book does a fantastic job also of detailing the usage of replication. A functionality that is required by all UnrealScript developers in order to achieve a multiplayer experience.

I couldn't advise this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the first timers, 28 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to begin at the beginning for UScript. It demystifies the enigma of unreal script step by step with recaps at the end. The analogies and examples to help with the understanding, really hammer home the way the engine works.

Having said that, this is an amazing primer, BUT it will not do the work for you, and it is not supposed to! In my autodidactic excursions into UScript, it seems a lot of people just want to make a game by cutting and pasting code without the understanding that comes with it, and much less put anything into it. I have seen this across forums and video tutorial logs. There IS NO way around it; you have to do the work. The true question is where to begin to understand what work to do, and with this book + THE WILL, you will have all you need.

Its process from beginning to end will take you through layer by layer of comprehension in systematic progression and explain what each thing does with the actual code to be implemented as you work along with the content.

You will be have an excellent place of reference to investigate the engine further and even create your own complete basic games; the book has a chapter on setting up a server game.

Rudimentary knowledge of programming language I would say is beneficial, however in its early stages the author has taken the time to explain basic data structures, operators and format of a class file! And there's nothing to stop you from doing a little extra background research.

You can't be better spoonfed. If I can comprehend it, anyone can and I would exhort this book for the first time Uscripter to get. Forget short cuts, there are none, and save yourself the agony of searching far and wide for incomplete basic knowledge. This is one part of the process you can't afford to be miserly with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars goes straight into coding, 10 April 2012
By 
I guess it is unreal.

Well, seriously, the text is a solid explanation of how to use UnrealScript to code complicated games. The syntax of the script will not be too askew to what you might already know from other fully fledged objected oriented languages or scripts. No surprises here. Instead, Cordone plunges immediately into explaining coding. There is an emphasis on quickly getting up to scratch by coding an example and then compiling and running it.

One nice feature is how she teaches you to treat a created class as a variable in itself. For anyone geared to OO languages like java or C++, this is old hat. But for newbies, this can be a revelation. It is a recursive viewpoint on being able to reclassify and then reapply an object class as a simple variable. Very powerful once you grasp the implications. Chapter 3 spends quite some time going over this. Perhaps too slowly for experienced coders, albeit. Chapter 4 then takes this further, by showing how to define your own custom classes.

There is a section here common to many game books. On the detection of collision between 2 moving objects. This book does not delve much into the maths of how you do this, but on how to use the results in downstream coding.

It should be said that the screen captures of the GUI of the SDK that shows the classes and its internal variables is rather minimal. The Microsoft SDK for .Net/C# is far more sophisticated. But there's enough here for the basics. This also suggests a possible direction of improvement for a future UnrealScript.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference and instruction, 24 Feb. 2012
This book is very beginner friendly without being pandering.

It goes over basics of programming in general in fairly great detail and most should be able to follow along with limited to no programming knowledge.

This book goes over:
different data storing variable types
loops
if then statements.
As well as proper use and reasons as to why it is proper use.

There are some cases in which the book goes over some information that isn't completely of necessity but does mention that it is a seldom used operation, still use-full for potential future use.

At the end of each chapter there are useful quizzes to help re-enforce concepts. I found these a very good tool to see how you are progressing in learning the concepts.

There is no further investment necessary in terms of programs, all programs used are free to use and very powerful.

There is good coverage as how to program both via text and visually using kismet and is a fantastic base foundation for exploring game programming in current-gen games, and those that are no focused in programing it still vastly expands your ability to produce more interesting and custom content in unreal.

I came at this book with minor programming knowledge prior to reading with an art/level design background. This book was still helpful in understanding setting up custom weapons and characters for the levels i have in progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great amount of information for working with Unreal scripting!, 2 May 2012
By 
C. Moeller (Arizona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unreal Development Kit Game Programming with UnrealScript: Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
I am a beginner to Unreal scripting, and had not realized how involved it could be. This book helps you with setting up everything you need to get started, installing the UDK and external programs for script editing/compiling, and setting up a project.

The book appears to be aimed more so at beginners, with information about basic programming types, functions and states, albeit how to use them in UnrealScript. It does include some more advanced concepts, such as working with multiplayer, but it's primary purpose is to give a good base for learning how to use UnrealScript.

Overall, it contains a ton of information on using UnrealScript, and would be useful for any looking to become very familiar with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, but how much of a beginner are you?, 3 Feb. 2012
By 
W. Baars "Wouter Baars" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I like this book. For those who want to enter the game industry and build a portfolio or just want to learn the often used unreal engine. The title suggest that it is a beginners book. That is true, however for 'real' beginners it may be quite difficult however. If you are used to tools like flash, unity or other 'scripting engines' the unreal engine is a bit harder (but also more powerful). This is not a problem of the book, but a problem of 'how much of a beginner you are'. Maybe you need to get the unreal beginners guide of Packtbub (or another even more beginners book), it depends on your starting point. If you are a C(++) programmer, this book is great.

Unreal Development Kit 3 Beginner's Guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 15 Feb. 2012
If you have the slightest interest in programming games using unreal script, this is the book that must be part of your collection. I started programming with unreal script I had all kinds of problems, I manage to solve them by finding answers in the forums but nobody explain to me why and how. This book does exactly that, explains everything and gives you the reasons you should do things in a certain way.

It's true, I have background in C++ and other OOP languages and that allow me to absorb the book but I think it will make a lot of sense for people less initiated. The author takes you through logical steps and you end up with a wealth of knowledge. I strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to get stuck in with Unreal, 27 Feb. 2012
This book is a fantastic way to get straight into the nitty gritty of how to make content in the UDK using Unrealscript. Within 15 mins you'll have your first creation showing up in the engine, running in realtime!

After the first chapter's success, the book then takes you on a steady and understandable path to learning about programming techniques used in Unrealscript and how they might apply to a game. The author even throws in a few pop culture references to keep you awake through potentially dry subjects, resulting in a very easy-on-the-mind learning resource!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I've not read fully!, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I should have checked that my aging laptop would run UDK before I brought this book, it didn't install...
However I have had a good read and from what I have seen this is a very good book, I used to work as a programmer many years ago and this will take even a novice by the hand and teach them UDK development with relative ease.
I suspect this may be worth five stars but without using it in a practical sense I don't feel qualified to say so.
I tried successfully to install "Unity" after UDK failed and am now reasonably adept at using it. If your hardware is aging like mine or you feel like investing your time in what I think is probably a more versatile (platform wise) development studio then give Unity a try instead, you may find you like it just as much as I do. Beware however that UDK's business model if far more friendly to the novice and enthusiast who may wish to try and release a title at some point. UDK will not cost anything until your game makes in excess of £25,000 (if I remember right, it may also have changed since then), Unity will demand money from you to release anything other than a free PC standalone, ranging from several hundred up to a few thousand pounds. However they do not take a permanent percentage of your money after this, UDK does once you break the 25k barrier...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the book Epic should ship with the UDK, 18 Jan. 2012
After spending over a year learning Unrealscript from the UDK Forums and online tutorials before this book was released this book is worth it's weight in gold ... inf act it's worth a lot more than that. The book is written from the point of view and logic of someone wanting to create their own game. As the chapters progress so does your game ... and more importantly so does your understanding of how to program with UnrealScript. The author's writing style is clear, logical and concise ; you can tell this is written by someone who writes games in UnrealScript and not just books on Unrealscript. The breadth of content is stunning and none of it is 'filler', just look at the contents page ... this starts from scratch and makes it from assigning variables, through setting up a camera and all the way to replication.The book then closes on debugging and optimisation chapter with a thorough trip through common errors when compiling , how they happen and how to fix them.

If you want to learn UnrealScript programming .... just buy this book it's that simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews