Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Introduction
This book acts as a perfect introduction to not just the world of antimatter, but also something of particle physics.

Close begins by discussing the legend of antimatter. A bizarre group of particles, often finding their way into Science Fiction, yet antimatter is real, it can exist, despite being annihilated on contact with matter. Close debunks what is...
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by DB

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from perfect
While this book provides a brief and interesting introduction to antimatter and particle physics in general, it tends to focus too much on the historical aspect of the science, which in my opinion distracts from the explanation. Furthermore, there are too many ambiguous metaphors about 'dancing' which get extremely dreary after a while.

A decent book, but there...
Published 10 months ago by chez198


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Introduction, 16 Aug 2009
By 
DB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Antimatter (Hardcover)
This book acts as a perfect introduction to not just the world of antimatter, but also something of particle physics.

Close begins by discussing the legend of antimatter. A bizarre group of particles, often finding their way into Science Fiction, yet antimatter is real, it can exist, despite being annihilated on contact with matter. Close debunks what is false, and introduces the reader to the reality of antimatter, and the accompanying particle physics. A far from simple feat, having read several books previously which left me puzzled by Feynman diagrams, or simply what the particles are, Close takes a slower, gentler approach and succeeds in making the whole subject easily accessible.

The appendixes are very interesting too, offering some deeper insights into Antimatter, although some mathematical understanding may be necessary and can be left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent popular explanation of what we know about antimatter, 12 April 2009
By 
J. H. Jaffe (Old Jaffa, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antimatter (Hardcover)
Books which attempt a popular review of a highly specialized subject are notoriously difficult to write. The experts will find little in them that is new, and the general reader will encounter much that is obscure and baffling.

This having been said, Frank Close has done a creditable job presenting the subject of anti-matter.

I personally was intrigued by some technical facts cited (eg anti-protons can be cooled with electrons) and amused by several popular explanations (eg How a space explorer should communicate with super-intelligent inhabitants to ascertain that their territory is not made of anti-matter: a wise precaution before attempting to land.)

An excellent book. I am glad to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pro antimatter, 11 Mar 2010
By 
S. Cloude (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antimatter (Paperback)
Thought provoking, informative and entertaining..a great little book. Especially liked the small section on the Dirac code...clearest explanation I have seen. A great example that truth is stranger then fiction when it comes to physics..the real stuff is even weirder than the pseudo-science..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best physics books I have ever read!, 30 Aug 2011
This review is from: Antimatter (Paperback)
I am a 17 year old student, currently doing my A levels.
I found this book extremely well written, every single detail was easily understood.
I have read various physics books to help me develop my knowledge as an aspiring physics undergraduate.
Frank Close does a magnificent job! and is probably one of my favourite physics books.
Going through the derivation of antimatter, the history, what antimatter tells us and the theoretical possibilities of its discovery.
I learnt so much from this book, once you start reading it you won't want to put it down!
Recommended to those who wish to have much more knowledge on the topic of antimatter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and enlightening, 4 Mar 2010
This review is from: Antimatter (Paperback)
As a complete physics ignoramus I was a little concerned that I'd soon be lost when reading this book. Fortunately, Close does an excellent job of explaining the hard science behind antimatter without a: excessive deviation, or b: patronising and misleading metaphorical illustration. For such a short book it contains enough concrete explanation to keep you thinking, and enough anecdotal material about the history of this branch of particle physics to keep you entertained.

I had to read a few parts twice - notably the explanation of E=MC2 (yes, I'm that ignorant!) but I got up to speed fairly quickly (for the purposes of the book's use of that formula, at least).

Close is clearly a leading and very passionate advocate on the subject of antimatter (itself, I gather, only a small part (excuse the pun) of the field of particle physics) and offers a lucid and engaging read, and fairly mind-blowing for a newcomer to popular science like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from perfect, 19 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Antimatter (Paperback)
While this book provides a brief and interesting introduction to antimatter and particle physics in general, it tends to focus too much on the historical aspect of the science, which in my opinion distracts from the explanation. Furthermore, there are too many ambiguous metaphors about 'dancing' which get extremely dreary after a while.

A decent book, but there are many better out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AntiMatter, 12 Feb 2010
This review is from: Antimatter (Hardcover)
A very readable, accessible, overview of the topic, but perhaps with not the same clarity as the same author's 'The Void'. The history of antimatter science is well set out, and myths about the use of antimatter firmly disposed of. I enjoyed reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulus little book!, 4 July 2009
By 
George Spiros (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antimatter (Hardcover)
This is a very very nice book!

Althought it is quite a narrow subject (antimatter is only a chapter of particle physics) this book is extremely well written. Someone would expect that it would be a book only for the hardcore enthousiasts of popular physics, but it is not.

It is very easy to follow and very interesting. In the meantime it totally satisfies the more enthousiast reader that wants some more details.

It achieves the perfect balance between easiness to read and serious approach on the subject! This is fabulus is you ask me, as the subject itself is specialized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close to perfect..........!!!, 21 April 2012
This review is from: Antimatter (Paperback)
Frank Close is such a good writer. His work is clearly written, carefully crafted and full of illustrative examples to help the reader gather a fuller picture of what is, for many people, indescribable but fascinating. I remember Frank Close giving a brilliant BBC Christmas Lecture (The Cosmic Onion)- how old was I? - so Frank has obviously been in the business of particle physics a long time!! This, and his enthusiastic and knowledgeable style, makes it possible to trust the Physics and to learn from it. It is such a brilliant book - it covers everything you would want to know - from the beginning - no prior knowledge assumed. I cannot recommend this book highly enough to someone wanting to know "just what is this antimatter stuff?"..............Definitely a valuable book to give to a budding A level Physics student..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory book about antimatter in a high energy physics world, 8 May 2011
By 
Thomas Ellegaard "Grandmage" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antimatter (Paperback)
This is a nice little book about antimatter. Some may ask if one could write a whole book just about antimatter, but Frank Close does it well.
The book starts a little bit slow though, carefully explaining what antimatter is. Later it catches on, and the second half of the book is indeed very interesting.

The book does not only explain what antimatter is, and how to produce it, but also tells us the full history of how it was first discovered and up till now.
Frank Close show us what an important role in the whole world of particles that antimatter plays. The knowledge in this book should be mandatory for all high school students.
Finally Frank tell us about the antimatter we see in the movie "Angels and Demons" and the possible role of antimatter in the future use in spaceships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antimatter
Antimatter by Frank Close
4.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews