Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopedic
Over the last few months I've been reading through the latest edition of the Backpacker's Handbook and its a great addition to any outdoorsman's or women's library. Its updated from the last edition with new information and photographs. A few photos and words are carried forward.

The only minor downside is that only ounces and pounds are given. No grams and...
Published on 26 Feb 2012 by Tony Hobbs

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Backpacker
Lots of useful ideas. I needed help thinking about what to pack and what to leave behind. I found the advice in this book useful and clearly explained. Some of the more extreme backpacking is not relevant for me but the book is nevertheless useful because the principles a re applicable for any camping, hiking trip.
Published 20 months ago by Mrs Ruth Horne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopedic, 26 Feb 2012
By 
Tony Hobbs (Bristol, S Glos United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Over the last few months I've been reading through the latest edition of the Backpacker's Handbook and its a great addition to any outdoorsman's or women's library. Its updated from the last edition with new information and photographs. A few photos and words are carried forward.

The only minor downside is that only ounces and pounds are given. No grams and kilos. But that's very minor and doesn't detract from the knowledge enclosed. And Chris probably has more knowledge on this subject than most. I'm pretty sure he has pitched more shelters than most of us have had hot dinners!

Its an excellent resource of information. If you want detail on lights or choosing a shelter or boot fitting its all there, navigation and spending a night out camping. Info on back-country walking and safety. The new revelation of lightweight walking is also covered, as is cuben fibre.

468 pages are divided into 9 chapters and illustrated throughout with the authors photographs.

Preparing for the Trail.
The Load on your Back.
Footwear and Wilderness Travel.
Carrying the Load.
Keeping Warm and Dry.
Shelter.
The Wilderness Kitchen.
Comfort and Safety in Camp and on the Trail.
On the Move.

The index at the rear is very thorough.

If you are looking for an encyclopedia on backpacking, hiking, camping I think you will be very happy to start here.

A worthy update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, informative and passionate, 31 Aug 2012
Chris Townsend has certainly put in the miles - with many long distance routes (particularly in the States) under his belt and a true love of mountainous and wilderness areas. This knowledge and passion really comes across in this manual - plenty of detailed information and help to plan and kit out a long distance backpack but also lots of little tips that give you the feeling that everything in the book (as in Chris's pack) has been weighed to ensure it is useful and based on real experience. Slightly old-fashioned layout and the cover is a bit flimsy but thats a minor quibble - would have been useful to have weights in European measurements as well, as someone else commented, but overall well worth buying if you are planning any backpacking trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough introduction to outdoor gear, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backpacker's Handbook, 4th Edition (Kindle Edition)
Thorough introduction to the many options for outdoor / backpacking gear, and practicalities of camping. Little coverage of first aid and cooking, so not a panacea :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book, very thorough and easy to read. Covers all sections in detail eg cooking, boots, tents etc packed full of good advice and has obviously been very well researched. Only downside is most of the trails discussed are in North America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From the users, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my sister and her partner who go on walks around the country. Handbook provides lots of useful information and is used regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 25 Sep 2013
all you really need full of info about kit and food etc. informative easy to read after reading it made me want to put on my backpack and hike great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backpacker's Handbook, 4th Edition (Kindle Edition)
There is lots in here for everyone, lots you know, lots you had forgotten and lots to learn!
Very good reference book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Useful Read, 23 Sep 2012
By 
M. K. Delarue (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm relatively new to backpacking, after a gap of many years, and bought this book after browsing Amazon, just looking to see what the latest thinking was. I found it very informative and if you were to buy only one book on backpacking - this should be the one. The chapters on food and cooking alone made it worthwhile for me! Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Indeed, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is without doubt the most well informed and comprehensive book about backpacking that I have ever come across. The information is sensibly laid out in different chapters and has obviously been gleaned from actual experience. There is mountains of gear information here with almost all angles looked at. Another important factor is that this is an enjoyable book to read and doesn't come across as a 'dry' technical type manual. It is very up to date with great emphasis on the lightweight approach to hiking. Top class and I would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good reference work, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backpacker's Handbook, 4th Edition (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed reading Chris Townsend's writings for some time so I recently took the plunge and downloaded the Backpacker's Handbook on Kindle. I am always trying to improve my backpacking experience, including making improvements to my gear, so I thought this book would give me some good tips - I was not disappointed.

The book contains nine core chapters covering topics from footwear to cooking. I found the usefulness (and interest) of the chapters a bit variable, but I guess this is the nature of a handbook - you dip into it for advice on the areas that interest you most. Personally I enjoyed most the chapters on lightening the load, cooking and shelter, but there is lots of good stuff throughout.

My only slight niggle is that the book is targeted at the American market (understandable given the potential market size). All weights for gear are given in ounces and pounds, it would not have been difficult to also include grams in the lists. Also, almost all examples of backpacking trips are those Chris has done in North America, but I did not mind this as I found the descriptions of these 'adventures' an interesting addition to the main focus of the book.

Overall, a very good read; enjoyable and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Backpacker's Handbook, 4th Edition
£4.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews