Customer Reviews


379 Reviews
5 star:
 (179)
4 star:
 (126)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night of the Assassin
I reviewed this book in my review of KING OF SWORDS. I read this book (Night of the Assassins)and immediately downloaded King of Swords. If you like gritty films like Pulp Fiction/The Godfather/Scarface etc you will love these books. Real page turners (well, page 'clickers' if you have a kindle).
Published on 20 Jun. 2012 by Maz

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back story of a super-assassin - average overall but with some decent elements
'Night of the Assassin' is a prequel to King of Swords (Assassin series #1), delving into the back story of 'Del Rey', the almost superhuman assassin from childhood up to legendary hitman status in the Mexican underworld.

It starts off well enough with taking out a cartel boss on a luxury yacht, to then go back through the past via several development steps...
Published on 16 Nov. 2012 by AK


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night of the Assassin, 20 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Assassin: (Assassin Series Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
I reviewed this book in my review of KING OF SWORDS. I read this book (Night of the Assassins)and immediately downloaded King of Swords. If you like gritty films like Pulp Fiction/The Godfather/Scarface etc you will love these books. Real page turners (well, page 'clickers' if you have a kindle).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast actioned and well written, 6 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Assassin: (Assassin Series Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
I found this an enjoyable action packed read, which worked well for me even though I have not read the main book, of which this is the prequel.

It is at times violent and bloody, but no more than a Tom Clancy.

The plot is credible and the main character has a lot of depth to him. I felt that I got to know him and his motivation quite well from this novel. If, as I understand it, the purpose of this prequel was to show those things - i.e. why he does what he does- then it is mission accomplished.

I will certainly look out for more of the same by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, 24 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Assassin: (Assassin Series Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
If I thought the main story was good then this prequel to it is outstanding.

Shows us how El Rey became who he is and why. A sort of anti hero bad guy who you can't help but wish success to.

Each page just flows easily in to the next and due to crafting of the tale it is hard to stop turning pages and put the damn kindle down!

I'll be looking for more from this author!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read.....And a freebie !!!!!, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Assassin: (Assassin Series Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
Wow....Kindle have done it again. Another excellent read and a freebie. The character is believable and the book is a real page turner. I read it in one sitting and could simply not put it down. Download this book now !!! You will not be dissapointed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night of the Assassin by Russell Blake, 17 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Night of the Assassin: (Assassin Series Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
Because of a free download on Amazon I have discovered Russell Blake and Night of the Assassin. This would not have been the type of book I would normally read but Im so thankful that I did. Night of the Assassin is full of action and suspense. This is a real page turner and very hard to put down. I was very sorry to get to the end of Night of the Assassin and bought King of Swords to learn more about the main character. Night of the Assassin is a must read....I will be reading more from Russell Blake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 13 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Assassin: (Assassin Series Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
Another cracking Kindle freebie! Since getting my Kindle three months ago I've downloaded well over a hundred freebies- and promptly deleted about 90% of them after getting less than 10 pages in. You know the standard- lousy dialogue, erratic punctuation and clumsy plotlines- usually the sort of plot thought up by 14 year old boys.
BUT: this is NOT one of those books.
Well-written, well edited and with a great plot, this is a cracking little novel that'll keep you up late at night. Admittedly, it is about a kid who grows up to become the world's number one assasin, so not exactly a deep, multi-layered journey of discovery that uncovers some of Life's most profound secrets through a touching series of analogies, but so what? Imagine Antonio Banderas at his baddest-assed, and you're there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Edge of your seat, pulse-pounding thriller, 2 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Assassin: (Assassin Series Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
The book opens with the deadly El Rey as he carries out his latest job - the assassination of a notorious drugs cartel boss aboard his luxury yacht, surrounded by a crack team of mercenaries. The book then switches to El Rey's childhood and explains the origin story behind one of Russell Blake's most brutal characters. El Rey is the product of a violent upbringing, terrible heartbreak and death. He's also the most deadly assassin the world has ever seen.

Night of the Assassin is the prequel to Blake's King of Swords trilogy (does this make it a quadrilogy? Four-ology? Quilogy? Tetralogy?) and charts the rise of El Rey as he strives to become the world's highest-paid assassin. Blake's plotting is tight and exhilirating, his writing style gritty and uncompromising. Blake doesn't pull any punches here, and there are several scenes that feature some very gruesome endings for the book's seemingly endless assassin-fodder. The book is roughly 55k words, so the average reader should get at least a few evenings' worth of edge-of-the-seat entertainment for their money (it's currently free on Amazon, so even better), which is one of the best deals you'll find on the kindle right now.

The story of El Rey is framed against the backdrop of Mexico's modern-day drug trafficking, and Blake slams the reader right into the middle of a bloody war for power, fought between rival factions of the country's power-elite. It's doubtful you'll shed a tear for the quickly-dispatched drug lords, but there were some very emotional scenes early on as Blake focuses on the impact of the violence on innocent families. You will quickly find yourself rooting for El Rey as he carries out his work with a cold, ruthless efficiency, and the book will leave you desperate for more. Thankfully, there are three more books to devour and possibly a fourth on the way.

If you're a fan of raw, unflinching thrillers, you'll find this book offers you everything you could possibly want. If you're new to the genre, this is a great place to start. Just make sure you've got a free weekend ahead of you, as you'll struggle to put this one down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from Andrew Harding, 16 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Assassin: (Assassin Series Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
This is probably the best prequel I've ever read. BLAKE builds the progression from childhood to man of a heartless assassin whose environment, life and the people around him, all had a hand in playing their roll. I won't spoil it for you but I have to add that the writing is so compelling, I was actually on that journey through the whole book and gasped at times, because the raw truth of life was there, and nothing left out. Another gritty and exciting gem for me. I would give this more stars than 5 but that's all we're permitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Streamlined thriller, 30 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Assassin: (Assassin Series Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
Another rollercoaster of a thriller from this author. It is a prequel of sorts to the "King of Swords" but you don't have to have read that book to enjoy this one.

It is episodic in structure and the various assassinations that are carried out seem quite authentic ( Not that I have ever been a contract killer) and you don't need to suspend your disbelief too much.
It has an interesting setting, right in the heart of Mexican Cartel country

This book is well written and it is very fast paced and slickly put together.
I have read a few books by this author and have enjoyed all of them so far. His books could easily, in my opinion have been released by one of the big publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mexican Jackal, 18 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Assassin: (Assassin Series Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
I stumbled across this on the Kindle Store and downloaded it onto my tablet as a test (I'd only previously bought hard copies of books) and loved it. While not a gritty procedural type story, I found the main character to be like a cross between a Hollywood action hero type assassin and Forsyth's Jackal. Clever, well trained and ruthless, El Rey can get to anyone, and this book tells the origins and early years of the world's deadliest assassin.

It's a good read, flows well and while not the most realistic story, it was very entertaining. I've gone straight from this to The King of Swords, so am following the story in chronological order. I'll definitely be reading more of Russell Blake's offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews