Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tablet for the price
The price of this Tablet, no doubt shortly to be discontinued by Sony in the UK (although another version seems imminent in Japan) has been dropping like a stone over the last few weeks - at time of writing in August 2012. The Sony P Tablet was only launched in November in the UK at a list price of £499.

I've been using a tablet computer since the first iPad...
Published on 21 Aug. 2012 by Dr. Paul Ell

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Certainly unique
I fell in love with the design of this tablet when I first saw it in Tokyo last year. Having picked one up at launch and lived with the system for a while, I can say it's a solid attempt and injecting variety into a very bland market, but for Sony the experiment seems to have failed.

On the plus side, it's a lovely looking gadget. It feels very solid, and looks...
Published on 23 May 2012 by Acteon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Certainly unique, 23 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Sony 5.5 inch 3G Tablet P (Nvidia Tegra 2 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 4GB Memory, Android 3.1) (Personal Computers)
I fell in love with the design of this tablet when I first saw it in Tokyo last year. Having picked one up at launch and lived with the system for a while, I can say it's a solid attempt and injecting variety into a very bland market, but for Sony the experiment seems to have failed.

On the plus side, it's a lovely looking gadget. It feels very solid, and looks great open or closed. The two screens are bright and sharp, and where split screen apps are utilised, they look great. Sony has done a wonderful job of customising Android for its devices, and the OS has never looked better.

The main problem is the gap created by the bezel. There are very few split screen apps, so you have to work your way around this ugly black bar that sits in the middle of the screen. Reading websites is a real chore, as you have to stretch the browser to read lines that are often split in half by the two screens. Games are pretty much unplayable, and video takes the only option it can, and uses a single screen, reserving the second for controls.

As the unit has failed to really find an audience (I also own an iPad, and it quickly became apparent which I wanted to use more often) app support has been pretty much non-existent. I did write to a few app authors who were prepared to make changes, but in the end I lost patience with the device itself and sold it.

As with a lot of Sony products, this one launched into an aggressive market and was promptly abandoned by Sony to sink or swim. Since even Sony won't support the device properly, it's destined to go the way of the Sony Rolly - unique, bold but ultimately forgotten. A real shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tablet for the price, 21 Aug. 2012
By 
Dr. Paul Ell (NI, UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony 5.5 inch 3G Tablet P (Nvidia Tegra 2 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 4GB Memory, Android 3.1) (Personal Computers)
The price of this Tablet, no doubt shortly to be discontinued by Sony in the UK (although another version seems imminent in Japan) has been dropping like a stone over the last few weeks - at time of writing in August 2012. The Sony P Tablet was only launched in November in the UK at a list price of £499.

I've been using a tablet computer since the first iPad launched and my main tablet is, and will remain, an iPad 3 - or `new iPad'. However at its current price point I decided to invest in this Android device.

First let's deal with the negatives: 1. This is very much a two-screened device. There's a fairly large frame around each screen, and crucially along the hinges where the two screens meet. While looking at web pages across both screens works fairly well, watching video, or reading an e-book (with the exception of the Sony Reader app) doesn't work too well.
2. Only 4Gb of storage is built in.
3. Ongoing support from Sony might be limited.
4. The inbuilt mono speaker is awful. Some apps seem to get more volume out of it but for many the volume is simply too low to hear sound.
5. The charger is bespoke, and the tablet won't charge through a USB. Additional chargers are expensive and there isn't a recommend charger for use in the car although the power on plug looks fairly standard so it might be possible to track down a car charger with the correct voltage.

But there are a number of advantages with the tablet:
1. It's small and light, about half the weight of an iPad but feels even lighter. Pretty much you can take this tablet anywhere, and going through airport security it can stay in your bag.
2. As noted under negatives, the screens used together have a black border between the them. This isn't quite such a problem as might be anticipated. Using the screens for web browsing works well and Sony and partners have a number of key apps that take advantage of the two screens. So the mail software, the calendar, and the basic text editing software all work well with typically app controls or a keyboard occupying the second screen.
3. Of particular note in terms of apps that use the two screens is the Sony reader e-book software. This displays text, or pages, on each screen, when the tablet is held in portrait fashion just like reading a paper book. Plus as Sony have long been producing ebook readers their ebook store is well stocked.
4. As you'd expect for a premium-priced device, build quality is very good, the screens are bright and clear, and the tablet is good at multi-tasking.
5. I haven't owned a tablet before that's 3G enabled as well as having WiFi. Much to my surprise this is useful on the go with no wifi and the tablet switches between wifi and 3G seamlessly.
6. As a iOS user, while some of the apps don't have the Apple polish, the built in GPS (not something that comes with a wifi iPad) and the navigation software is brilliant.
7. Memory can easily be extended by buying a 32Gb microSDHC card which are now very cheap.
8. The tablet ships with Android 3.2 but can be upgraded via the Sony website to 4.0 - ice cream sandwich.

So overall if you need an ultra-portable tablet, this is for you. In fact you probably own one already. If you have an 10 inch screen tablet already you'll likely want to continue to use that for most purposes but this tablet is good on the go and some things work very well - email and ebook reading in particular. The 3G is really good when out of wifi range and finding a 3G tablet at a good price is difficult. And this tablet is different, its not . . . tablet like in shape. For the price I'd recommend it, so four stars.

build quality
special apps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product from Sony, 16 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony 5.5 inch 3G Tablet P (Nvidia Tegra 2 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 4GB Memory, Android 3.1) (Personal Computers)
At £180 this is a bargain. If you accept this as what it is ie two screens and use it this way then you wil find it very good. The latest update to 4.03 makes beter use of the two screens, there is a third party browser SPBrowser which allows you two have seperate browser sessions on the upper and lower screen.
The display is incredible bright and vibrant and everything runs fast and smooth. I bought this to replace my mp3 player as it was now cheaper to buy the tablet P than a Walkman and audio playback through headphones is truly excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tablet P - no tablet but an ideal sized Android UMPC, 30 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony 5.5 inch 3G Tablet P (Nvidia Tegra 2 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 4GB Memory, Android 3.1) (Personal Computers)
Sonys tablet P has just two problems:

1) It's marketed as a tablet, but in fact it is rather an Android 4.0 UMPC, for people who want a small communication device and think of the second screen as a keyboard which will also display information, given that your application uses the device properly. In addition one gets Androids multi media features but this should not be the main reason for buying this tablet, because most others will do a better job there. If you intend buying a really small form factor UMPC with 3G and WIFI, this is the only device which is currently in production and available in Europe.

2) Battery life is definitely too short and I will need a backup for my occasional long distance flights.

My impression so far is that the tablet P is by far better than its really bad reviews suggest. This is because most reviewers and probably even Sony misinterpreted the target application and audience of the tablet P. At the current price of just around 200 EUR (Amazon recently sold them for 150 GBP) the tablet P is a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Sony 5.5 inch 3G Tablet P (Nvidia Tegra 2 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 4GB Memory, Android 3.1) (Personal Computers)
I hop to by this for x-mas gift cos it's grate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Concept - Really Poor Build and Quality Control, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony 5.5 inch 3G Tablet P (Nvidia Tegra 2 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 4GB Memory, Android 3.1) (Personal Computers)
I really liked the concept of this tablet - being able to fold it and place it in my jacket pocket or a very small bag for travelling seemed like a great idea - but sadly the build quality is pathetic. I had to send units back no less than four times! One had a broken screen, and all of them had either the top or the bottom screen a subtle different blue hue. Every demo model I have ever seen in shops in the UK and EU had this same problem. Once you notice it you can't stop seeing the difference.

Sony support on the phone are next to useless - in shops the people are often much better - but after my experience I would recommend not wasting time or money on this tablet.

The Sony P is currently extremely cheap and available online for a lot less than £200, but there are a few other negative features to weigh up against convenience: there is a proprietary charger, a long charge time, two large bezels in middle of the two screens and apparently no native wifi tethering with the ICS update and no hope of Jelly Bean. I could have lived with all this for the portability and low price but the quality I experienced was just too poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars small but not small enough for your pocket, 14 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Sony 5.5 inch 3G Tablet P (Nvidia Tegra 2 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 4GB Memory, Android 3.1) (Personal Computers)
Well I got mine and the basic points are as follows.I had endless problems with the Wifi and my home router.
The screen is not very bright outside.The battery didn't last long.The dual screens became irritating and there is a lot of wasted space at the sides,top and bottom.It is quite fat and heavy for it's size.Finally I lost mine as it fell out of my pocket as I was walking along the beach.
I was left maddened by the entire experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Falls short of the latest tablets., 5 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Sony 5.5 inch 3G Tablet P (Nvidia Tegra 2 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 4GB Memory, Android 3.1) (Personal Computers)
What I like about this tablet is that it has a space saving design that protects the screens while closed, but there are a few things that will make you feel shortchanged by this product.The processor is slow compared to the latest tablets, which are cheaper.The inbuilt speaker needs to be about 30-40% louder. The main problem I have with this device is that it's wi-fi reception is quite poor compared to a modern smartphone or tablet so makes it difficult to access apps and stream video. I think you are best off waiting a few weeks for the latest kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Retro chic ?, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony 5.5 inch 3G Tablet P (Nvidia Tegra 2 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 4GB Memory, Android 3.1) (Personal Computers)
How do I do it. This 'tablet' was already obsolete when I bought it. I wanted something that uses the Android platform. However, this is like a bad DS. All the apps are for mobile 'phones and therefore only one of the screens work. You immediately have to buy a micro SD card and when I downloaded a game, once paid for was informed my device wasn't suitable. Stay clear of this, there are so many more alternates. Another missed opportunity from Sony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews