Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game , the wii is so under-rated
I grabbed a copy of xenoblade last year and enjoyed it immensely, I also loved Skyrim but the jrpgs have a special quality about them which seperates them from there western counter-parts. Having thought about it for a while I have come to the conclusion that it the characters that are so different.
Last story (and xenoblade) have fantastic characters and a much more...
Published on 29 Feb 2012 by Mr. S. L. Castle

versus
0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bleh
isnt in PAL format so had to manualy fix it by loocking it up on google... and the picture was cuite sickening
Published 16 months ago by ininus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game , the wii is so under-rated, 29 Feb 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Story (Wii) (Video Game)
I grabbed a copy of xenoblade last year and enjoyed it immensely, I also loved Skyrim but the jrpgs have a special quality about them which seperates them from there western counter-parts. Having thought about it for a while I have come to the conclusion that it the characters that are so different.
Last story (and xenoblade) have fantastic characters and a much more cinematic feel to them. I know Skyrim/ kingdom of Amular have a lot of cinematics/text in them but it all feels so disjointed, where as in Last story I found myself hooked to every cut scene and unwilling to skip in case i miss an important fact.
This games combat system takes a while to get used to but once you do it's quite exciting and unique. You can run about the areas in real time dishing out damage as well as pausing the action to order your squad to help with magic/ special abilities. Your have the ability to "gather" the enemies attention, so battles usually play out like this: Gather enemies attention, allow mages to cast spells uninterrupted, manipulate that spell to add special abilities (armour break, slow etc), hack away until they die!
There is a city hub in between missions which is a bustling medi-evil style fortress with loads of side streets and side quests to discover and explore. My one slight annoyance is that its hard to track side quests, so if your forget where some one told you to go then...good luck!
I wont ramble so in conclusion this is an engrossing character based rpg with a engrossing story and unique combat system which has made me fall in love with my wii again.
I hope you enjoy it even half as much as i have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last story by Magic man "sir sakaguchi" himself, 11 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Story (Wii) (Video Game)
With the current trend of Jrpg's taking a nose dive into the forever deepening loss. The last story (TLS) comes in swinging to remind us all just what a jrpg is about, More so when it concerns the fabled final fantasy series (to which we owe thanks to Mr sakaguchi).

If compared to the likes of Final Fantasy XIII (and FF13-2 to some degree) TLS comes out on top, Easy as chips.

This is a beautiful driven story with an easy to master combat system which is both fun and enjoyable. The progression and rate you gain skills fits the story line perfectly as you start your quest as a mercenary. The story is slow to start, to allow you to get to know the people you find yourself with as you take control of a young wanna be knight zeal, You find yourself on forgotten pirate ships, Chasing Spirits of the land and even exploring haunted mansions in the side quests.

The game is short however, and it leaves you wanting more but skipping the side quests you can easily ammount 20+ hours of play, and there is always the extras provided by the side quests and multiplayer the game offers.

The mulitplayer comes in to types, Deathmatch and co-op. the deathmatch you pit your character against another players, there is no draw backs as replaying the game after completing it allows you to carry on with the level you have attained, Including Equipment and skills, and do it all again with Scaled Boss fights. You will walk through the general battles with your lvl 68 character during your second play through and have quite a shock when the boss you face is scaled to level 75. Providing a more deadly twist to the turn of fate you find your characters in.

The co-op game allows you to team up with up to 5 or 6 other players to take on the boss's. These fights are not easy and the rewards for completing them usually pay out Weapons and upgrade materials per Defeat. These items you can actually use in your solo game.

So back to the game. You have alot of control over these characters, able to completely colour and customise each characters cloth look, Change equipment in a system similar to the earlier final fantasy's.

The game brings back a true feeling of one of square-soft's old master pieces. And rightly so. The music is beautiful as is the story line, you find a deep story intertwining you and your party, and you find alot of twists and turns that shock and awe our you as the player.

Your relationship grows with the characters as the game goes on, And you find your playing for those moments, to spend time with specific characters.

The story turns from being about your journey towards knight hood to saving the world from impending doom. from the evil gurak forces. You soon realise that not everything is how it seems, and that the forces you face are more complex then one man of evil, and another of good. Your decisions impact the world and whilst sometimes it seems like those decisions are out of your control, you gain control back eventually.

This is a kick ass game, with a amazingly fun battle system that seems to grow as your characters get more powerful, It reflects your skill as a player, and the skill of your characters levels too, meaning this system is easy for anyone coming over to the Wii to experience this game.

Words cannot describe to true effect how good this game is, i can only say this, Whilst short, the game is great, and regardless of content your looking at 30+ hours of game play to play through everything. This game rewards those players who like to complete full content. (an example of this is unlocking the "remove curse" from weapons vendor, Allowing you to gain powerful weapons and items for upgrade, something which you will miss out on if you just stick to the main story.

10/10
A beautiful game from an amazing developer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story of things to come, 15 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Story (Wii) (Video Game)
The Last Story is a tale of mercenaries with a dream of becoming knights. The story unfolds on Lazulis Island. A fortified city located in between two warring continents. The story begins with the group of mercenaries trying to increase their standing, but it quickly escalates into a quest to find the reason behind the worlds decay. It's the latest RPG from Mistwalker, the studio behind the Xbox 360 epic Lost Odyssey and the Blue Dragon series. The Last Story is the first game Hironobu Sakaguchi has directed in 20 years. It represents a distinct departure from the traditional turn based titles of his past as he steps into the faster paced world of Action RPGs. Is this quicker, leaner style of game, a natural fit for the Maestro behind Final Fantasy or is it just one step too far.

Well let's start with the important bit, the battle system. For the majority of the game you will be controlling wannabe knight Zael. Before you even take control of the plucky hero, you should choose whether he auto-attacks by tilting the analogue stick or attacks manually via a button press. I've tried out both control setups and they seem pretty much equally effective. The only issue with auto-attack is sometimes when a posse of enemies surround you, the game struggles to differentiate between attacks and movement. Once you've decided which control method to use, it's not just a case of slashing away. There's a combo system at play, the basic idea behind it is, if you attack as a team you cause more damage than attacking alone. To increase your combo, you need to alternate attacking an enemy with a party member. You attack, he attacks, you attack, and then he attacks, and so on. If one of you attacks twice in a row the combo is broken.

From combos to cover systems. Yes, The Last Story has a cover system but it's not used in the way you would usually expect. Most games that use cover systems use them in a passive way, whether it's to avoid enemy fire or to employ stealth. The cover system The Last Story uses is clearly an offensive tool. It is best used when you've got a small army of Orcs trying to eat Zael's spiky head, because if you dive into cover they suddenly have no idea where you are. They become confused and are left susceptible to critical hits. It's not very realistic but then again neither was three chaps standing in a line playing Russian roulette with a dragon.

Near the beginning of the game Zael obtains the power of the Outsider, don't worry kids it's not a spoiler it happens within the first 20 minutes of the game. A large portion of the battle system revolves around making use of this ability as it allows you to revive party members up to 5 times. Outsiders seem a lot like genies with the whole arbitrary number of wishes deal. More importantly the Outsider enables you to draw the attention of all nearby enemies. Distracting enemies and absorbing their blows allows Zael to increase his attack power, and greatly reduces the amount of time it takes for party members to cast spells. You do have to be careful though Zael isn't invincible, when you use the Outsider you tend to become surrounded very quickly which amplifies enemy damage. The key to success in The Last Story is keeping your allies alive, good movement, using cover well and dispelling magic circles.

Speaking of which when someone casts a spell, residual magic is left behind on the ground. The remnants of these spells have both a status and elemental effect. To make use of the element left behind by the spell, you simply attack while Zael is inside the magic circle. To make use of the status effect requires you to dispel the magic circle, Zael has two abilities that can do this. The first is the vertical slice which sees him run clean up a wall and attack an enemy from above, yeah you read that right Zael makes Jackie Chan look like a pensioner... who's not Jackie Chan. The second is a move called gale which sees Zael swoop across the battlefield it's easier to use but requires 1 bar of the skill gauge. The skill gauge is the equivalent of an MP system. It recovers over time and allows you to use Gale and Party Commands. Each party member has two specific actions and a special move. They will only use special moves when you tell them to. It's a simplistic system that's main purpose is to avoid party members healing an enemy, which absorbs a particular element.

The one downside to this system is it takes a while to get used to, not because it's overly complex but because the tutorial is one of the worst I've ever seen in a game. First of all it's overly long and secondly there is no real reward or consequence for following or ignoring the instructions. This means you don't take what the game is telling you in. The idea of a tutorial is for the player to get to grips with the controls and the game's concepts. It absolutely fails at this. Then quite suddenly at about the five hour mark, the developers take the stabilisers off. It goes from do whatever you want, to start using all of your abilities now or die, in the blink of an eye. It's a difficulty spike that relies on you having paid attention to the tutorial, which you almost certainly haven't. Complaints about the first five hours aside it is a really fun and engaging battle system. As the game progresses it just gets better and better, culminating in one of the best final boss battles this gen.

Other than the battle system the one thing that Mistwalker really nailed is the characters. On paper there really isn't anything special about them. If I were to ask you to describe the seven different types of character most commonly found in JRPGs. Chances are the descriptions you'd give me, would be identical to that of The Last Story's cast. It's not who the characters are that's the interesting bit, it's how they interact. The balance in the script between humour and drama is excellent. It is so easy to get that balance wrong (If you're interested in seeing a game fail this balancing act spectacularly check out No More Heroes 2). The characters really do feel like a group of friends, no one seems like they're straight out of a bad anime, they just feel and sound like normal human beings. The localisation team really needs to be congratulated. British voice acting in combination with a Japanese game can so easily not mesh well and end up sounding completely alien but to their credit, in The Last Story it fits snug as a glove. The one issue with the characters chatter is that sometimes it gets cut off, due to the next scene being triggered. My advice is to wait until the characters have finished talking before moving through an area.

The quality of the characters is almost matched by the world they inhabit. Lazulis City is beautifully constructed. It feels like a character in itself. The way the city changes as the story progresses is very nice to see. You really do get the sense that people are going about their daily business and it really feels like a living, breathing town. From a technical stand point Lazulis City is also very impressive. My number one complaint with Mistwalker's previous game, Lost Odyssey, was the sheer volume of loading screens. They were everywhere; you couldn't walk down a back alley without encountering one. So I was pleasantly surprised when I first started exploring Lazulis City I found that this huge detailed area didn't feature a single loading screen. You won't spend all your time on Lazulis Island but it is the main hub and focal point. The game is divided into chapters and it's structured so that you will complete a handful of chapters then return to the Island before heading out on another quest. The city itself features shops, side-quests, treasure hunts and the arena. The attention to detail is a really nice touch from Zael banging his head on signs to knocking over baskets of fruit in the market.

Almost every part of the games presentation is first class. The character designs are really well done, the art direction looks like Lord of the rings and Final Fantasy IX had a baby. The animation in particular is of a very high quality. The way that characters react to walls and narrow passages is a level of detail you rarely see in games. The music is another highlight but it's the ever reliable Nobuo Uematsu at the helm. Mistwalker stop getting points for that now. It feels similar but different to his usual work, you can definitely feel the final fantasy influence in some of the boss music but for the most part it feels like a different direction. It sounds more like a movie soundtrack, slightly more subdued than usual. The main theme 'Toberu Mono' is the stand out piece and it's used to great effect. There must be five different variations of the song used within the game. I did say `almost' every part of the presentation is top draw because there are two aspects that are not so nice. The first is the frame rate which takes a considerable drop from time to time. This mostly occurs in cut-scenes where the game is obviously pushing the Wii to its limit. It's not terrible but it is definitely noticeable. The second issue is that some of the dialogue is lip synced but other parts well aren't. There are a few occasions where characters will just sort of stop mid-dialogue and do a pedo stare(General Asthar and Zael in particular), which is a little bit odd.

So far I've mostly had high praise for The Last Story but there is a snag that prevents it from becoming an all time classic, and that snag is the plot. The reviews I've read criticize it for being cliched. I don't think the cliches are the issue. The problem is the flow of the story, it felt a bit too much like they'd cut out scenes from the Final Fantasy series and sewn them back together into a deformed quilt. If you've played Final Fantasy I through X you end up getting distracted by the number of nods to the series. Instead of being completely invested in the characters and the story, I was busy playing guess the Homage. This is a real shame because the characters really are well written and acted. It just feels like the scenes and plot were picked up from the Square-Enix recycling centre.

Talking of recycling though there are a couple of reasons to play this game again, there's the new game plus where each of the bosses have a significant leap in difficulty. Also it's worth making sure you haven't missed any of the optional chapters. I completely missed the Epilogue on my first play through and the extra scenes are definitely worth seeing. There is also an online mode which is ok but nothing to write home about. It includes standard death match and co-op boss fights but it suffers from the same problem as Battalion Wars 2, it's fun but the community is pretty much dead.

So did Sakaguchi and co succeed in their experiment? Well to an extent, yes. The battle system is fresh and innovative but for some reason, the developer's successful combat experiments had to be tempered with stories so stale, fungi and plant life have been spotted growing on them. This is a fun game but it could so very easily have been a truly great game. The Last Story feels like a final farewell to the Final Fantasy series and maybe even a goodbye to turn based battle systems as well. It may not be the flawless masterpiece we hoped for but it does seem like a first stepping stone onto something special. Hopefully The Next Story will be a perfect combination of Lost Odyssey's beautiful storytelling and The Last Story's exciting battle system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game as Bruce would say, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Story (Wii) (Video Game)
Spent many happy hours in this reality .Graphics and story both good. Worth the pennies for sure. Why so many words. I just enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Hurrah for the Wii!, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Story (Wii) (Video Game)
this is one of the last and probably best games released for the Wii, an excellent RPG made buy an awesome company headed by the guy who made some of the final fantasy games.

it's still being sold at a premium (along with the other two games that made up the trio of best RPG games on Wii. Pandoras Tower, Xenoblade Chronicles.)But it's worth tracking down to see this excellent game in action.

Highly recommended to any self respecting RPG nut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Story (Wii) (Video Game)
Fast paced with an epic story, How a JRPG should be. Buy this game If You love Romance, Giant monsters and Epic battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need a cure for JRPG? Get it., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Story (Wii) (Video Game)
As a starter, my favourite FF is FF6, I love every FF from FF4 to X and FFT. I cannot enjoy FF Without Nobuo and Sakaguchi so this is the real FF successor, Last Oddysey was an experiment cooperating with Microsoft so it was pretty half-assed compared to this one where sakaguchi actually get to make the calls.

RIP Squaresoft, Atlus and Mistwalker will deliver jrpg that I actually love and enjoy, FF13 was the last game i bought that trashcan company. Get it if you missed the good old FF!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stories, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Story (Wii) (Video Game)
A good game to play with great affects and an ok storyline. Recomend it to anyone because you want to see what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Story (Wii) (Video Game)
I really loves this game, the voice actors are great, the graphic takes you back to a Final Fantasy universe, and mostly the story gives you a nice adventure.
if I should say something bad, is that you get rarely to explore the city on the island in night time.
I would warmly recoment it to any RPG-loving fans~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hidden gem on the Wii!, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Story (Wii) (Video Game)
The Wii catalog is just full of good surprises! The Last Story is another one which lets the player embark on a full fledged adventure in an awesome world created by the famed Final Fantasy masters Hironobu Sakaguchi and composer Nobuo Uematsu. We take the role of Zael and his fellow companions on Lazulis Island where mystery surrounds every character, especially Zael himself and Lisa, a young girl he meets in the city. Great visuals, superb sound score and addicting gameplay will get any rpg fan hooked up and last for countless hours. The battle system is one of the most intuitive and well balanced I've seen to this date. So, this title is definitely one to consider having in your Wii library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Story (Wii)
The Last Story (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
55.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews