Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica back to their best
So after the horrors of "LuLu" Metallica are firmly back in business, this EP contains 4 tracks that for whatever reason didn't make the cut for Death Magnetic.
I think the easiest way of reviewing this is simply to say if you enjoyed DM then you will definitely enjoy this EP as the songs are very similar.

As you can see they are all reasonably long songs...
Published on 15 Dec 2011 by M. Farley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance, less compressed audio than Death Magnetic but songs not as good!
This is a good EP but not a classic, so doesn't lend itself to repeated listening like its parent album Death Magnetic (DM) does. The main reason for this being that despite the excellent performance and less 'brick-walled' sound of the tracks compared to that of DM, the songwriting just isn't as good. Main problem is that Hetfield's lyrics aren't as strong as the main...
Published 1 month ago by Basskenstein


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Tallica bolt-on tracks, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (MP3 Download)
Tracks that didnt make it onto Death Magnetic, IMHO they dont cut it for the album (which is a cracking album), but there worth a listen to if your a 'tallica fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why spoil Magnetics legacy, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
Well - this was a disappointment. After loving Death Magnetic I couldn't wait for more from that session. These are not worth packaging as an EP. Dire and lacklustre.sorry boys - should have remained on the floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Metallica, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (MP3 Download)
Like the title says. All four tracks are true metalli'kina. Any metall fans will understand this short review as they have already bought this and probably agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica Magic, 6 Mar 2012
By 
D. Colson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
Great songs that were not included in the Death Magnetic album. same style and grateful that they were released. a must for any Metallica fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 31 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
...so you can see why these songs were not not included on Death Magnetic.

All four songs a re pretty solid but they dont offer anything new. Yes, theres some fast and heavy riffs but they are without doubt fast and heavy riffs you have heard a million times before from Metallica in a range of older material. Nothing is surprising or outstanding, its all rather standard.

I want to see Metallica try something new (not like Lulu) and write a concept album or something that explores new areas. Maybe its a little late for them to start that but Iron Maiden are certainly still doing it so I dont see why they cant.

If you liked DM, you will like this. Just dont expect anything you havent heard before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Passable, 1 Mar 2012
By 
Soze (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
It seems churlish to knock a 4 EP which totals 29 minutes ( longer than some full lengths I have! ) but it does sound like what it is...4 songs rejected from an album which itself was nothing spectacular. But it's OK, the songs are passable if both meandering and unmemorable. It's something for the completist I guess but Metallica have produced so much bilge over the years I've long stopped being one of those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnetic, 31 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
For the true metallica fan this is amust,4 previously unreleased tracks. only downside is shame there isnt more! Keep them comeing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the lyrics........., 2 Mar 2012
By 
iot1 "iot1" (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
Having acquainted myself with Metallica's `Beyond Magnetic,' I'm thinking is there nothing musically they are not capable of within their chosen genre? Tempo change, complicated patterns and structure to dazzle, how do they even remember it?, but the lyrical subject matter is holding the whole thing back. There has been an increasing disparity since perhaps the high points of `Load' & Reload. I propose their next move should be a four side solely instrumental opus in the vein of `Tales of Topographic Oceans', a sort of `Verses from Apocalyptic Sea's'!
As for the negative feedback, a creative force needs to evolve, and Metallica have creative force and talent in bucketloads. LuLu was a triumph, and this E.P. contains tracks of the calibre that would enter the original CD seamlessly. Infact the content on the E.P. has probably benefited from the additional focus it has received. I for one don't want variations of 'Master of Puppets' or other past triumphs for the rest of their career, and I'm sure they don't want to make them either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NO, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
I LISTENED TO IT ONLY ONCE. I am a huge metallifan of all of their eras.The seller is great by all means but this is not Metallica. Leftovers or whatever this product lucks inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AHHHHHH, The stuff they left out of Death Magnetic..., 6 Feb 2012
By 
The Meade (Merseyside/Aberystwyth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
this ep is boring, its made up of songs that "weren't good Enough" in metallica's eyes to be on death magnetic... my god, this is just lazy... 30 years going down the plughole... not even worth 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Magnetic
Beyond Magnetic by Metallica
Buy MP3 Album3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews