Shop now Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop Now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 23 February 2012
This game was the reason I bought the Vita, and with the widely publicized Vodafone offer, the reason i went for the 3G model. I am a huge Wipeout fan, and I honestly believe Wipeout HD to be the best Playstation 3 game out. I had extremely high hopes for this game.

My hopes are met; it just took a while to get there. I initially found the graphics to be very underwhelming. Don't get me wrong, it is the best looking PlayStation Vita game I've seen; let there be no doubt, if you got ten gamers who knew nothing about the PlayStation Vita, and somehow managed to hook the Vita up to a TV and handed them a controller, not a single one would be able to tell that they were playing a handheld game. The graphics are *that* good.

The thing that really gets me though is the framerate. The game is capped at 30 FPS, but its not a solid 30 FPS either, and while the graphics have that 'wow' factor, the abundance of bloom and detail, possible anti-aliasing (maybe just blur) combined with moments where weapons start flying and FPS dips result in moments where you can see bleep all and end up face-first in the side of the track. These moments, thankfully, are few and far between, but I would gladly have taken less impressive graphics in exchange for 60 FPS, especially after being spoilt by Wipeout HD's 1080p/60 FPS gameplay. I really think that the low framerate impedes gameplay a lot.

That isn't a dealbreaker, however. Something that really does come close to being a dealbreaker is the loading times. Holy flip do they suck, with loading times up to a minute long for some events. Between the fast paced racing, the electronic soundtrack and the visual overstimulation we've come to know and love from Wipeout, the last thing I want to do is stare at a loading screen for a minute straight - and this is after a patch that's supposed to have improved the loading times. It is unforgivable, and literally acts as a disincentive to play the game - I seriously sometimes think "nah, i can't be bothered playing Wipeout at the minute because i can't be bothered with the loading times".

The zone events are back, and while they look a bit like the Zone events from Wipeout HD, the track doesn't appear to act as a fancy visualizer or respond to the music in any way - it just changes colour in a psychadelic style. While it still looks cool, it could be joked in Zone that the game merely looks like its been fed some dodgy graphics drivers.

It's a dirty shame too, because the game itself is pure Wipeout bliss - it just took a fair few races before the aforementioned niggles faded away and I was able to truly enjoy the game itself. Obviously I don't feel ripped off because of the Vodafone offer, but I may have felt differently had I bought a boxed copy of this at launch. It should be noted that the game is due to receive all the content from Wipeout HD + Fury as free DLC, which is great news. I would say its a five star game with fixable flaws big enough to subtract two stars - hopefully further patches can fix these problems!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on 23 February 2012
Summary : If you've enjoyed Wipeout before, then get this on Vita (buy a Vita for it if you have the funds and haven't got one yet) since this is excellent.

If you've not played Wipeout before then this is what you need to know.

Wipeout is a fast paced futuristic racing game. You race your hovering race machine through various cityscapes and futuristic tracks defying gravity, using offensive and defensive weapons, and controlling your craft with a mix of car and airplane controls (accel, brake, air brakes, roll with stick etc). It's starts off relatively easy and the futuristic setting implies an arcade experience, but towards the latter stages of the game gets hard as nails.

In addition to basic racing there are time attack, combat and zone modes.

This version supports not only Vita vs Vita multiplayer but also Vita vs PS3 thus enlarging the online community at a stroke and it works very well indeed. Additionally the excellent Vita community features mean you can always see what times and performances your friends are putting in and how you stack up worldwide.

Graphically this is one of the best looking and performing titles on Vita and that means it's probably one of the 2 best looking handheld games available today on any platform (the other being Virtua Tennis 4 for Vita).

It really is a no brainer to purchase this game if you have any interest in the racing genre at all, and to top it all this game is developed in Liverpool so we can all feel happy we supported a UK developed product!

One final note - if you have the PS3 version (Wipeout HD and/or Wipeout Fury) Sony have said that you will be entitled to download the Vita version of those tracks as DLC for FREE. A great game gets just a bit better!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 24 February 2012
First game I bought for the Vita and am glad I purchased.

It's fast, smooth and all a Wipeout game should be. The focus appears to be a little more on combat than previous versions but I don't mind.

The tracks are nice and well detailed and the graphics are very nice and bright.

The online is a little basic at present as you can't choose the race type as you want but apparently this will be amended soon.

Overall, anyone who likes Wipeout won't be disappointed, but those that didn't like previous versions will probably not like this.

Great game for me though as a Wipeout fan.

UPDATE

Sony/Studio Liverpool have recently announced that people who bought both Wipeout HD/Fury on the PS3 will also be able to download both of them as FREE DLC in Spring for the VITA which is brilliant as you're basically getting all the content/additional tracks etc from both of those games when you purchase Wipeout 2048 on the Vita so as a package I think thats fantastic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 26 February 2012
If there is to be one title that every Ps Vita owner should have on launch it's Wipeout 2048!

The first thing that strikes you about the title is it's visuals. Blockbusters hits such as Uncharted Golden Abyss truly flex the Vitas muscles but for a showcase of the Ps Vitas new OLED screen then this is the game for you. Colours and visuals are vibrant and crisp all running at a smooth 30fps. With so much going on screen you will truly be impressed by the eye candy that wipeout 2048 offers, nothing else comes close to demonstrating the power of the Vita at present. Period.

As with all titles in the franchise you will be expected to make clever use of you power ups and boost to outsmart your opponents as the AI has been ramped up significantly from the standard HD & Fury iterations evident on the PS3. With clever use of offensive and defensive tactics you will have to be quick on those analog and shoulder buttons if you want to stand a chance of progressing from track to track as your senses are pounded with awesome music, sound effects and visuals that will leave you feeling satisfied with the hard earned cash you just parted with (or not if you bought the 3G vita and got this amazing game for FREE).

As expected there are a plethora of tracks and vehicles that can be unlocked as you further progress through the various classes. The campaign itself is impressively long which covers 7 whole seasons which increase in difficulty as you progress. As you move forward through the campaign you will encounter standard racing, battles, phase and lets not forget your standard time trial courses.

The must publicised loading times have now been vastly improved with the release of the recent patch, and although some may still feel, they are slightly too long for a handheld game (30 secs average between races), I for one feel they are justified by the amount of detail and content this game produces.

With it's gorgeous looks, heart pumping soundtrack from the likes of the Chemical brothers, DJ Fresh and more and gameplay that truly is as enjoyable as ever, Wipeout 2048 is worth every penny and should be one title every Sony Ps Vita owner should own. Go get your copy now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 8 July 2012
If you haven't played Wipeout before then where have you been? Wipeout is a futuristic racer where you race ships at unbelievable speeds (it increases as you progress through the game) round courses. There is a good variety of races, with Zone being one that starts slow but speeds up, time trial and a one lap time trial where you aim for the best time on a single lap. There is also your typical race - with weapons - and elimination - also with weapons - which has you taking out as many ships in a certain time!.

Despite moving at amazing speeds Wipeout is the best looking Vita game so far! (or debatably second to U:GA!) and even at the most intense speed the vita never shows any sign of struggle to run the game! Which is amazing!

If you are a Vita owner (and a fan of or at least don't mind racing games) I would have no problem recommending this game to you! In fact I would be wondering why you don't have it already!.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 23 August 2012
Like many, this is one of the first games I bought for my Vita when I first got it. While the Vita is an excellent console from a technical point of view, it's only as good as the games that are available for it. In Wipeout 2048 you have an excellent reason for owning one, particularly if you already downloaded Wipeout HD/Fury on the PS3 as I'll explain later.

First, this game. Unlike previous Wipeouts (unlike others, I didn't start with the PSOne version, rather the PSP Wipeout Pure and the PS3 Wipeout HD/Fury), this game enjoys noticeably wider tracks. For me, this required a greater use of strategy and aiming when using my weapons, as it was far easier to hit nothing if carelessly firing them.

On the topic of weapons, a good comparison for this game in terms of its underlying mechanics is probably a high-speed Mario Kart game (which I mean in a good way) with its use of strategically-placed but challenging short-cuts, offensive and defensive weapons, and the ability to win or lose a game through utilising all that the game has to offer.

Extra life is brought to the enjoyable-but-short single-player campaign through the more lengthy online campaign, as well as being able to play online against users of Wipeout HD/Fury. In addition, if you already downloaded Wipeout HD/Fury, you get the campaign events from that game for free in this game.

Altogether, a great package with a lot of life in it, and an absolutely gorgeous example of what the Vita is capable of.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 24 February 2012
Got this on Wednesday and I've barely touched any of my other games. I've got Wipeout on the ps3 and psp and played the others, liked them but never really got hooked. Where as this one I've been playing practically non-stop. I much prefer the look and style of the game compared to other Wipeouts. It's brillinatly smooth and looks fantastic, perfect game to show off the quality of the console.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 3 April 2014
The legend of liverpool studios ends with wipeout 2048, essentially the first of the series as it illustrates the evolution of the form of racing we've grown up with over the years. It blends the futuristic form of racing with a contemporary background that seems like is just around the corner. It is the first form of racing which seems to have developed from formula 1 cars with thrusters and antigravity engines.
With the power of the vita, races are thrilling, colourful and it doesnt feel like a handhelds power is holding back what could have been produced on a console. Theres enough content to last as well as free HD and HD fury packs which are essentially 2 other games as add-ons from the follow on of the ps3 version which has also provided this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 June 2012
First off... this is a great game with only one let down - slightly long load times.

But to be honest (unless the patch fixed it) the load times aren't actually that bad. You're looking at maybe 15-20 seconds to wait for a race to load and its not that painful in my opinion. Nothing worth taking a point away for!

Getting away from the load times, this is a great game.

You get exactly what you would expect from Wipeout in a handheld device.

1) Great visuals.
2) Fast and pounding and surprisingly good music.
3) Very simply controls.
4) Insane fast races with twists and turns.
5) A nice variety of offensive and defensive weapons.
6) A good variety of race types.
7) A good selection of tracks and vehicles.

On top of that, you get an extremely impressive and intuitive interface which has been specially designed to use the Vita touch screen. It feels natural and looks superb.

The online matches are just insane too - basically a death match in a race, with the ability to turn a 360 and go for the person behind you and switch again.

It all just works very well.

The online is a breeze to get into.
The races are easy enough to start up.
Selecting your speeder is easy enough.
You can also very easily join a game with someone on your friends list.

You level up too and gain ranks and unlock more.

Now add this to the fact you can also use the 'Wipeout HD/Fury DLC Content' with the game, and this then adds A LOT more speeders, tracks and racers to take part in. And if you have already bought the 'Wipeout HD/Fury DLC' on the PS3, its then FREE to download and install on the Vita.

Its absurd how much more content that DLC adds to Wipeout 2048.
It really is hard to find anything wrong with this game... except for the difficulty maybe!

It doesn't take long before the game soon ranks up the difficulty and it can take several attempts to beat some very early races. But its meant to be a challenge and the idea is to unlock better speeders to then beat those races.

One small gripe I do have, is that the DLC tracks/racers don't appear to add to your experience if you beat them.
The Wipeout HD/Fury content is fun but if it doesn't add to your rank or experience... its a bit disappointing.

It seem you can only level up in the main story career for the actual game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 18 June 2012
My first purchses on the original Playstation on launch day were Wipeout & Ridge Racer. Initially Ridge Racer was the game to show it off - Arcade Perfect with music and graphics to die for, but whereas RR lasted a week, WipEout took longer to master with graphics and sound that were just better. PS Vita launched with the same two games - with 15 years worth of innovation between them and, well, it's almost exactly the same. Ridge Racer is a decent enough racer - especially at the price - but this....wow. Wipeout 2048 shows the system off. It is VERY difficult to get to grips with (especially if you use the tilt controls) but for me - that's the point. This game needs attention, devotion, patience and concentration. There is no way you can play this without focusing entirely on the screen. I read in other reviews that the Wipeout HD and Fury tracks from PSN will be added & I hope that is the case - the PS Vita needs all the assistance it can get at the moment. With a lacklustre few months following launch, anything that rewards early adopters helps a huge amount & only new games or helpful extras will encourage purchases. Zen Pinball 2 is the next biggie for me now that 'Gravity Rush' is out. I'm playing GR at the moment - it arrived today & will add a review soon (early impressions are favourable....).

AG
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Need For Speed: Most Wanted (PS Vita)
Need For Speed: Most Wanted (PS Vita) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation Vita)
£16.94


Spy Hunter (PlayStation Vita)
Spy Hunter (PlayStation Vita) by Warner Bros. Interactive (PlayStation Vita)
£7.45
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.