Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Suprise
I am a real veteran to all types of racing games e.g. mario kart, forza (2,3,4), PGR (1,2,3,4), TOGA (old), GT5 and i was expecting an awful copy of mario kart but with better dynamics and graphics but without that fun hour after hour gaming. I was amazed at how fun this was. Now I haven't played the latest mario kart and i am unaware if it has the same things as Mod...
Published on 1 Aug 2012 by Sensationaal

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but ruined by menu system
ModNation Racers on the Vita is a pretty fun game, the races can be quite nice to play through and offer some what of a challenge - though it is quite a short game.

The real problem however, is the menu system, the buttons are incredibly hard to press and don't seem to register that I've pushed them half the time, the menu scenes itself lag quite badly and it...
Published 23 months ago by Adam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Suprise, 1 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) (Video Game)
I am a real veteran to all types of racing games e.g. mario kart, forza (2,3,4), PGR (1,2,3,4), TOGA (old), GT5 and i was expecting an awful copy of mario kart but with better dynamics and graphics but without that fun hour after hour gaming. I was amazed at how fun this was. Now I haven't played the latest mario kart and i am unaware if it has the same things as Mod Nation (track building, through car/person customising) but MN is amazing basically a mario kart for possibly 1/3 the price.

Pro's

Cheap
Time wasting
Good on battery life
Graphics
Best ps vita game
MK competitor

Cons
Frame rate slows now and again (not often)
Tricky customization with the beautiful touch screen
Slow loading times (due to the hardware not software)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but ruined by menu system, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Adam "Adam" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) (Video Game)
ModNation Racers on the Vita is a pretty fun game, the races can be quite nice to play through and offer some what of a challenge - though it is quite a short game.

The real problem however, is the menu system, the buttons are incredibly hard to press and don't seem to register that I've pushed them half the time, the menu scenes itself lag quite badly and it can be pretty tricky to navigate your way through the menus to select a race - yet alone trying to build a Mod or a Kart (not tried a track yet).

The menu problem might seem like nothing, since the game is mostly about the races - and fair play, however when loading up a race you get to stare at a lovely red screen for far to long. Most of the time, you will be looking at your watch whilst waiting for the ModNation race to load.

Overall a real disappointment, ModNation has a really nice premise and the PS3 version was really fun to play with, but on the Vita it seems to be a very bad port. The races itself might be fun, but with the menu system running so slow, and needing to wait a while to load a race it can be a very painful game to play. If your looking for a kart racer on the Vita, you might want to wait for Sonic & All Stars (or hope LBP Karts is eventually brought across).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modnation Racers Road Trip, 20 Nov 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) (Video Game)
the Modnation racers we all know from the PS3 and it actually plays and feels exactly the same i would say its a must buy for the Vita if the wasn't just the one vital flaw

NO ONLINE - what was they thinking a game like this needs online and if it wasn't for this it would get a perfect score from me, it even improves the level creation by using the rear touch pads you can literally create a map in seconds. the developers did say they might update online into the game but that was several months ago so its unlikely it will happen now.

if you can find this game for £15 or less i would defiantly get it but the new Sonic racer is out soon so you might want to save your money for that one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just plain bad!, 10 Mar 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Of all of Sonys exclusives the Modnation series is pretty high up on the" who cares" list. That's not to say the series is bad in anyway, it's just so unimaginative and plain in many regards that it's almost difficult not to dislike it. The completely underwhelming response I received from my fellow gamers when I first showed off the PS3 version of the game speaks volumes. "Soulless" was one of many phrases tossed about to describe what I was showing.

Thankfully the PS3 version redeemed itself with a fantastic track editor which even my peers, whom turned their noses up at the games campaign, became enthralled with. Top it all off with the ability to go head to head with friends online and the game wasn't half bad.

Unfortunately (and inexplicably) the Playstation Vita "ModMation Racers Road trip" is some what a disaster of a game. Not only is the creation system broken in many ways, the developers have seen fit to excluded online multiplayer altogether. When you consider both the PS3 and PSP versions supported online multiplayer the lack of it here is inexcusable.

The track creator works fine if your looking to create very basic (and I mean VERY basic) tracks. Tracing the layout along the touch screen works well and the "drive to create track" returns too making the whole process fun and simple. Auto populating the track with objects is the best way to get the track filled with weapon pickups, traps and boost pads. Placing them accurately yourself demands use of touch controls and is, to put bluntly, totally broken.

No word of a lie tapping to place a jump ramp had the game at one point placing it somewhere metres off the track despite me having zoomed the camera right into the exact spot I wanted the ramp to be. Attempting to rotate this ramp once finally positioned somewhere close to where I originally wanted it was just impossible. The ramp flew half way up the track, fell through the terrain, hell it did everything but rotate a few degrees left.

Now if none of the above has put you off you may be happy to know the actual gameplay isn't too bad. Yes the steering is ultra sensitive, but if you have played ModNation on PS3 you're used to this. Furthermore the game, for the most part, runs smoothly. There is slowdown on occasion, particularly when the screen is cluttered with karts, but its never game breaking.

New weapons have been introduced as well as favourites from the previous games kept. Weapon pickups are few and far between on the track, a change made presumably in response to the criticism of the PS3 version that races were too chaotic. It's nice to not be constantly hit with rockets the moment first place is claimed however find yourself in last and be prepared to use boost to catch up not weapons as the AI are very good at collecting them before you can.

The main focus of the single player is a career mode consisting of five sets of five races plus a bonus stage. Difficulty ramps up pretty quick but thankfully any race can be restarted, you don't have to restart the entire set of races if you screw up. Doing well enough in the tournament will unlock the next set (all of which will be new tracks). I think this is mode most players will choose to play. It can be beaten in an afternoon though there are challenges to complete on each track such as earn a certain amount of draft points or take out a certain number of opponents.

The game looks good on occasion and rather plain on another. It looks a lot more washed out than the PS3 version and the track design isn't as good. There are no memorable characters in the game and the story element seen in previous game is nowhere to be seen. The menus require touch controls to swipe through which is bad enough but when you consider that there is no way to go directly to the mode you want without swiping through all the ones you don't the problem is made worse. Add to this a small pause to load each new mode menu and you have an infuriatingly incompetent system here. On top off all this the loading screed are long... really long which, when you consider the game is cartridge based, is inexcusable.

Final comments

San Diego Studio has utterly filed at bringing a decent kart racer to the VITA which may explain why the series is (I assume) being dropped in favour of the recently leaked "LittleBigPlanet Karting". The £35 price tag may be an insult but the same thing can be said for so are many of the VITAs launch titles. It's hard to have any positive comments to sign off on when it's easier to recommend the PSPs version of this franchise over the VITAs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good game but you might want to wait for a price drop, 1 Mar 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) (Video Game)
"ModNation Racers: Road Trip" is exactly the same to the PS3 version except "online multi-player function"

if you don't know anything about "ModNation racers", go to check loads of gameplay videos on youtube

but there are some obvious issues I have to point out:
1. no story at all
2. no openning CG movie
3. no CG cutscene at all
4. the framerate is not stable and it fluctuates frequently during some single player races depending on how many AI opponents are there

overall, "ModNation Racers: Road Trip" is still a fun game if you manage to obtain your copy at a lower price (the HK version costs only around £19, but we have to pay £30 for the same game, which is ridiculous)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars game, 26 April 2014
By 
D. Mccann "m.mccann" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) (Video Game)
it is very good I would recommend it to a friend I don't know what else to say about the product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game for vita, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) (Video Game)
If you're looking for one of the best value, most entertaining games for the PS Vita then look no further. Okay this may still play second fiddle to mario kart, but its a close finish. This game has it all out of the box and more. The customisation options are plentiful and then if you get bored, being from the little big planet stable you can download everyone else's character, track and car creations! This is an incredible value game with the best playability of any Vita title I've played...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just no, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) (Video Game)
This game is like the worst game on vita atm, laggy, slow, buggy and just not fun :/ i loved it on ps3 but thats it.... the only good thing is the graphics, if you adore graphics you wont be dissapointed.... i think xD but yes it's terrible don't waste your money on it :/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money., 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) (Video Game)
This is a really great game for the vita, amazing graphics, and lots of replay value, I had been looking at buying this game for a while now, and just wish I had bought it sooner! DO NOT HESITATE IN BUYING IT TODAY. The modification of tracks, people, cars, are awesome in this game, great for kids 5 to 10 year olds to get lost in for hours, some of the races can be challenging, that's where the adults have to step in, to complete the races to unlock items that can be used in track building mode.
Very good value for money, I'm now looking to buy another copy so the kids can play together by adhoc, the is no online play in this game, but you can challenge other people to beat your time.

Overall one of the best racing/modification games for the vita A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good game, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) (Video Game)
my son enjoy the game, i would recomand it to anyone good value for the money thank you for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita)
ModNation Racers: Road Trip (PS Vita) by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation Vita)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews