Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not so distant...
Reading a worthwhile prolepsis on global warming is a slightly chilling prospect, particularly when the outcomes are described so neatly and brought forward from a distant possibly, maybe, into the foreseeable next four years.

A stellar explosion, physically far removed from earth, leads to a chain of events within our own solar system that strips the earth of...
Published on 5 Mar 2012 by N. Terry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Don't normally read science fiction books although do watch sci-fi films if they look good. So I was disappointed to find it was about global warming.aright turn off
Published 6 months ago by Magpie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not so distant..., 5 Mar 2012
By 
N. Terry "themethatisme" (Newcastle upon Tyne, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Reading a worthwhile prolepsis on global warming is a slightly chilling prospect, particularly when the outcomes are described so neatly and brought forward from a distant possibly, maybe, into the foreseeable next four years.

A stellar explosion, physically far removed from earth, leads to a chain of events within our own solar system that strips the earth of its atmosphere in more rapid fashion than any contrivance of human beings is achieving at the moment. The story unfolds through the four years in a series of vignettes from around the world. From the astronomers who first make the observations; to the children, scientists and engineers, who embody the future hope of humanity, we see and feel the emotional, political and tangible responses of beings that experience not only personal tragedy but the possible extinction of their species.

I enjoyed reading both the dialogue rich scenes of the characters struggling with a now imminent uncertainty, interspersed with the science scenes of astral happenings and the unfolding effects of a planet being slowly stripped of the atmosphere that gave it life. The science is wholly credible and the characters express beautifully the sadness, joy and hope which lies in the gaps in between those extremes of emotion just as the hope that lies in the distances between the stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loved this book!, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller (Kindle Edition)
This was like an apocalyptic science fiction novel!! A good mix of facts and fantasy! It left me wondering what would happen next, a real page turner. Would recommend to any sci fi buff and those thinking of dipping in to Sci Fi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Don't normally read science fiction books although do watch sci-fi films if they look good. So I was disappointed to find it was about global warming.aright turn off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only slightly irritating, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller (Kindle Edition)
I am not saying I did not enjoy this book because I did and have bought sequel. Slightly irritated by Lauren character who seemingly goes straight from uni to become the worlds greatest astrophysicist in a few years and apparently the only person to be able to look for earth like planets ( ?? SETI Project ) still good storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really entertaining read, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller (Kindle Edition)
I liked this story so much I got the sequel, Distant Suns - The Journey Home, straight away. Great story with good pace and plenty to keep the suspense going. Will be looking for more from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Distant Suns: Brilliant!, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller (Kindle Edition)
I read this novel in a very short time and found it very enjoyable. It has a good scientific base, with characters that blossom and become friends as you progress. I was quite moved near the end of the story, kudos to Patricia Smith for this; it isn't every day I become moved by a sci-fi novel. I instantly searched for a sequel, upon coming to the end, and thankfully I am now reading that too....epic!
I shall also be buying this book in hard copy, something I haven't done since acquiring my kindle; but I want people to see this on my book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars distant suns, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Excellent reading , thoroughly enjoyed this book. Couldn't put it down. Looking forward to reading the follow on book . Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars distant suns, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller (Kindle Edition)
It's not bad as a book to read, and plausible in a way, better than some, good on the effects of a rogue gas cloud out in the regions of far space. Written by a lady with just enough in it on the emotional effects of all in the storey. Will the follow up be as good?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, a few bits of dodgy science!, 17 July 2014
By 
Mogo (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Not particularly well written, but a good story. Really enjoyed it and if you ignore some of the so called science its a good read. Easy going and some thought provoking moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 27 Jan 2012
This review is from: Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller (Kindle Edition)
I found Distant Suns a stimulating read. The story is about a hydrogen cloud entering the solar system and the consequences that follow (not wanting to give too much away). The descriptive passages (the destruction of Io, the asteroid belt, the Earth and the beauty of the aurora) are detailed and spectacular. Distant Suns takes you on a journey which covers the globe and spans several years. Through various short scenes the lives of the characters begin to unfold as the world around them changes with ever increasing devastation. This story is very easy to read and hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Distant Suns: Apocalyptic Thriller
£1.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews