Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lexx gets better and better, 9 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Lexx: Season 3 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Lexx season 3 is a vast improvement over season 2, so even if you were dissapointed by the series move from TV movies to serials, you may want to jump back onboard the Lexx now.
The whole of Season 3 is set on just two planets that are much more than meets the eye: fire and water, and greatly revolves around the ruler of fire: Prince. As a result this season is probably most deeply plotted and involving story of them all, even moreso than the original films. I could start to wax lyrical about the season (trust me, I could), but that would involve spoiling way too many of the sublime plot points and incredible surprises. If you have ever been fan of Lexx, buy this boxset - you shan't be disappointed. It's even good value for money - this is the *whole* of season 3 in one package.
However - there's always a however - this boxset does not come with the plethora of extras we were treated with on the season 1 and 2 releases: there's no extra features, no commentaries (criminal) and the menus - although the same look-and-feel as before - are no longer animated. This is due to poor sales of the season 2 boxsets, something that almost stopped season 3 being released on DVD at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sci Fi Series ever, 15 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Lexx: Season 3 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I discovered Lexx well after the series had been and gone on TV. I can honestly say that in a lifetime of avid Sci-Fi fandom I'd never come across a series as completely off the wall, original and utterly entertaining as this.
At the price of this collection (a single story in chapters spun across the entire series) it would be an utter shame to not splash out and give yourself about 13hrs of the finest entertainment you're ever going to get.
Unlike most Sci-Fi series, there's no lessons in morality, or emphasis on how 'humanity conquers evil', it's just four dysfunctional characters, a cowardly Security Guard, a genetically altered Love Slave, a re-animated dead assassin, a robot head and their ship (the titular Lexx, the single most destructive force in the two universes) trying to find a home and blowing up the odd planet on the way.
The excellent acting, writing and set design are well complimented with the CGI, well ahead of its time (though slightly dated by now). I can't say enough about this programme, save for BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek's evil twin, 20 Aug. 2008
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lexx was one of those series I wanted to get into but never did. There was too much work setting the video to record it late at night on Five, and the early stuff felt like they were still figuring out what they were doing.

Anyways, I read some plot outlines for the later series and decided I'd give it a shot again. After all, Battlestar's great but it's too serious and Who doesn't seem to take the science seriously at all. I think I've figured out what Lexx is though, now. It's not in the same tradition of SF. It's more built on satire, like Gulliver's Travels.

In this series, the unlikely crew of Stanley Tweedle, security guard and lecher, Xev, part love slave part cluster lizard, and Kai, dead assassin who just wants to be at peace, find themselves circling the planets Fire and Water. Fire is a desert with hardly any water. The world is ruled by the sadistic but charismatic Prince, who tortures the populace. Water is nothing but water with floating cities full of beautiful people who enjoy playing sports, having uncomplicated sex, etc. The worlds are in conflict and the arrival of the Lexx allows the conflict to escalate as its technology provides the people of Fire with new weapons.

Despite being called Star Trek's evil twin, Lexx is more like Red Dwarf's first cousin, but with less laughs and more nudity. The characters are a little defective, but not in that screwed up Torchwood way, and they generally try to do the right thing even when they give in to their appetites. The special effects are intriguing. They're not wholly convincing, but the attempt to create alien worlds using CGI is commendable and pleasing if you're willing to go the extra mile. When Stanley is captured by Prince and placed in a torture chamber, surrounded by a hundred other such chambers and by which people are hung from chains by theirs heads is a fantastic image.

Lexx is in the tradition of Hitchhiker's or Farscape, where the writers are willing to be that bit more imaginative and reach that bit further outside the box than in a Star Trek. It lacks the portentiousness of a Babylon 5 or Battlestar, with the characters being pleasingly working class. It's pleasurable to watch, even if it's not quite as transgressive as it thinks it is. And I'm glad I purchased it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow Decline, 5 Dec. 2009
By 
N. Wallace "The Badger" (South of Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the series which I wasn't keen on. The crew of the Lexx spent the whole time flitting back and forth between the planets of Fire and Water trying to battle the evil Prince. That's about it really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lexx Season 3 box set., 7 Jan. 2010
By 
Steven Davis "Stringbean" (Crappy United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx: Season 3 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
When 4 hidaways steal a living ship all kinds of thigs happen, you have Zev, Kai, Stan and of course 790 the robot head.

In all they have good commaradary they look after each other when in trouble and have a wonderful journey through the two galaxies. I wish they made more than four seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Crudeness continues - but so does the entertainment., 17 Nov. 2008
This series of Lexx, I think, is an improvement on the first two. Series one was weird, a bit too weird for my normal human brain I think. Series 2 was better, if a little "monster of the weeky". Series 3 is more of a proper story arc the whole way through. Much easier to follow for my tiny human brain.

The series is still very crude, lots of sex references and in some episodes lots of nudity (cue lots of young men buying this). The focus is really on two things this year - the two planets that the Lexx is orbiting "Fire" and "Water" and Xev and Stan's quest for some lovin' on the aforesaid planets and how wrong it inevitably goes when they get close to fulfilling those desires. Its pretty entertaining stuff. The two planets are very cool and the crew seem to explore a different town with a different theme every week.

My opinion, the best series of Lexx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great season, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx: Season 3 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Couldn't say i had high expectations for season 3 couldn't think where it could go but i have to say i was blown away by it. The characters were great prince was one of the greatest bad guys ever he reminds me of spike from buffy the vampire slayer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal birthday present, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My brother loves Lexx, have already bought series 1 and 2 for him which he loved, i knew he would love this series too. So I am very happy to have found.this great box set presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really great series and totally original, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx: The Complete Third & Fourth Seasons [DVD] [2012] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A really great series and totally original. Getting this disc with two complete seasons on was a real bargain. I had also got season 1&2 the same and am more than happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 26 April 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx: Season 3 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Series 3 wasn't my favourite firt time round, but I've got to say it's fantastic, I watch episodes regularly now, based around the twin planets, Fire & Water, and their initial encounters with 'Prince', I'm not going into detail, there ain't enough space. If you remember it, it's better than you're memories, Lexx is still one of the best Sci-fi series there's been (and that's a conservative estimate!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews