Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
First, I should say that this book - actually, three novels and a number of short stories - is an excellent read. Secondly, it isn't exactly what you might expect from the Amazon blurb - the text about the murderous nightly games in Viriconium. That comes from the start of the first story in the volume, "Viriconium (K)nights". It suggests that these are stories of of...
Published on 29 Jun 2006 by D. Harris

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts strongly, not so sure about the ending.
This volume is several books bound together, all set in the same place at different times.

I started reading, and really got into it. It was wonderful: a big sweeping epic story with a wonderful setting and some rather Jack-Vance ish characters.

Then I got to roughly page 250, and it all fell apart. Most of the characters go mad or turn into insects...
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by Victoria Clare


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 29 Jun 2006
By 
D. Harris (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First, I should say that this book - actually, three novels and a number of short stories - is an excellent read. Secondly, it isn't exactly what you might expect from the Amazon blurb - the text about the murderous nightly games in Viriconium. That comes from the start of the first story in the volume, "Viriconium (K)nights". It suggests that these are stories of of no-holds-barred rivalry between picturesque factions of killers - you know, intrigue, fights, twists of fate, betrayal, all seething beneath the surface of the city.

Actually, it's not like that, it's much better.

At the surface level, the world of Viriconium is apparently our world tens of thousands of years in the future. Industrial civilization has risen and fallen, leaving its name (which nobody can read) in the stars - and a poisoned and depleted world, where people survive as best they can, scavenging from the past and nursing bits of decaying technology. The geography is vague (no hand drawn maps!) and all identifiable landmarks have gone, apart from the names of some (real) places and features (Dunham Massey; Rannoch Moor; Lymm) and (especially) Viriconium street names: it's fun spotting the literary or geographical allusions).

The first two novels (`Pastel City' and `Storm of Wings') explore the consequences of this and develop the idea in a number of ways, some subtle, some gross. While haunting in their atmosphere and very inventive, they are fairly conventional. Perhaps significantly, much of the action takes place far from Viriconium.

The short stories apparently fit between the novels and take a more personal, close up look at the lives of characters in this extraordinary world. They are much stranger, and focussed mainly on Viriconium, as is the last novel (`In Viriconium') Don't try to work out exactly what order these stories go in because it's just not like that. The same characters appear in what can only, I think, be accounted for as alternate versions of the same worlds. Characters who are heroes in one story show up as decidedly shabby in another. Even the names shift (so, Uroconium rather than Viriconium).

And what's going on with the repeated scenes? Events in one book are echoed, in a different context, elsewhere. For example, the encounter with St Elmo Buffin and his experimental telescope in "Storm of Wings" and a similar scene with Emmet Buffo in "In Viriconium" - similar down to the unsatisfactory snack of fish given to the visitors. Or the descriptions of the Mosaic Lane baths in "Lord Cromis and the Lamia" and in "A Young man's Journey...". Then there is the repeated theme of folk ritual - often involving dancers dressed as animals or with animal heads.

I'm not sure exactly what is happening here, but for me, the way the various stories intersect, reinforce and contradict one another recalls a mythology, or a body of folk tales, rather than a single narrative. It's as if the whole thing has grown up rather than being written, or the stories have been reconstructed from earlier versions, from underlying texts.

At the end, a link emerges between Viriconium and our own time. Its nature is enigmatic, though, and as with much else, we are left to wonder exactly what it means.

As other reviewers have pointed out this is a bleak world, a chilly place, an Earth almost wound down. But it is far from depressing. The short stories in particular portray a world of intense cultural creativity - they mostly revolve around dancers, musicians, poets and artists. And the description of the city is captivating and real - convincing not so much because of what is said but because of what isn't. You would only leave out so much - or allow so much contradiction - if you were describing a real place, wouldn't you? It must be true, or it would look more perfect.

Really, really worth a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRUE CLASSIC, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
In the first two books of this series, Harrison was attempting to write commercial fantasy somewhat at odds with his own talents and interests, more or less, as someone says, in the Moorcock mode. By the time he came to write In Viriconium and Viriconium Nights he had learned effectively that there was no point in his trying to write commercial fantasy because the fantasy he wrote wasn't commercial. I knew him slightly in Manchester, when he was writing in the basement of Savoy Books, who were essentially his patrons and great enthusiasts, who gave him the time and money to write In Viriconium, which they originally intended to publish but went bankrupt before they could do so. By freeing Harrison from the commercial restraints of the genre, Savoy allowed him to come into his own and produce the second two books in this volume, which in a sense are best read first, because this is invented-world fantasy about as far as you can take it and still have it bear any resemblance to the genre (upon which it comments so successfully). Harrison is not an under-rated writer, he is an under-published writer, and it is wonderful to see his work at last getting the status, respect and admiration it deserves. Jack Connolly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmeric prose from a fascinating writer, 5 Sep 2001
By A Customer
In Viriconium is one of the finest fantasy novels of the last thirty years. Heartbreaking in its realism, vicious in its satire, witty, observant, and stylistically in a class by itself, this is a book that can be reread again and again. The early Viriconium novels read like Moorcock pastiches but with a flair for vivid simile. They display an obvious impatience with the 'Fantasy' genre, but haven't quite found a way to dismantle it. In Viriconium however offered life in one of Calvino's Invisible Cities, a weird amalgam of Prague, late Victorian London, Paris, Yeats's Byzantium, and Venice. Harrison seems steeped in the English decadent writing of the fin-de-siecle, and there are echoes here of Wilde, Beardsley, Baron Corvo, Swinburne, Ernest Dowson and others. What emerges though is a powerfully original and intellectually challenging book that is far beyond the capabilities of most writers in the fantasy genre, let alone their readers, as can be seen from a certain review here.
Why MJH isn't better known, I have no idea. He's easily a better stylist than McEwan or Amis. Maybe he's just one of those like Christopher Priest whose books will always be caviare to the general. Buy this book and change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrison's sublime fantasy is back in print � at last, 23 Aug 2000
By A Customer
I have spent the last ten years desperately scouring second-hand bookstores for a copy of In Viriconium. While the first two novels in this volume initially seem to be little than above standard Moorcock, it is the third novel In Viriconium which completely and equivocably establishes Harrison's status as fantastist par excellence. A sublime and grotesque sensibility coupled with a deep and humane insight into matters of the heart. These themes are carried through in his later works like Climbers and Signs of Life. M. John Harrison is one of fantasy's supreme stylists, his language is elegaic and full of phrases that insinuate themselves in your mind like half-remembered dreams. He has achieved for fantasy in serious literature what J.G. Ballard achieved for science fiction: proof that writers of genuine merit and talent can begin in what seems like generic ghettos of fiction and create works whose depth and power is as important as any A.S. Byatt or Kazuo Ishiguro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizzare, serious and fascinating, 23 Oct 2000
By 
Jason Mills "jason10801" (Accrington, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm speaking here of the later volumes included, ie. "In Viriconium" and "Viriconium Nights" - I've yet to read the earlier volumes, though it sounds like sidclark (review below) is in the opposite position.
Viriconium is a city both strange and mundane. Its gods wander the streets (strange) and are mad for pies (mundane). A Plague Zone spreads across it, infecting its inhabitants with apathy. Our hero is an artist digusted by worldly complacency and irresponsible deities. Later stories take us further from the city and closer to our own world, culminating in Manchester and challenging us to measure how far we've come, with a telescope, or perhaps a microscope. Harrison's prose glitters like ice and offers cold comfort for escapists. This book is not what you expect, whatever you expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like a series of paintings than novels, 27 May 2012
Tellingly, Harrison's least accessible work gets better reviews here than the most mainstream (in so far as that word is at all applicable - I'm thinking of Light, for example). If you had a hard time with Light or any other Harrison novels this may not be the book for you, nor is it the best place to start, in my opinion.
The Viriconium stories are collected here in their (very near) entirety, and what an amazing collection it is. Set in the far, far future (possibly a billion years, who knows?), civilisation has died back to a uniquely twisted version of the medieval past, and its weary inhabitants are awaiting the end of the world. The novels are laid out in what appears to be chronological order, and as you move towards the end the tone becomes increasingly less straightforward and more hallucinatory. This is, among many other things, an extremely powerful meditation on death and decay. The ageing protagonists are beset by forces they cannot understand, they lose their memories, it becomes clear that they are the last generation with any knowledge of what has gone before, as the world enters a final age of ignorance. Depressing? Maybe. But Viriconium is written with lyrical and stylish prose with more economy and gusto than 10 average authors (of SF or otherwise); it's tremendously evocative of place and character. Readers who like to know what is going on in their novels from the off and follow such outmoded notions as "characters" participating in "events" that really "happen" in any meaningful sense should get with the times - it's the end of the world! And this incredible book communicates that on multiple levels. This is post-novel literature, and it would be ahead of its time if it were written today, let alone 30 odd years ago. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartbreaking world, 14 Aug 2001
The short stories here are heartbreaking because of what the author left out. He left out all the decent human qualities. As you read, you try to put those absent qualities back into Harrison's world. By making you think about what's missing from his world he makes you think about what's missing from the one we live in, but also the worthwhile things that are still here. He makes you want to find all the broken pieces and put them back together. That's why he's a genius and not a fantasy writer at all. I agree with people who say the first two novels in this volume are weak. But everyone has to read the short stories and In Viriconium or they will miss something so important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves, 23 May 2001
By 
J. Bloss "jethrox1" (Buckingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a collection of Harrison's Viriconium writings. It is definitely a book of two halves - In Viriconium and Viriconium Nights are superb - they're atmospheric, evocative and enthralling and I've re-read them a number of times. The first two parts though are fairly average Fantasy which are okay but not memorable. This collection is superb value and is worth it for the last half and I believe it may be the only collection currently in print. Harrison is undoubtedly one of Britain's most gifted writers and is severly underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts strongly, not so sure about the ending., 16 Jun 2010
By 
Victoria Clare (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This volume is several books bound together, all set in the same place at different times.

I started reading, and really got into it. It was wonderful: a big sweeping epic story with a wonderful setting and some rather Jack-Vance ish characters.

Then I got to roughly page 250, and it all fell apart. Most of the characters go mad or turn into insects for no apparent reason, then the next 300 pages seemed to degenerate into more or less motiveless flailing, involving a lot of interpretive dance and locusts.

Well, I can't speak for the last 100-ish pages because I'm afraid I gave up, but that was my impression anyway.

Well worth it for the first books in the volume, but I'm not sure the omnibus edition is right for everyone.

I can't decide how to rate this book at all. If you'd asked me when I was on page 100, I'd have given it 5 stars. I'm going with 3, though I think the last story in the book would probably get a 1 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual., 11 Mar 2008
By 
Nick C (Middleton, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Now why would someone post a review of a book after admitting they have only read the first stories....unusual...why bother?
What is unusual too, but in a positive way is the strange and compelling world that Mr. Harrison draws you into. The first time I read it I couldn't put this book down from Lords of Misrule onwards. Admittedly The Pastel City is a little derivative of the sword and sorcery (or whatever you wish it to be called) genre but it's still worth reading to see how some of characters introduced fit into later tales I guess.
I still love to read it maybe once a year (or a little over) cover to cover, I love the bizarre world and strange folk and almost claustrophobic feel of the book. It's one of those things in life I reckon, you either love it or hate it....a Marmite book haha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews