Customer Reviews


319 Reviews
5 star:
 (248)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful epic that has stood the test of time
This film is masterful because the key decisions were 'got right' in 1992. Daniel Day Lewis as Nathaniel, famously ran around in the woods for weeks, intensely preparing for the role and almost a decade on, it shows. He is, like his surrogate Mohican companions completely believable. Thus is doesn't matter that the style of the film is slightly dated in places; that...
Published on 27 April 2011 by Michael Badu

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Blu-ray
Firstly, I think this film is great.

Now on to the UK Blu-ray. Like reviews for the American one's the picture on this is also dark, I wonder if this is deliberate to hide the little or no effort they have put into the transfer. If you look at older films, such as Zulu or Alien,you will see how amazing blu-rays can be. This film is a lot newer and it really was...
Published on 6 Dec. 2012 by Draavig


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, heartfelt and well-acted, 4 Dec. 2006
This movie tells, mostly, the epic love story of Cora Munro, the strong-willed daughter of a Scots colonel, and Hawkeye, white adopted son of Chingachook of the dying Mohican tribe. Caught in the blood and mayhem of the French and Indian War in 1757, Cora meets the rugged frontiersman when he, his "father" and "brother", Uncas, save her, her sister Alice and their escort, Major Duncan Heyward, during an ambush. The passion growing between Cora and Hawkeye is challenged by Duncan's jealousy and the bloodlust of Magua, a Huron war-leader bent on revenge.

This is a masterpiece because it combines inspired cinematography and score with a layered story that blends epic symbolism with a stirring attention to human emotion. Although it focuses on Cora and Hawkeye, the minor characters are also given space; we see Duncan's weakness and internal struggle, Magua's bitterness and, most skillfully, the love of Uncas and Alice. Totally overshadowed by Cora and Hawkeye, the romantic awakening of timid Alice and quiet Uncas is shown in tiny flashes and only at the end do they shine, and you realize the power of their feelings quite matches those of their bolder siblings.

The ethereal, panoramic views are glory enough, but the score is perhaps the best I've heard in a soundtrack. It captures the mood and the era - the exotic drumbeats mixed with the poignant European orchestra. It makes you soar, but hints at grief; it reminds you that these people were at the mercy of the wilderness, embodied as much by the savagery of the war as by the humbling environment.

I recommend this film because it rests firmly not just on cast or crew or script, but all three. It portrays the frontier as a crucible for social and racial distinction, but also for moral and emotional boundaries. As a date romance, an action adventure, or a human drama best studied over and over (as I have), it is EXCELLENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last of the Mohicans.., 23 Mar. 2010
This 1992 adaption of the Fenimore Cooper Historical novel has been transformed from a dry novel to a full blown romantic adventure in the hands of director/co-writer Michael Mann with help from screen writer Christopher Crowe they have made a type of film that film makers rarely make these days.

The 1936 version of the movie with Randolph Scott in the part of Hawkeye is the first film Michael Mann could recall from his childhood and during his retelling of the tale you do get the sense of wonder the story obviously holds for him with Daniel Day Lewis playing the character of Hawkeye for all his worth, with the overblown heroics of the story being used to great effect in Mann's vision of the story.

The DVD does suffer from a lot of scenes that look grainy and a little blurry even using an up-scaling DVD player the picture is far from satisfying in its 2.35:1 aspect but the sound is a different matter this won an Oscar in 1993, the 5.1 surround sound is very well mixed and adds to the action sequences in the woods and round the waterfalls, this could be another case for picture restoration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect date movie, a feast for the eyes and the ears, 18 Mar. 2005
By 
Lawrance Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The director's cut version of "The Last of the Mohicans" available on DVD is one of the most disappointing expanded editions of a movie I have ever seen. This is true not only because there the DVD edition is devoid of any extras, but mainly because the scenes that were added did not add anything significant and (even worse) a couple of well remembered scenes have had the music and editing changed, essentially wrecking them. Fortunately, I still have my original laser disc edition of this 1992 film and the rest of your can soldier on with this videotape version. Besides seeing the "original," the other requirement is that you want to see this film letterboxed: when I saw the scene where the British troops and settlers leaving the fort after the surrender and attacked on both sides by the Hurons, I knew right then and there that seeing this movie in pan-and-scan was going to seriously dilute the experience.
Director Michael Mann was inspired as much by 1936 Randolph Scott version of "The Last of the Mohicans," with a screenplay by Philip Dunne, as he was by James Fenimore Cooper's original novel. This is just as good, because after seeing Mann's movie I tried to read Cooper's novel and I could not even get halfway through that ponderous book. This version is also skewed by the television series "M*A*S*H," where the character of Benjamin Franklin Pierce was called "Hawkeye" because his father loved Cooper's novel. Ironically, this meant the name was so identified with Alan Alda's character that it would no longer work in its original context. But then the name of Cooper's hero was Natty Bumppo, and that was not going to work either, so in this incarnation our hero is called "Nathaniel."
Nathaniel is played by Daniel Day-Lewis, and his character spends a lot of time in this movie running through scenes with an intensity that becomes palatably ferocious at times. Although filmed in North Carolina, the movie is set in upstate New York during the French & Indian War. Nathaniel is hunting deer in the forest with his adopted family, Chingachgook (Russell Means) and Uncas (Eric Schweig) and planning on wintering down south in Ken-tuck-ee. The French are invading and the local settlers are in danger, but this is not Nathaniel's concern. But then he comes across signs of a Huron war party and comes to rescue of a party of British troops, led by the haughty Major Duncan Heyward (Steven Waddington), and escorting Cora Munro (Madeleine Stowe) and her younger sister Alice (Jodhi May) to Fort William Henry, commanded by their father, Colonel Edmund Munro (Maurice Roėves).
The British party was betrayed by its scout, Magua (Wes Studi), who has been insulted by Colonel Munro and wants to see him dead and to wipe his seed from the earth. Major Hayward, already angered by Cora's refusal of his proposal of marriage, is enraged by not only her interest in Nathaniel, but in the Nathaniel agrees to see to their safety and escrots them to the besieged fort. The scene in which they enter, lit at night by only by the light of torches, while the musical score carries the scenes, is by favorite in a film filled with gorgeous photography and heroic music. Mann has always thought in terms of that particular combination, going to back to not only his "MTV Cops" on "Miami Vice," but his use of Iron Butterfly's 'In-a-gadda-da-vida" at the end of "Manhunter" (the original film version of "The Red Dragon" by Thomas Harris). But in "The Last of the Mohicans" he creates a sublime fusion between images and sound again and again throughout the film.
The musical score by Randy Edelman and Trevor Jones is one of my all-time favorites and if I had to guess which non-musical soundtrack I have listened to the most in my life, this would be the winner (John Williams for the original "Star Wars" places and Randy Newman for "The Natural" shows). Given the number of times this music has been used (to wit, ripped off) in movie trailers since then, I must not be alone in my thinking (I had a bias against "Legends of the Fall," the first movie to employ "The Last of the Mohicans" score in its trailer because of its heresy in doing so). The opening deer hunt, the entrance into the fort, the stolen moments between Nathaniel and Cora, the canoe chase on the river, and the entire final chase up the mountain for the final battle, all rely on the music and the images, with a minimal of dialogue.
I think that "The Last of the Mohicans" is a prefect date movie with a great balance between the romance and the action. The romance is communicated with looks more than words. The most romantic thing either one of them says is when Cora catches Nathaniel staring at her. "What are you looking at, sir?" she demands. "I'm looking at you, miss" he replied without averting his gaze. When he has to abandon Cora to be able to save her and her sister, the closest he comes to telling Cora that he loves her is when Nathaniel tells her to stay alive, no matter what, promising "I will find you." Then they look at each other, trapped in a cave beneath a waterfall, drinking in the sight of each other for what could be the final time.
As I indicated earlier, I had not read the novel "The Last of the Mohicans," or even the Classics Illustrated comic book version. For that matter I had not seen the 1936 version. As a result, I did not know what was going to happen next in this film, and I was so caught up with what was happening that I actually sat in the theater wondering what was going to happen next when we were literally up to the final scene. This movie is so captivating than even now, when I know the plot of Cooper's original story (Uncas and Cora are the doomed lovers), I dismiss the literary source in terms of Mann's cinematic result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 24 Mar. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my all time favourite movies. Great mix of acting, action,drama,audio,and video all wrapped around a superb story.
Don't get the director's cut, the original is almost perfect.
I'm still of the belief that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
The theatrical release wasn't broke.
I just found out that the original was available in the UK and ordered it, because it is not available in North America. Review is from Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magic, 16 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
One of my all time favourite films,not so much because its one of the best films ive seen, (though it is very fine by any criteria)but because its the most outright romantic (in the true sense of the word, do not for romantic read lovey-dovey)in its style. This is due to the best soundtrack to a film ive ever heard (it really sweeps) being played against images of brutality and tragedy but with a strong current of grim heroism.It really sums up the kind of idealistic romanticism that filmmakers have been aiming to convert properly from poems and books for years. Only Hitchcock's Vertigo comes close to this film (which I would also urge you to watch and worship, its the best film ive ever seen)in these terms.The soundtrack really makes this film, without it it would only be good. But hey, its not without it so what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in my top ten films of all time......., 2 Nov. 2008
By 
P. Ponias (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
have seen this film more than a dozen times and it never stops to amaze me.. the perfect film combination of a history lesson, action/adventure, suspence and romance, cant believe that the oscars of its year missed it.. many great characters with most given relative depth, and a daniel day-lewis perfectly casted, establishing himself after winning the oscar for my left foot and showing of what is to come from him: in the name of.., gangs of ny, the crucible, there will be blood more recently.
A superb multi-layered story, hard and bloody at times but also soft and romantic.. one of the best music scores ever on film (!), visually stunning with breathtaking picture and cinematography, one of these films that makes u think "thats what cinema is all about".. heroic, poignant the more times u watch it, the better it gets..for boys and girls (great for a date as another reviewer said) , younger and older audience not to be missed.. 6* +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars last of the mohicans blu-ray, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans [Blu-ray] [1992] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Well,I just thought that I should give my view on LOTM Blu-ray,firstly,the usual excellent service from Amazon!!!! released on Monday,arrived at my door early Tuesday morning,and at a very reasonable price.
Now,the blu-ray,it,s pointless talking about the film itself,everybody knows the storyline,there was quite a lot of negative reviews when LOTM was released on blu-ray in America,most of which were about the "darkness" of the transfer,which I "kinda understand",BUT,dark is DARK,the night time scenes are supposed to be DARK,in fairness to these reviewers I have to say that the blu-ray is much darker than the dvd,but in that darkness is a clarity of picture that the dvd doesn,t show,good picture quality on the dvd mind you,so,I definitely give this blu-ray transfer "thumbs up",I give it 5 out of 5 because of the clarity/sound,and of course most of all the Film itself!!!
A wee question though,like one of the other reviewers I,ve had both region 2 dvd and the extended region i dvd,there are "more" scenes in the extended dvd,but I didn,t see much extension on this definitive version on blu-ray??
maybe I missed it?
All in all Last of the Mohicans Blu-ray is a must-buy for lovers of the film,and general movie fans too,in my opinion of course!!!!!in fairness to the dvd I dont think there,s a huge jump in picture quality with this blu-ray transfer,but there is enough of an improvement for this blu-ray to be well recommended.
Cheers Guys,
Davy Cairns,Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding adventure movie, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know that this movie is getting on a bit now, but The Last Of The Mohicans [1992] [DVD] is a superb action movie that is stirring and has a fabulous soundtrack. It is also one of the rare occassions where the movie is actually better than the book in my opinion.

Although I described it as an action movie, LOTM is at it's core a romance and it keeps you gripped to the very end. As the hero Nathaniel, Daniel Day-Lewis seemed an odd choice at the time especially coming off the back of his superb performance in My Left Foot [DVD] [1989] but he is perfect and the role suits him down to the ground. Madeliene Stowe looks gorgeous and is totally convincing as Cora while Wes Studi is excellent as the bad guy of the piece Magua. There is solid support from Steven Waddington as Duncan(a very different characterisation from the book), Russell Means as Chingachguck and Eric Schweig as Uncas. In fact, none of the cast put a foot wrong.

The cinematography is superb and this movie is simply wonderful to look at and the final fifteen minutes or so are amongst my favourite movie moments ever. I would recommend this version ahead of the director's cut because it quite simply is better and with any luck there might well be a special edition to look forward to. Now that really would be a treat. This is five star entertainment and should definitely find a way into your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Blu-ray, 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans [Blu-ray] [1992] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Firstly, I think this film is great.

Now on to the UK Blu-ray. Like reviews for the American one's the picture on this is also dark, I wonder if this is deliberate to hide the little or no effort they have put into the transfer. If you look at older films, such as Zulu or Alien,you will see how amazing blu-rays can be. This film is a lot newer and it really was poor. It also comes with a DTS-HD Master Audio sound track and this was quite underwhelming as well.

So all in all a real missed opportunity for an awesome film...damn shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, poor audio/video transfer, 7 Feb. 2012
By 
Charles P. Miller (Redmond, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The original theatrical release is one of my all-time favorite movies. Unfortunately, when the initial VHS version that was true to the original was re-released on DVD, the director absolutely ruined the ending with a lot of politically correct dialog. Equally bad and utterly inexplicable in a Director's Cut with a longer run time, a few bits of significant dialog were cut out. This abomination is now the only version available in the US, so I bought this version which is exactly the same as the original VHS release.

Well, not quite exactly the same. Much to my surprise the video quality is only about as good as VHS, and the audio is noticeably worse. Neither is anywhere near as good as my US version DVD- which even so I cannot stand to watch. What a shame we can't have this fine version in the same quality as the Director's Cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last of the Mohicans [Blu-ray] [1992] [Region Free]
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews