Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun mayhem
Got this game on release. Great graphics and very easy handling . Career mode is short and there's not many tracks . Its nothing like the other dirt games which I love but is a very welcome addition . Very familiar menus to dirt 3 . Single player is good just the right difficulty on medium for me win some lose some .

Where this game shines the most is online it...
Published on 26 May 2012 by Mr. A. Minshull

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CRASH, BANGh....****updated****
So Dirt's gone all gnarly and trashy eh? Well according to an interview I read Codemasters has decided to split the series in half and leave the hoonigan style car wiggling and general motor based tomfoolery to the "Showdown" camp thus letting the core Dirt series deal with the proper meat and veg of rally driving. So how has it worked out? Well I'll try to keep in mind...
Published on 27 May 2012 by Haunted Nostril


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CRASH, BANGh....****updated****, 27 May 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (PS3) (Video Game)
So Dirt's gone all gnarly and trashy eh? Well according to an interview I read Codemasters has decided to split the series in half and leave the hoonigan style car wiggling and general motor based tomfoolery to the "Showdown" camp thus letting the core Dirt series deal with the proper meat and veg of rally driving. So how has it worked out? Well I'll try to keep in mind the aforementioned parting of the series notion in my mind while I pick away at this the more angsty face of Dirt.

THE GOOD STUFF:
- The graphics are stunning with the ego engine bringing a tear to the eye once again. Great details on the tracks and substantial vehicular models make this the cream of the visual crop.
- The crunches and crashes that accompany every battered motion of your motor are epic. It's like someone is chewing scrap metal right in your ear.
- The framerate is slicker than a baby seal covered in Vaseline and only adds to the overall ocular intercourse.
- Some of the vehicles are really cool looking and with all the various destruction derby style add-ons they really stand out.
- Some of the liveries and paint jobs are as equally impressive as the motors sporting them with the dalik fodda art being some of the panicles of the design foray.
- The online is chaotic fun, massive amounts of it and will have you swearing with sweaty glee in no time. This really feels like what the game was made for.
- This point really should have been lumped in with the whole graphics thing above but I feel special attention needs to be paid to the various special effects that accent the game such as sun glare, fireworks, smoky tire friction and all the other innumerable pyrotechnical that lace the visuals like crack for the peepers. Sweet.
- The menus are much like Dirt 3's menus; clean, smooth and functional, if not really deviating from the whole Codemasters aesthetic, but they work well and are effortlessly navigatable.
-****The controls are proper tight, tighter than my bosses wallet even, for a more arcadey take on the Dirt world they couldn't be more perfect.*****
-****The joyride mode is a good blast in this one, it's good to really razz around and push the car and the controls. tons to do.****

THE BAD STUFF:
****The joyride mode, though fun and a generally all round top bloke, features missions that essentially are the same thing over and over - dohnut round this, drift under that, if you've done it once youll be able to do replicate it anywhere so the challenge is near non existant. However I do dig finding the tokens and the stuff they unlock ain't much but totally worth it.*****
- The commentator needs to shut his yapper - I mean he sounds like a frickin' Ninja Turtle and this ain't the early nineties, Sheila. With quipy gems like "Totally T-Bone-tastical", "Perpendicular awesomeness" and even the use of the word rad this guy should be dunked in hot jam and tossed, full pelt, into a mass of seething hornets.
- You will play the same tracks from the extremely sparse number of available tracks over and over and over and over again until you just want to throw up. Weak.
- I mentioned that some of the liveries are really cool, inventive and generally very good well there are some that look like they were designed by a junky who's head is absolutely chock full of multicoloured, heaving, custard.
- The soundtrack is sketchy at best, these tracks are not going to be featured on anyone's best of albums and you will learn to loath them as the repeat your ears into the ground.
- *This next point is my own personal peeve and it may not fit everyone's frame of mind so just discount it if you don't agree: Hooniganisation is annoying as hell, i'm glad they're tearing it from the womb of the core Dirt experience and dumping it in its own mediocre outing. I buy Dirt for the feeling of blasting around beautiful locations, tearing up the gravel and trying to blitz some tight times, this game is more about jagging off with your car and swinging it around poles like some bizarre motor-worshipping stripper. There is nothing worse and people should stop humping their vehicles and get back on the track. So there.
- This game pushes its online presence on you like a nasty drug pusher - do you want to put your replays on Youtube? Do you want to sign up to our latest copy and paste gaming community? Do you grant your soul and first born child to Codemasters and their team of marketing goblins and wizards. I remember when Codemasters used to make games like Dizzy and Super Stunt Man and didn't try to inject their very essence into your eyeballs. This kind of thing is a little unsavoury.
- The whole thing is a rather short lived, overly simplified, experience that just doesn't do the games name justice.

THE FINAL WORD:
****right so my previous final word was a little unkind perhaps and the innitial shock of a near arcadey Dirt title shook me a little, but i am here to put things straight. However I still feel a lot of my inntial conscerns are valid, but I've put in a 15 hours now and the single player is a very tight place to be indeed with too few tracks to spread across the breadth of thr campaign leaving it feel like a bit of a slog. The joyride mode is where the majority of the freedom lies but is far too easy and shortlived for its own good. So you are left with the multiplayer mode which is a good blast but has the same problems as the single play and ultimately the overall package is a very sparse feeling affair. There's some big chunks of fun to be had during your time with Dirt Showdown but i'm still left looking forwards to less of this tomfoolery and more of the core rally experience that im sure will be represented in Dirt 4, and even at this price this is a little hard to recommend Dirt Showdown for anything but a rental.****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks depth..., 6 Jan 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (PS3) (Video Game)
Ok, so I normally steer well clear of arcade racers ever since NFS games went downhill and stuck to my race sims but on the PS3 they are few and far between and with the lack of any Forza games, I decided to give this a go.

The game is well presented with easy to operate menus and has a resemblance to Dirt 2, an altogether nicer feel than dirt 3 as far as menus are concerned. Downhill here onwards though I'm afraid.

The showdown tour is where the bulk of the SP is at. Every race however seems to be either a destruction derby or a trick run. Fair enough, it's an arcade game - but when you can drive around a track without ever having to use the brakes, it does get a bit daft.

Main pros:
- Nice menu layout, much like Dirt 2 if not quite so pretty.
- Multiplayer will occupy you for an hour or so.
- Knockout matches can be pretty good.
- You can upgrade some of your cars.

Main cons:
- Damage, does not work properly, you can hit a car head on and get no points, then you can be hit by another car and get the points, there is no consistency when scoring points, it literally is hit and hope.
- Commentators seriously need to learn how to speak, it's all a bit too cliché.
- Lots of game modes omitted from split screen multiplayer.
- Lack of any real depth, limited race modes, very few vehicles and a lifeless showdown tour all make for a rather dull gaming experience.

All in all, I'm glad this game exists. It means we won't see any hoonigan/destruction derby type stuff in future Dirt titles, instead they will be allocated to 'showdown' games and we will get our good old Dirt rally games back (dearly missed). Even if you are an arcade racer fan who enjoys their Need for speed games, this won't keep you entertained long, there's just not enough meat to sink your teeth into, just like jumping into bed with Justin Beiber, it's all over before it's really started.

My rating: 4.6/10
Genre: Arcade racer, driving.
Price recommendation: I would not be willing to pay anything more than 8 for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun mayhem, 26 May 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (PS3) (Video Game)
Got this game on release. Great graphics and very easy handling . Career mode is short and there's not many tracks . Its nothing like the other dirt games which I love but is a very welcome addition . Very familiar menus to dirt 3 . Single player is good just the right difficulty on medium for me win some lose some .

Where this game shines the most is online it just such a laugh a great game . Especially with friends . It's a very easy pick up and play game and suits me as I only get a hour or two a night on ps3 when the wife and kids are in bed so these type of games suit me .

I would recommend this game , it does lack depth in single player but is a great pick up and play online which is more fun anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ps3 dirt showdown game, cheap!!!!, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (PS3) (Video Game)
Great price for this game compared to other stores, free delivery is always a bonus, my son absolutely loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good way to kill an hour., 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (PS3) (Video Game)
Not the greatest of driving games. But not the worst ! It's a good way to kill an hour or two but won't keep you engrossed like other driving genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good game, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (PS3) (Video Game)
birthday present for the nephew. he loves racing games, and this ones a bit different than the track/street racing games out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It can be fun, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is a bit of a step back sadly IMO.. The banger cars seemed like it would be good fun, but really the tracks are rather boring.. I played it for a bit but then tried the older Dirt 3 I had installed from a while back and found that to be much more fun.. Not sure why really.. But yer for the price its not bad.. But just don't be expecting a cool new version as its sadly a let down..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great product, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (PS3) (Video Game)
Great fun game. Better online than in one player mode but still allows users to enjoy many different forms of racing. Was delivered on time and in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (PS3) (Video Game)
same bought as present for son he well happy hes told his friends to buy this item great game pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dirt cheap, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (PS3) (Video Game)
I mainly purchased this because it was a very good price, and I have Dirt 2 already. The controls and set up were familiar, and the gameplay easy enough to grasp, although some stages could do with more explaination, as my young son found them a bit more tricky to understand.
Overall a great game for the younger gamer, but maybe a bit too simplistic for older players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirt Showdown (PS3)
Dirt Showdown (PS3) by Codemasters Limited (PlayStation 3)
12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews