Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant spin off from the DiRT franchise
First of all you need to note; this is not DiRT4 or a follow on from DiRT3 its a completely different game all together, im a fan of this and DiRT/2/3 as well and im looking forward to 4 when its released.

Now, this game is a LOT of fun! Its a lot like Destruction Derby for the ps1 back in the 90's. I think Knock out is by far the best mode, its a lot like sumo...
Published on 27 May 2012 by thedoctor256

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The DiRT series slides right off the rails
Good handling and some excellent car choices can't save what is essentially an asset-stripped Codemasters game, that's repetitive and seems to crap all over the legacy laid down by the last two excellent DiRT titles. Mostly concentrated around destruction derby-style races, with a bit of hooning (showing off) in between, DiRT Showdown really isn't worth bothering with if...
Published on 31 July 2012 by Peej Maybe


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The DiRT series slides right off the rails, 31 July 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Good handling and some excellent car choices can't save what is essentially an asset-stripped Codemasters game, that's repetitive and seems to crap all over the legacy laid down by the last two excellent DiRT titles. Mostly concentrated around destruction derby-style races, with a bit of hooning (showing off) in between, DiRT Showdown really isn't worth bothering with if you enjoyed DiRT 2 or 3. When will Codemasters learn that designing a game that ticks all the right boxes for the american market first doesn't naturally guarantee great sales.

Losing the rally bits that were brilliant in DiRT 3 was a huge mistake. I can only hope that Codemasters learn a few lessons for the next DiRT game, take a very long hard look at DiRT 2 and 3 and (for goodness sake) put a bit more variety into the track designs, we really are sick to death of Battersea now, chaps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant spin off from the DiRT franchise, 27 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
First of all you need to note; this is not DiRT4 or a follow on from DiRT3 its a completely different game all together, im a fan of this and DiRT/2/3 as well and im looking forward to 4 when its released.

Now, this game is a LOT of fun! Its a lot like Destruction Derby for the ps1 back in the 90's. I think Knock out is by far the best mode, its a lot like sumo wrestling for cars!

You also have knockout which is a destruction derby mode, 8ball; which is racing round a track that crosses over at multiple points, causing complete carnage!

Gymkhana is back with a couple of modes from DiRT3's multiplayer and Joyride in a bigger Battersea Compound and also Yokohoma Docks (which is massive).

Doing tricks in these modes is a lot easier as it is assisted and less technical (some will find this good and others bad).

All in all a great, fun 'sofa filling game' which is even better with multiple players.
It is a must buy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but glitchy!, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This looks to be a good follow on from Dirt 3. Graphics are the same, sounds are just as good and it's got some nice features within. My problem with it though is that if you use a wireless controller (which a vast majority do) you will encounter a glitch where you cannot change gear! I loaded the first race and was stuck in first gear the entire race. I would've been sat until christmas before I finished, got overlapped about 9 times, so I gave up. Having researched this, it seems to be only affecting wireless controllers, and in some cases depending where you save the game data! I haven't tried with a wired controller yet to see if this cures the issue, but when I do I will update.

(By the way, for those who say change the control layout, you can change the controls to any buttons you wish, but even if you map every button to every function, there's another glitch that says you haven't mapped every function where you clearly have, so you have to revert back to the default scheme and hey presto, you're back to square one!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but no classic, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
M. Wright "Rob Johnston" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have played all the DiRT games and have to say this would be my least favourite (DiRT 2 was long but worth it)

The tour is a little short with no real challenge, the joyride is quite fun but gets repetitive and you find yourself doing donuts and drifting over and over. I quickly completed the game and all missions in about 6 hours.

The positives are some of the new modes can be relatively fun especially the 8ball where you could be clearly in the lead but lose it all by colliding on a turn, the rampage is decent enough too, overall if your a fan of dirt or just want a laid back racing game this is worth a look because of the low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ITS NOT A DiRT GAME!, 26 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is NOT a follow on game from previous DiRTs. It's a different type of game all together! It's not a serious rally game at all and it's not meant to be! DiRT 4 will be pure rally game with no muck around element. So why are you all moaning about this game as they even said its not a serious rally game.

It's great fun alone and even better with mates and great for kids too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fun, 30 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
good game for a bit of time wasting, good to relieve stress! only thing to beimproved would be to make the single player mode longer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not one for drivers, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Too many destruction derby's and too many stunts and tricks, but no real driving. Very boring, I wasted my money don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Love it want more games like this love banger racing in real life so this game is a good game for it makes you feel your actually in the car !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
my 10 year old says its brilliant plays it most days since christmas. lots of crashing and chasing easy to play .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, a bit too easy., 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Lots of Arcade style fun racing. Reminds me of the old destruction derby games at times. Single player a little bit too easy. I cant wait for the return to simulation rally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360)
Dirt Showdown (Xbox 360) by Codemasters Limited (Xbox 360)
£11.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews