Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rory Gallagher, 8 Nov. 2013
By 
D. J. Wilden "denise7248" (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
This is stunning, Just a Smile is brilliant and I had my socks knocked off when I got to Can't Believe It's True when I realised RORY WAS PLAYING ALTO SAX - just amazing, what a talent and he really had such a lot more to do, taken far far too early
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First step of a Giant., 2 Mar. 2014
By 
The Raven (algeciras (cadiz), spain Espana) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Although Rory did an impressive run with Taste, this is the first album in his solo (and unrivaled) career. Songs like "Laundromat", "I Fall Apart" and "For the Last Time" only are worth the money. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not enough stars in heaven for this guy, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
If there was god and he did have a son, then Rory, would at least know him. Along with Peter Green Paul Kossoff, i rate Rory as a true Genius. The feeling that he could get out of the guitar was second to none and on stage he could rock out better than most of his contemporaries. You hear nothing but praise about the guy and what a true gent he was off stage, do you know what? They're right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Has stood the test of time as regards its greatness, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Rory's first solo album... and what a beauty it is. It may have come as a bit of a surprise to Taste fans, but it has certainly stood the test of time as regards its greatness. I particularly like the lyrics of many of the songs on it. They are so poetic, beautifully written. It is hard to imagine that someone so young could write with such depth and insight. Rory must have been an 'old soul'. Melody-wise, all the songs stand really strong. They are gentle when need be, have a bit more flair when needed and roll along on various rhythmic trains to show Rory was as comfortable playing folk or blues as he was playing rock. He even plays the saxophone on one track!

I know there are several compilations and 'best of' albums out there now from Rory... and if you are new to his music then they are a fine place to start. However, if you wish to collect all his material (and why wouldn't you), then why not start where he started - with this beautiful first solo album entitled simply 'Rory Gallagher'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 11 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
The sequel to Taste’s ‘On The Boards’ and predecessor of ‘Deuce’ this album highlights Rory’s instrumental, vocal and song writing versatility. He excels in several genres; Rock, Blues, Jazz and Country. This is one of my favourite albums of all time and I couldn’t single out any track as a filler. I was very fortunate to be given a promo Cd of the album prior to general release (Thank you Donal) after wearing out my vinyl copy. This remaster with the bonus tracks deserves pride of place of any discerning Blues/Rock fan. Rory added the wonderful Lou Martin on keyboards after ‘Deuce’ and moved in another (equally exciting) direction and although he later returned to the ‘power trio’ things were never quite the same. Highly recommended along with On The Boards and Deuce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Start, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Picking up where Rory left off after Taste disbanded, this is an attempt brave effort for how could he was as a solo artist and show things for what was to come later at his life career. A great debut, well recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Rory, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
As good as I remember, haven't heard it for a long time but didn't disappoint. Definitely one of his best albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful sounding remaster!, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
Joe (New Joisey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
The 2012 Remaster sounds so good!
Rory's first album is in a class all by itself. I love the sweet natural sound of this remaster , it sounds pure and unfiltered and you can hear the beautiful tone of Rory's '61 strat.
Highly recommend this, grab it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More for the Rory collection., 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Great album.Never get tired of listening to Rory's albums.Still sounds fresh.
Arrived promptly.Packaged well.Pleased with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite one of the most beautiful albums ever recorded, 3 April 2015
By 
johann28 (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Quite one of the most beautiful albums ever recorded, from one of the most talented, beautiful people the world has ever known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rory Gallagher
Rory Gallagher by Rory Gallagher (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews