Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting continuation of the series.
THE STORY:
Wren Ohmsford has been tasked with returning the Elves to the Westland, but she discovers them trapped on the island of Morrowindl besieged by terrible demons. Before the story is finished she will recover her lost past, discover the dark secret of the Elves and reveal the origins of the Shadowen that plague the Four Lands.
WHAT'S GOOD:
I liked...
Published on 5 Oct. 2004 by Ian Tapley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return To The Four Lands
The dead druid, Allanon, once again influences the future of the Ohmsford family. In this book Wren Ohmsford is charged with returning the elves to the four lands by the druids shade and so begins another adventure for the heirs of Shannara. Fans of the earlier books will find no cause for complaints in the latest installment, but, neither will they find any surprises...
Published on 30 Oct. 2001 by AndyBSG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return To The Four Lands, 30 Oct. 2001
By 
AndyBSG "A. Graham" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The dead druid, Allanon, once again influences the future of the Ohmsford family. In this book Wren Ohmsford is charged with returning the elves to the four lands by the druids shade and so begins another adventure for the heirs of Shannara. Fans of the earlier books will find no cause for complaints in the latest installment, but, neither will they find any surprises. Brooks' sticks to the tried and tested formula of his earlier novels which can lead to dissapointment, some of the characters and their motivations are just too similar to those in the earlier books. On the whole the book is a, well written, time filling read but nothing that will set the world on fire unless you are a genuine fan. However, Brooks does try to vary things by taking the majority of the story away from the four lands to a new setting which breaks any tedium slightly. In summary, a good read for Brooks admirers but little more than a stop gap for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting continuation of the series., 5 Oct. 2004
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
THE STORY:
Wren Ohmsford has been tasked with returning the Elves to the Westland, but she discovers them trapped on the island of Morrowindl besieged by terrible demons. Before the story is finished she will recover her lost past, discover the dark secret of the Elves and reveal the origins of the Shadowen that plague the Four Lands.
WHAT'S GOOD:
I liked Wren as a character far more than I like, say, Par and Coll. Rather than being a whiney coward, like her cousins tend to be, she is self assured and confident of who she is. It is this confidence that makes this story so compelling as we see it torn asunder by the horrific revelations on Morrowindl. It's nice to see the darker side of the Elves too, as I'm sick of fantasy stories always having them be whiter than white and looking down on the foolish destructive humans. The brief interludes that update us on Coll's imprisonment, Par's flight from the Seekers and Walker's exploration of Paranor are consise and help to maintain the overall story of the series without detracting from the flow of Wren's adventures. Brooks' masterstroke, however, is to not pad the book out with repetetive action. We've read of battling dark monsters in all his other books, so he wisely resists the temptation to have such encounters constantly occuring on Morrowindl. Similarly, he doesn't repeat the stuff about getting the Elfstones to work that we've already read in his previous volumes.
WHAT'S BAD:
There's not too much to complain about with this book. That said, I feel I should mention that Coll reveals himself to be the stupidest character ever created and it's simply not believable that he could fall for the trick that he does. Also, there's some demons who are basically vampires and Brooks names them Drakuls. I mean, please...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elves in the Drow fashion, 9 Jan. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wren fulfills her charge as set by Allanon - to seek out the elves and return them to the Westlands. She discovers that they are on the island of Morrowindl and is taken there by a wing rider.
What was once a paradise has become a hellish place of swamps and monsters. First Wren has to battle her way to the elves (with the help of some local wild-life) and later on battle her way back.
The main part of the book deals with this struggle.
On the minus side of Wren's adventure was the predictability of some of the elven characters - especially Galvin (her cousin). No big surprises there. That and some of the deaths that occured while she was on Morrowindle were less than surprising.
I did like the depiction of Coll's struggle in Southwatch (the Shadowen stronghold). I have no problem seeing that someone in captivity could end up falling for the trick that he did. Brook is using commonly known prisoner psychology here. Par's character is understandable as well. It's not every day a guy believes he has killed his own brother.
Walker's own struggles in dealing with his fate was getting to be a bit old. But he comes to realize that not all choices are ones that are his to make. Sometimes there isn't much to do except accept the fate that lies ahead of us.
All in all this was a good book - not as good as no 2 but still good. I certainly kept on reading it through - even though I had read it previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazingly magical (literly) story with many twists, 9 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
A wonderful book. in which you shall meet many creatures and monsters, many of which are shadowen. which the shade of Allanon has proficised will take over the four lands. If not stopped by the magic possesed by Par, his uncle Walker Boh all of whose stories feature in other books which I would also recommend. This story is thronging with enchantment, ore and wonder. Threaded through with charectors such as the creature thorn and the wisteron. One magnificent book of an equaly magnificent series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how can this book be rated low?, 23 April 2004
i found this just as exciting as all the shannara volumes,once you getinto the storyline, you have to know how it ends, infact at the end ithink i fell in love with Triss, the elf captain of the Home Guard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Adventure contiunes, 16 Mar. 2007
By 
C. Parrott "CP" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In this book we follow the story of Wren in search of the Elves. Aparently vanished from the 4 lands she finds her way to a dangerous and mysterious island.

Like his other books this shows improvment and more confidence in his writing style. We see develpoment in characters and the world he has created with a story line that really make the pages keep turning.

This book has it all hardship, dispair and loss that you can't help but be moved by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 21 Feb. 2001
TERRY BROOKS TELLS THE BRILLIANT STORY OF WREN OMSFORD AND HER PERILOUS JOURNEY TO FIND THE MISSING ELVES AND DISCOVER HER HERITAGE .THIS IS A BRIALLIANT TOLD STORY AND IMMPOSSIBLE TO PUT IT DOWN IT LEADS TO THE SEQUAL AND WHEN YOU READ IT YOU WILL BE RACEING OUT TO BUY THE SEQUAL THE TALISMEN OF SHARANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another epic novel, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elf Queen Of Shannara: The Heritage of Shannara: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
I am a loyal follower of the Shannara books and this one did not disappoint another outstanding instalment by Mr brooks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elf queen, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elf Queen Of Shannara: The Heritage of Shannara: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
Always enjoy Terry Brooks writings. This series is as good as anything he has written before and I cant wait to get into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 22 Feb. 2014
By 
Chris Gibbs (Winslow, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elf Queen Of Shannara: The Heritage of Shannara: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
Another book I have read before in my youth that I have now added to my mobile library. Really enjoy this author, second set of Shannara series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews