Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous.
I have just finished reading this book and am so overcome by how engrossing and enjoyable it is that I'm moved to review it here, or at least offer a few burbling words of approval.

Taking place in a quiet square in Vienna, 1911, this is a masterpiece of character development and a celebration of small victories and every day goings-on. Early on, the narrator...
Published 20 months ago by A. Lamont

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable escape to turn-of-(last)- century Vienna
An easy read. My first experience of a Kindle novel, and I don't read many books of this genre either, so, a doubly novel (sorry!) experience. Undemanding, but kept me reading over the weekend. It will take you to a different world: pre-WW1 Vienna, hints of contemporary political events and of what is approaching, touches of a demi-monde, the Viennese music scene, a...
Published 19 months ago by Sheila Lam


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A gentle story of life on the Square, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madensky Square (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Full of interesting and well drawn characters. Full of small town politics and relationships. Not a happy ever after story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Madensky Square, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madensky Square (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who has ever been to Vienna will love this book and the gentle characters who inhabit it. An antidote to all crime, fantasy and chick lit novels. Well worth reading and beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madensky Square (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
The story line seemed to promise more than than the story itself provided. I read it through as parts were very interesting. but a lot of it seemed unreal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madensky Square (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Nothing much happens - but in such a delightfully written and quietly entertaining way that I was totally engrossed. And to end in the way it does, at that particular moment in time, is really clever touch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good holiday read, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madensky Square (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Nothing too serious or demanding, but a nice holiday read. A lightweight portrait of 'old time' Vienna seen through the eyes of a dressmaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madensky Square (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It has a nice sense of place and good characterisation. A gentle, pleasantly undemanding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grammar, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madensky Square (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
the story has potential but the very long sentences causes one to lose the sense of it. I had to re-read so many that I have not finished the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madensky Square (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
The names are confusing and take a while to remember. Having said that it is a good read once you overcome that,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madensky Square (Bello)
Madensky Square (Bello) by Eva Ibbotson
1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews