Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Impossible Marriage
Christie looks back on her adolescence and early marriage to Ned, an older man. First published in the 1950s, this novel is set in the 1930s and vividly describes middle-class life in Clapham at the time. A sense of nostalgia and loss pervades the book as Christie soon comes to realise that her marriage has been a mistake. The relationships between Christie and Ned, and...
Published 20 months ago by Josa

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - boring!
I bought this because I remember reading novels by this writer many years ago and enjoyed them - but I'm afraid either my tastes have changed or this was an early work that doesn't live up to the others. I found it tedious and none of the characters grabbed my attention apart from Iris, who unfortunately didn't make many appearances in the narrative. I felt sorry for...
Published 6 months ago by Roz Colyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Impossible Marriage, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Impossible Marriage (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Christie looks back on her adolescence and early marriage to Ned, an older man. First published in the 1950s, this novel is set in the 1930s and vividly describes middle-class life in Clapham at the time. A sense of nostalgia and loss pervades the book as Christie soon comes to realise that her marriage has been a mistake. The relationships between Christie and Ned, and Christie and her young friends, are very convincingly portrayed. I will say no more about the plot to prevent "spoiling" , but strongly recommend it. I was delighted to find Pamela Hansford Johnson being republished for Kindle and look forward to re-reading more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Impossible Marriage (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written. The story unravels slowly so that the reader becomes immersed in a time when life was very different from nowadays. The characters have life, unlike so many fictional characters who are paper thin. A long story and in essence not a lot happens but it beckons you in and there you stay until the final page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How things used to be!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Impossible Marriage (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this novel from a now largely overlooked female writer. I am old enough to remember when she was a household name, so when I came across this Amazon "bargain offer" at 99p. for Kindle users I decided to give it a whirl. If, like me, you still enjoy a novel written in the past tense (do modern authors lack the basic skill to write in any tense other than the present?) with a beginning, a middle and an end, and where the protagonists retain some remnants of traditional morality and have the backbone to endure trying times, you may well, like me, appreciate this novel. I have since downloaded more of Hansford Johnson's work to my Kindle, with the intention of exploring her work further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another cheap Kindle buy, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Impossible Marriage (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I used to read Pamela Hansford Johnson many years ago and was delighted to see them offered again. Yes - it's a bit old fashioned but it pictures the era beautifully and how lovely to have a well written book which relies on good old fashioned story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned brilliance, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Impossible Marriage (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Why don't they do 'em like this anymore. Look, it is old fashioned. Life is different. But the story progresses beautifully. There is pace. There is a heroine that you root for. And there is the husband who is both bad and weak and kind and so human.

It is the story of a girl who adores an older man (slightly) with flaws. It's a very physical attraction. She is a working girl and gives up her job for him. And it all falls apart over money in a way. Slowly you see the flaws in each person and it is heartbreaking by the end. I really recommend this. Charmingly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most enjoyable, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Impossible Marriage (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the characters (but some more than others), their development through time, and the story line, which disproves the song line, "All you need is love". It is the story of a marriage that should never have been, but at least Christine has a son from it, and the story is not a harrowing one.
My first novel by this author, and I shall look for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impossible happiness, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Impossible Marriage (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Set in gentler times of the 1950's it reflects women's attitudes to marriage during those times. Today's young women would most probably not enter into marriage whilst so indecided. Well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Impossible Marriage (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
A joy to read. Beautifully written and a welcome relief from the lazy and undistinguished prose which characterises most contemporary fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grows on you, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Impossible Marriage (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
The more I read this the more I liked it. It is a subtle yet excrutiating portrayal of a marriage. Will read more by her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Impossible Marriage (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Thought provoking, most interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Impossible Marriage (Bello)
An Impossible Marriage (Bello) by Pamela Hansford Johnson
£1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews