Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality!
After waiting close to a month after pre-ordering (supplier issues apparently), I finally had the chance to listen to this long-awaited album. From the first track, you can hear a classic Nneka. This enjoyable track carries you into a uniquely styled "Sleep" featuring Ms Dynamite. You continue through to the solid album single, "Home" and get to the mellow "Restless"...
Published on 18 Oct 2011 by Mr. A. Nadi

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cd
Well some of the tracks are quite good but on the whole not a bad CD. Gave it to my wife for her car not good enough for mine.
Published 18 months ago by ROB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality!, 18 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. A. Nadi "dammies" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Is Heavy (Audio CD)
After waiting close to a month after pre-ordering (supplier issues apparently), I finally had the chance to listen to this long-awaited album. From the first track, you can hear a classic Nneka. This enjoyable track carries you into a uniquely styled "Sleep" featuring Ms Dynamite. You continue through to the solid album single, "Home" and get to the mellow "Restless" where Nneka showed off her beautiful voice accompanied with beautiful instrumentals. "Don't even think" features a groovy beat complimented at the end with Nneka's rapping skills. The track "J" is one of the best tracks on the album, it gets you boping your head and gradually moving your feet, you just cant help it!

The rest of the songs on the album are equally great, "God Knows Why" with Black Thought is one of the tracks that stood out to me probably because I am a huge Roots fan. Dream collaboration for me. "Still I Rise" emphasizes her heritage with poetic sounding lyrics (prayers) in Yoruba, Igbo and Hausa.

I am glad I purchased this album. Soul is Heavy probably is one of her best works, if not the best. It definitely doesn't fall short of her previous album's high standard. "Camouflage" should have K'naan on it (hint...). Now that's a mouth-watering collaboration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great soul, funk, reggae and rap., 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOUL IS HEAVY (Audio CD)
For an artist who has released only 3 full length CDs including this one, her discography may appear a bit confusing. Her first full length CD (preceded by a 3 track EP "The Uncomfortable Truth") is "Victim of Truth", and came out in 2005 (not 2008 as on Amazon). Her second "No Longer At Ease" came out in 2008. This one, "Soul is Heavy" is her 2012 release. This straightforward career is confused by a greatest hits CD, "Concrete Jungle", taken from her first two CDs, and presumably intended to launch her career beyond Germany to the USA, and a re-issue of her first two CDs in a boxed set along with a third CD of outtakes and live tracks etc., both the latter disk and the whole set entitled "To And Fro". All remaining items in her name are either maxi singles, or other artists with different surnames. As for quality, well, I've been listening to a lot of soul and funk lately, and this one, with a hefty dose of reggae and rap mixed in, is the cream of the crop, with her soulful, passionate voice winning every number hands down, and songwriting catchy enough to keep you coming back for more for a very long time. I don't think I will ever get tired of listening to her, long after others have gone to the back of the cupboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another fantastic album from Nneka, 13 Nov 2011
By 
Jane (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soul Is Heavy (Audio CD)
Yet another fantastic album from the wonderful, soulful and underrated Nneka. I think overall this is probably her best album yet. It is a mixture of mostly soul, reggae, rap and afrobeat. Tracks I like best are 'Sleep', 'Valley','Do you love me now'
and 'soul is heavy'. The production is excellent and Nneka has great backing musicians. It would have been great to have had a live version of VIP as the recorded version is not as powerful, but basically this is a brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Food for the Soul!, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOUL IS HEAVY (Audio CD)
This is Nneka best album to date, it features conscious tracks for every occasion. I love listening/dancing to the album while working out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it!, 26 Jan 2012
This review is from: Soul Is Heavy (Audio CD)
I do not think this is the best album by Nneka but it's still nice and a couple of songs are simply beautiful. I love her anyway. She's got a great voice and a fusion style. All her cds' covers are superb too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Is Heavy (Audio CD)
Well some of the tracks are quite good but on the whole not a bad CD. Gave it to my wife for her car not good enough for mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SOUL IS HEAVY
SOUL IS HEAVY by Nneka (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews