Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars27
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2012
I often find some films evoke the period in which they were made much more than others, and "Turn the key softly" is one of the very best. As we follow the fortunes of three women released from Holloway prison one morning during one day, you can really feel the atmosphere of London's streets. The film has excellent location photography, not just of familiar landmarks like Piccadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square, but of the suburbs too - Holloway and Shepherd's Bush. It is as close to being there yourself as you could get.

The film begins with a marvellous shot of trolleybuses (my favourite!) gliding past the old exterior of Holloway prison. There is a lengthy sequence involving a journey by tube, other location highlights being the old theatre on Shepherd's Bush green, the street market, and Joan Collins in Charing Cross Road.

The three leads all give very convincing performances, three women of very different characters dealing with their first day of freedom. Joan Collins as Stella, a "tart with a heart" who nearly jeopardises her chance of happiness; Yvonne Mitchell as Monica who has served time because of her love for David (Terence Morgan)and who nearly makes the same mistake twice, and wonderful Kathleen Harrison as Mrs Quillam, a pathetic and ultimately tragic old woman and inveterate shop lifter. Terence Morgan is at his most smarmy and manipulative, a role in which it seems he was usually cast. I can hardly recall a film in which he wasn't cast as an unpleasant character.

DVD transfer is very good, sharp and crisp with good audio level. For anyone who enjoys windows like this onto a lost Britain this film cannot be recommended enough. It is a simple story but well written and scripted and you will find yourself truly caring about the fates of Stella, Monica and Mrs Quillam. I know I did.

Thanks so much to Strawberry Media for releasing it onto DVD.
11 comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
I have seen this film twice and think it is one of the best British Films ever made. All 3 Lead Women play excellent parts. I am amazed and so pleased this is being released in Britain about time too.. A huge Thanks to Spirit Entertainment whoever you are. I look forward to more releases from you of old British films. The ending is classic. Buy this and enjoy. Mine is on order.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Taking place all in one day, the film follows three women who are released from prison on the same morning. A woman (Yvonne Mitchell) who took the rap for a crime her lover (Terence Morgan) committed, a young prostitute (Joan Collins) and an elderly grandmother (Kathleen Harrison) arrested for shoplifting. Each will spend their day in a different way before meeting up for dinner that evening after which fate gives some of them a second chance ... or not. Unlike most films of this type, this isn't a cautionary tale but a fairly realistic look about three essentially decent women who find themselves torn between destructive impulses they can't seem to help and an innate knowledge to do the right thing. Harrison's story is the most poignant and the most heartbreaking and it's interesting to see the young Collins showing much promise as an actress (a promise never quite fulfilled). Mitchell's character is the most frustrating because she's the most intelligent of the three women yet can't seem to see the obvious trap waiting for her. A neat little piece of social commentary that gets its message across without the preaching. Directed by Jack Lee from the novel by John Brophy. With Dorothy Alison, Thora Hird, Geoffrey Keen and Simone Silva.

The ITV DVD is a nicely rendered B&W transfer in the appropriate 1.33 ratio.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
I completely agree with all the previous reviews. If you wish to experience what life in 1950's London was like, then this film will portray a fair example, whether it be fashion, transport or architecture, this has got the lot. The story revolves around three women from different backgrounds being released from Holloway prison at the same time, what occurs during their time on the out makes up the story, they all fall into bad ways again. The main characters are played by Yvonne Mitchell, Joan Collins and Kathleen Harrison and are supported by a galaxy of British stars which add up to a pretty impressive cast. If you are a lover of old Brit movies then purchase this one, you won't be disappointed, the quality of this remastered dvd is excellent.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 July 2012
I really enjoyed watching this golden oldie filmed during the early 1950s. Joan Collins was just beginning her career then, Kathleen Harrison was already a legend, and Yvonne Mitchell was beginning to make her mark as one of the astounding actors of the 1950s and 1960s.

Three women are released from Holloway prison at the same time. This film follows their progress during the next 24 hours. What happens to them is for the viewer to find out. But, there is an important message underlying their stories as they progress during that one day. All the women have to decide where their future lies, whether it is a return to a life of crime, or whether to start afresh.

Well directed by Jack Lee, with a decent soundtrack, mono though. Picture quality is not too bad either, bearing in mind the age of the film. The remastering team have done a decent job and should be well commended.

Worth a view, especially of London as it used to look during those far off days.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
I saw this film about 45 years ago as a boy about 12 and never forgot it. I cried uncontrollably over the final scene and several other scenes have stuck in the memoty all that time. I was pleased to get hold of the novel in recent months and now have the pleasure of owning the film. Why this film and not others? That's difficult to understand. The three women are superb and, in line with other reviewers, it conjures up a lost London. Gritty realism, poignancy and nostalgia, combined with excellent performances, make it an underrated masterpiece.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
This film is a must if you are searching for a trip dowm memory lane. Filmed in the turnng point in society when poverty was starting to be eradicated
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
I have never seen this movie before,until I bought the dvd via Amazon,A great film from a great cast. My thanks to the seller for a great service.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
Harrison stands out so well in this film as the class actress she is.
Collins' part is somewhat predictable the ending for her is disappointing. However it is an excellent yarn. Are there any more?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
This film was made at a time were values were very much different and in many ways a lot simpler than today. When poverty was really hard compareed to the so called poverty of today. This film really brings it home. Most of the film is shot on location with the starting sequence set outside Holloway Prison in London. Some fantastic post war locations.
The story line is unexpected but shows the way
The class structure existed at that time.
I won't reveal the plot though. Just to say a great
Little film to watch on a rainy Saturday afternoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)