Customer Reviews


412 Reviews
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (127)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivered
Fans of 48 hours will love this second instalment. I was initially surprised by the absence of Josh Hamond but I shouldn't have been. JJ has shown before that he is not averse to leaving accepted methodology. So main character dropped but it just makes so much sense... why would sensible Josh ever entangle himself with a Bentley storyline.... unless forced.

I...
Published 18 months ago by Tristram Johnson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting plot interrupted by guided tours round every location.
This is a prime example of a genre that seems to have become popular in recent years - the travel guide novel. There is a plot to the story, usually perfectly good, which is repeatedly interrupted by chunks of travelogue explaining the history and appearance of the locations, as though to demonstrate that the author really does have first hand knowledge and/or has done...
Published 1 month ago by molecycle


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivered, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Fans of 48 hours will love this second instalment. I was initially surprised by the absence of Josh Hamond but I shouldn't have been. JJ has shown before that he is not averse to leaving accepted methodology. So main character dropped but it just makes so much sense... why would sensible Josh ever entangle himself with a Bentley storyline.... unless forced.

I loved the convoluted storyline especially the Chameleons scenes. This bad guy/girl is far more grey than JJ's previous all out blacker than black villain. I thought I saw the end coming which I did but only in part. Once again JJ works to surprise at every opportunity and every little detail has been added for a purpose event when it seems extraneous to the real plot.

Those who like gritty, twisting plots, with a true-to-life feel, this is for you.

Loved the ending and loved the character of the Chameleons but the televised broadcast is my favourite scene. That was a real feel good moment.

TJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem or creepy lizard?, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
This is a vast improvement on Bentley's previous book, 48 Hours. It abandons the first person narrative and has clearly had much more time spent on the editing, although a couple of howlers still exist, as well as little touches like justified edges to the pages.
The story is fast paced again and with plenty of twists and turns. My favourite element is how much empathy he creates for a cold blooded assassin.
A good stand alone novel and strong sequel to 48 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much improved sequel, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
I bought this on the back of 48Hours and thought it a much better book. In two minds as to whether I should really be backing a mercenary assassin against the British Home Office but this particular assassin is very engaging. Still too many editing errors however, basic errors such as character changing names eg Katie Norman -Jordan- Norman should not still be getting through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting plot interrupted by guided tours round every location., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
This is a prime example of a genre that seems to have become popular in recent years - the travel guide novel. There is a plot to the story, usually perfectly good, which is repeatedly interrupted by chunks of travelogue explaining the history and appearance of the locations, as though to demonstrate that the author really does have first hand knowledge and/or has done their research. In nearly all cases this material has no actual bearing on the development, it just gets in the way. An editor could easily cut out this material without adversely affecting the story.
The main characters work for a private security firm with some past history (this is the first book of the author I have read). This particular story concerns the career prospects of "licence to kill" agents - what do you do when the government decides you are no longer needed? The chameleon becomes a gun for hire - ostensibly for the agency that made them redundant in the first place After the latest hit they become an embarrassment but manage to stay ahead of the pursuers long enough to come good. Official figures in MI5/6 and the government are mostly portrayed as venal incompetents, broad brush caricatures of bullying managers, subversive underlings, etc. Some of the stunts invoked to escape from the latest situation do rather stretch credibility, but then so did James Bond - frequently! I can imagine teenage boys finding this material more to their taste but Anthony Horowitz/ Alex Rider does it so much better. And the next location to get the treatment is Dubai ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Riddled with typos, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced, good plot, a worthy sequel to 48 Hours BUT the typos and character name changes were countless, really annoying and detracted from my enjoyment of the book. Please invest in a proofreader asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great read, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book by J Jackson Bentley, I downloaded it after reading his first novel in the series "48 hours" which was brilliant, and "Chameleon" is just as good, if not better. I just hope J Jackson Bentley writes many more novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 Jun 2013
By 
J. C. Giles "J Giles" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
This book was a mind blowing read which I literally couldn't put down. It was a fantastic story with so many believable and identifiable characters. Unexpected twists, especially at the end, made this into a top class read. Next one beckons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Having read the first book in this series and being unable to put it down I eagerly looked forward to this one,sadly in my eyes it was nowhere near as good as the first one.This centred mainly on his wife Dee with only fleeting refrences to JJ I think I was expecting him to play a bigger part and was waiting for some dramatic entrance from him somewhere in the plot,but it never happened.Got extremely complicated later on with whose side the Chameleon was actually on and never expected the twist in the tale,can we expect to see her back in future books?my feeling is yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dismal writing, 24 May 2014
By 
JANE HURST (Bridgewater, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Unbelievably pretentious including a meeting with himself . CasuAl racism where the black actress returns to her 'part in t he Lion king . GOOD GRIEF! Unbelievable switch 're the baddie he clearly ran out of ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackson at his best, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic! Best book I have read in quite a while could not put it down! Lets have few more OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chameleon: A City of London Thriller
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews