Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting take, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cawdor (Act 1) (Kindle Edition)
Found the personality of Lady Macbeth more sympathetic than in other works. Was impressed by her well rounded character. Overall a very enjoyable read and looking forward to the next act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare 2.0, very cool!, 13 Jan 2012
By 
A. Ali (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cawdor (Act 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyable read, though I would strongly advise it's viewed in colour and not on an older kindle. Monochrome just doesn't do it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read!, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cawdor (Act 1) (Kindle Edition)
Last time i read Macbeth was when i was in school. I gotta say i prefer this version to the one my English teacher made us read. Love the illustrations and story. I will definitely recommend this to people i know, especially the English teachers i now work with. Looking forward to Act 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare gets an upgrade!, 24 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cawdor (Act 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great sci-fi adaptation of Macbeth! Amazing work on the illustrations. Well worth the price.

Would recommend to anyone. (Looking forward to Act 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cawdor (Act 1) (Kindle Edition)
As a huge fan of Shakespeare's Macbeth, I'm always interested in the occasional adaptations that pop up here and there. Cawdor I think is one of the more interesting ones, keeping the medieval cultural setting but greatly upping the degree of technological advancement within its world. There is a rationale behind it, but it might be considered a spoiler so I'll keep that out of this review.

At initial glance, the story appeared to be a straight lifting of Macbeth's text with illustrations to go alongside, and a few science fiction references thrown in for good measure. But as I read further I began to notice that Cawdor has undergone a... streamlining process, though it might not be so obvious to those unfamiliar with the story. Some sections of the text that might not make immediate sense to a modern audience (as they require a medieval minds-eye) have been omitted. Not a loss, in my humble opinion, as their presence ultimately tends to detract from the overall flow - or at least that's what I find in my students. Not only that, dialogue has been altered in intriguing ways. Words have been replaced here and there, sentences put in the mouths of a different character or delivered in an alternative context to subtley alter meaning and motive.

The illustrations themselves are well done but to be fully enjoyed are probably best viewed on one's PC, rather than the black and white Kindle. And it is only the first act of the story, but the price is cheap enough to justify the length. All said, I'm looking forward to seeing the second act and hope it arrives soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern take on a classic story!, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cawdor (Act 1) (Kindle Edition)
Must say I thoroughly enjoyed reading this e-comic. Having not read the original since my school days the plot is easy to grasp with this modern adaptation. Plus its also nice to see it mixed with a science fiction flavour - something I'm sure hasn't been attempted before.

Looking forward to Act 2!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cawdor (Act 1) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant and thoroughly enjoyable comic. Surprised at the level of detail in the pictures. Also a bargain at just 89p. Can not wait for Act II
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Twist on an old story, 10 Jan 2014
By 
N. Hammond "Nipponfan" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cawdor (Act 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic! Get this immediately, I know it is unfinished, but you will kick yourself for missing out. Macbeth as you never read it at school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful twist on an old classic, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Cawdor (Act 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is an intriguing and well-written twist on the Scottish Play. Exceptionally well illustrated to bring the characters and futuristic setting to life. It's certainly an original take on my favorite Shakespearean story and it takes an extraordinary imagination to transport this narrative to an SF setting. Looking at a classic tale with fresh eyes and new energy, Cawdor is a triumph and well worth downloading. Cheap at twice the price!

I'm hoping Act 2 will be just as enthralling as this opening chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cawdor (Act 1)
Cawdor (Act 1) by Hasham Abbas
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews