Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex and moving portrayal of mental illness
This short story provides a wonderful and thought-provoking insight into the inner workings of the mind of someone suffering from long-term depression.

The author explores the types of destructive thought patterns that plague people with this crippling illness in particular in relation to their feelings about their loved ones. As such, it provides a fresh, and...
Published on 22 Jan. 2012 by H Davies

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad But Very Short.
I downloaded this a freebie and hadn't really read any of the reviews or descriptions before purchasing this which I should have done.
This is a short story written in response to the recent debate about whether or not suicide is selfish.
Morwenna suffers from depression and the story begins with her on a railway bridge trying to decide whether or not to jump...
Published on 9 May 2012 by Rebecca Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex and moving portrayal of mental illness, 22 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Selfish Act (Kindle Edition)
This short story provides a wonderful and thought-provoking insight into the inner workings of the mind of someone suffering from long-term depression.

The author explores the types of destructive thought patterns that plague people with this crippling illness in particular in relation to their feelings about their loved ones. As such, it provides a fresh, and much needed, look at the notion of depressive people being selfish/attention seeking etc.

I think this work will be a comfort to those who have experienced feelings like this - showing that they are not alone. However, I also think it will be a valuable read to those who may not have experienced, or struggled to fully understand the thought processes of people suffering depression.

This work is gritty and real, and as such demonstrates another string to this talented author's bow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and moving, 6 May 2012
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Act (Kindle Edition)
An excellent well written story that I am sure will provoke many different view points from it's readers. Mine was one of anger towards Morwenna, I wanted to shake her and shout to her that for all her worrying about how selfish she was being during her lifetime towards friends, family and fiance, then the final act of suicide would be even more selfish, and would hurt those she left behind far more than anything else she could ever do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Selfish Act, 19 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Act (Kindle Edition)
This is one of Rosen's heart-wrenchingly sad short stories. Rosen (as shown in her book Seesaw) can write very funny and also full of pain. This is one of the pain ones.

Mowenna has what seems a happy life but she is far, far too troubled. One happy day, she can't take no more and we are with her as she tries to deal with it the only way she can.

I hope I never feel like this. The story really makes you want to hold her and tell her everything will be alright. You get an insight into the workings of the mind of someone on the edge and it's a very, very scary place.

Despite the pain and sadness, this is a story that needs to be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superlatives needed, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Act (Kindle Edition)
I can't believe Rosen is not a household name with storytelling this good. This is no throwaway indie. Sharp pacing and excellent description in a moment-by-moment style of the reasoning of a desperate mind, not a word is wasted. It is the kind of story you cut lines out of to savour again. I am sure this tale may help someone, somewhere, sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE SELFISH ACT, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Act (Kindle Edition)
A poignant and thought provoking book about Morwenna, a woman deeply troubled who suffers with severe depression and dark thoughts. Feeling like she is a burden to her loved ones Morwenna is convinced that suicide is her only option.
This short story is a response to a rather insensitive article that went to print in 2011 concerning people who throw themselves in front of trains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad But Very Short., 9 May 2012
By 
Rebecca Thompson (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Act (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this a freebie and hadn't really read any of the reviews or descriptions before purchasing this which I should have done.
This is a short story written in response to the recent debate about whether or not suicide is selfish.
Morwenna suffers from depression and the story begins with her on a railway bridge trying to decide whether or not to jump and reflecting back on the events that have lead her to this point.
The story itself was very short and I read it in about 10 minutes. It was very sad but I really would have liked to have seen the story developed more as we only got to see things from Morwenna's point of view.
A sequel would have been nice so I could have seen how Morwenna's family dealt with her actions and how her depression affected their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trevithick Shows Tons of Class, 25 Jan. 2012
By 
N. Blackburn "neb0512" (Elgin, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Selfish Act (Kindle Edition)
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. Again, Trevithick has shown herself as a master of the short story. This one the story of a woman who suffers from depression and views suicide as her only release. In both books of hers which I have read where mental illness is core to the storyline, she has put an incredible insight into the thought processes and "inner voice" of victim's of it.

In The Selfish Act born from celebrity, Jeremy Clarkson's (yes, I did put his name to it..he should wallow in his stupidity) ignorant, unempathetic, self centered statement, which again proves that you don't need to be a brain surgeon or Mother Theresa to be wealthy or popular in this world. Trevithick puts a face to depression and the desperate act suicide in 21 engrossing pages.

Trevithick has shown class and professionalism in how this book is written. Suicide is a desperate last resort many take and not to be the punchline of a spoiled, pompous neandrathal's joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and touching, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Act (Kindle Edition)
Written as a response to one of Jeremy Clarkson's rants, this is a very touching and beautiful short story about suicide. Whatever your views on the subject are it is certainly worth a read.
I love how this author can write so sympathetically about such a difficult subject and also write fantastic kids stories and side-splitting comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Stance Of A Desperate Person, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Act (Kindle Edition)
This short story from Rosen is very, very moving and deeply emotional. I found myself gripped from the first sentence and all I wanted to do was hug Morwenna and tell her everything was going to be okay; that things could/would be sorted out.

Mental health issues are still a bit of a taboo subject and it can be very hard for people who have never suffered from any type of mental illness to understand those who ARE suffering from it. Suicide is, in my opion, the last stance of someone who has went way over the edge; someone who no-one can reach and whom will not belive you even if you try telling them the truth. Someone who cannot be helped because they are beyond the ability to help themselves.

Let's not judge those who have commited the selfish act; let us try and see what life is like from their point of view because you just never know, it could be YOU one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rosen pulls no punches with this sad tale, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Act (Kindle Edition)
Having suffered from depression for many years, this story really struck a chord with me. It is a beautifully written piece for such a delicate subject. I hope people without depression or no understanding of it will pick this story up. It pulls no punches and makes you think that those who suffer cannot just "snap out of it".

Give it a read, if you're a sufferer or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Selfish Act
The Selfish Act by Rosen Trevithick
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews