Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, Speedy delivery
Brought 2 drives. Both arrived in one box and were wrapped up in plenty of bubble-wrap to secure them. Each drive was sealed in their original anti-static bags which was great. Installed as secondary drives and was visible in windows7 straight away. They are already formatted into to two partitions (2TB and 1TB) due to a 2TB limitation in MBR but in windows 7 you can...
Published 23 months ago by Psyper

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad sectors
I got this drive, installed it in my case & made sure I didn't have static electricity (wristband), I then installed it very carefully and booted up my computer. The drive was recognized and everything was fine. After a week of usage, I then watched a movie that was stored on it. It then started to skip frames, lag out, cut out etc. I did a S.M.A.R.T test & to my surprise...
Published 11 months ago by Gasur


‹ Previous | 121 22 2328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No SATA Cable?, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
I would have rated this product 4 stars but unfortunately I didn't get a SATA Cable with my Hard Drive so I was unable to use it for a day when I needed it as soon as it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
I bought 4 of these to build a RAID array as a backup/storage device. Within 3 months one had failed, so replaced it. A year later another has died. These drives are not worked particularly hard and for a manufacturer such as Seagate to produce drives that fail repeatedly within a year of purchase is poor. Did I get a bad batch? Hard to tell, but a fair number of the reviews on here suggest that maybe they are just not that reliable. The problem is that when you buy 4 matching discs for a RAID setup you are then locked into buying matching replacements unless you want to replace the lot. In my case, I am beginning to think that buying Seagate was an expensive mistake. My advice would be, don't buy Seagate from the outset and go for an alternative with a better reliability record, for example Hitachi or Western Digital (see for more information - [...])
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Packaging, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
When working this hard drive might be fine however mine was poorly packaged and did not work. It comes in a plastic bag loosely placed inside a much larger box and therein lies the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but some small Cons, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
When i revived the item the packaging look resealed and i wasn't entirely convinced it was brand new but it did have and official 2013 seagate manufature label on it which is very good for an item that's been around a while. That being said it works great and no issues!!!
Recommend all Operating Systems above XP and 2010 plus motherboard!!!
Not the easiest instal plug and play, YOU HAVE TO GO THROUGH DISK MANAGEMENT!!! For those of you who don't know how to do this either check online YouTube good or follow these instructions:

1. Go to start
2. right click on computer
3 click manage and wait
4. Double click storage
5. Double click disk management
6. It should automatically ask to allocate new drive as storage etc read note at bottom of mini window!
7. follow steps through to format etc
8. You should have been able to just click through on default and now you new 3tb or 2.7 (because of manufacturing software that cannot be removed) something drive should work fine! any problems highly recommend consulting youtube before shouting off at sellers for £80 it a ****ing Steal!!! Overall happiness with product packaging, basic use and installation 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliability and speed, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
OK, shipping did not offer good protection, which meant one HDD had to be sent back because of failure. However the good one offers speed and reliability. Fine for immediate access to big data. christophoros
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap storage, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
I. Mullen "muzz9670" (Livingston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
not a lot you can write about a hard drive except that it does exactly what it is meant to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
You can treat it like any other hard drive once you get it up and running , but formatting it to get the full listed capacity might be a problem unless your using a 64 bit operating system. .as anyone with a 4TB unit probably knows already .

Two problems to solve then after you've formatted the HDD you can use it in any unit .

1/ If your formatting the unit externally your USB 2 port might not recognise drives above 2TB (even if your system does) and only show it as 2TB . . .
solution = fit drive into a computer and connect it to the internal SATA or if you must use a external interface then connect it via ESATA .

2/ If you formatting the unit on a 32 bit operating system the operating system software may not recognise the drive capacity above 2TB and show it only as 2TB and won't also show the missing capacity either to allow you to resize it later.

Solution = get hold of some specialist software designed to see these drives (I didn't manage to find anything that fully worked ,try the drive makers site ? ) or use what I used which was Windows 7 (this showed the drive at its full capacity . . windows 8 didn't ? ) and select system called GPT to format (no probs no compatibility issues) then you'll be good to go .

Anyway do your research and enjoy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great back up device, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
I wanted a big external hard drive
This is it, I have all my pictures and music.
It is just the job.
I recommend it highly. Price was right, delivery very good, easy to use.
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great money spent on me dads fathers day present, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
I think it was great for the money as it was a fathers day present for the old man lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works fine, 16 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
Installed in one of my NAS drives and it has just worked as it should - nothing to add really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews