Customer Reviews


253 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, Speedy delivery
Brought 2 drives. Both arrived in one box and were wrapped up in plenty of bubble-wrap to secure them. Each drive was sealed in their original anti-static bags which was great. Installed as secondary drives and was visible in windows7 straight away. They are already formatted into to two partitions (2TB and 1TB) due to a 2TB limitation in MBR but in windows 7 you can...
Published 20 months ago by Psyper

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Noisy
It is quick but it really does make a racket. I am having to get sound rubber CD slot expanders to make it quiet. If i hadn't copied all my data onto it i would send it back :(
Published 24 months ago by Bentech


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, Speedy delivery, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
Brought 2 drives. Both arrived in one box and were wrapped up in plenty of bubble-wrap to secure them. Each drive was sealed in their original anti-static bags which was great. Installed as secondary drives and was visible in windows7 straight away. They are already formatted into to two partitions (2TB and 1TB) due to a 2TB limitation in MBR but in windows 7 you can go in to disk manager and reformat them to GPT (google it if you need instructions) and get the full 3,000GB on one drive. I needed 1 drive split in to two and the other split in to three which gave me 2 x 2.5TB & 3 x 1TB drives on windows explorer!
The drives take a little while to start up from being parked but its not much of an inconvenience and they do make a sound which you have to expect from the speed and size they are after all. Some comments here about them making cases rattle loudly but this is a problem with the case not the drives - I can just about hear them when they spin up as everything including the drives are pretty much securely fitted in my case. You can always purchase dampners (rubber rings that you place between the drive and the case) to stop this they are only a couple of quid and can purchase them from Amazon too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very fast drive and very nearly silent when in use, 11 May 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
I bought my first 3TB Seagate to reorganise and consolidate the contents of several older and smaller HDDs previously used. Using a single drive rather than 3 or 4 offers a significant saving in space and power usage plus, used in a USB 3.0 enclosure, it offers faster data access than the older USB 2.0 enclosures ever could.

The price is significantly lower than other similar capacity drives with a similar spindle speed which makes it quite a bargain. It appears to be essentially silent even under long, continuous writes and has subsequently varied in price at different times (at the lowest price seen during March 2013).

I had since purchased 6 more, in pairs but not all at once, for use in RAID enclosures but in BIG mode where the capacities are merged, for my own use where they perform brilliantly with only the noise from the enclosures' internal fans being apparent. I have never yet experienced any other noise from one of these units so cannot explain how some reviewers claim them to be extremely noisy unless they are improperly secured in their respective housings or enclosures. I have also purchased at least two further pairs for assembly and use in RAID enclosures on behalf of others, set-up in an identical fashion to my own examples, and again I have yet to hear of any adverse issues.

As a good all-rounder and with the faster 7200RPM spindle speed, if you can get them for below £100 (they were well below that in April 2013), it makes little sense to opt for a 5400RPM alternative which may have a similar or higher price.

Recommended.

POSTSCRIPT @ 08-2013

After experiencing multiple instances of errors, drive failures etc when used in larger RAID enclosures, I have discovered from several sites where the information is available that this model is rated for 'Desktop' use only as a system drive. Other uses are also possible as an external drive. Although some older versions may be used in an emergency in a RAID environment, more recently manufactured examples with Firmware versions CC24 or CC26 - the data is on the label - are wholly incompatible with RAID use and should never be used in such a way. All my recently purchased examples have Firmware CC24!

If your intended use is RAID, Synology, QNAP and Netgear are known to list compatible and sometimes known incompatible models (others may, too) but lower-end RAID hardware manufacturers such as Icy Box, HornetTek, StarTech and Sharkoon offer none which may help explain the many negative reviews sometimes attached to these brands' products and others. Enterprise and NAS-rated hard drive models should be safe choices, when and where you can find them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the drive for the job, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
I'm using this in a Synology NAS, out of the box not a problem, the drive runs quiet and relatively cool. Transfer speeds are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great with Win7 Pro 64-bit, 30 May 2012
By 
Dad "Just a DAD" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
Worked fine right out of the box; installed and configured with no hassles.

I was able to easily configure it as a single partition. I configured it for GPT instead of MBR; and thus I have access to full 3TB (formatted as 2.72TB) without breaking it up into partitions. No extra software or hardware was needed.

I have a new PC the configuration made this install very straightforward: Asus P8P67 Pro REV 3.0 mobo, Intel i7-2600K CPU, 16GB RAM, two Intel 510 SSDs, 5 additional internal Seagate Barracuda HDs, two 3TB eSATA HDs Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1, Antec P183 v3 case, Antec CP1000 power supply,

It runs just slightly warm to the touch, about the same as my other non-SSD HDs. Note: I have a 120mm fan dedicated to my (lower) HD bay where these drives are installed.

I scanned the whole drive for bad spots without significant findings or problems.

I needed the 3TB of space for my digital photography hobby, so easy access to this much space is very welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is perfect for my usage., 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
I use 4 of these these HD:s in a Backup unit with Raid. The drives are silent and when not in use the draw insignificant power. For my use the speed is very good. I have used them now for 7 months and not a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than power saving green disks, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
I previously had a smaller NAS with WD caviar green disks (caviar red wasn't available then) which are certainly not the best disks to use in a NAS due to their spinning down and spinning up all the time which gives huge delays. Also the caviars were 5400rpm.

So I bought four of these and set it up in RAID5 in linux. These are 7200rpm which improves both the seek and the access times. I was a bit skeptical as I had always been a Western Digital fan after I purchased some Seagate Barracuda disks years ago and all of them failed within their warranty period.

So far, the disks are working great, they don't get very hot and their speeds are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Segate 3TB - Review, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
Length:: 0:26 Mins

45cm SATA internal Hard Drive Cable with Angled Connector

As soon as you install the HDD make sure you conver it from MBR disk to GPT disk. This is because the product arrives as a mbr disk meaning that the maximum data it holds is 2TB, but after converting it to GPT "you can use up all 3TB as 1 partition".

The following link will guide you through each step. Make sure you run command prompt as an Administrator.

From the link below follow solution 3 as it is more reliable and no need to download any 3rd party software.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
High quality at a good price. No problems, only downside is these are quite noisy running 24/7, so could be necessary, if hypercritical, to move installed unit to another room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Noisy, 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
It is quick but it really does make a racket. I am having to get sound rubber CD slot expanders to make it quiet. If i hadn't copied all my data onto it i would send it back :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for 3 TB hard drive and easy to install, 9 May 2013
By 
Silverfrog (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 3TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA3 Hard Drive (Accessory)
I bought this hard drive to back up my work as my primary drive ran out of space. It will depend on your system to how easy it is to install but mine was very easy. You should ensure that you are grounded of course (by touching a metal pipe leading to the ground to avoid static) and that the power is unplugged. Having locked it in the drive bay, I used a separately bought SATA cable to connect it to the motherboard and one of the spare power cables on my system.
I'm running Windows Vista home edition and unlike some other reviewers, I had no problem at all in installing the drive. I didn't need to do anything with the BIOS but bear in mind that you need to initialise the drive first which you can do by selecting START>CONTROL PANEL>ADMINISTRATIVE TOOLS>COMPUTER MANAGEMENT>DISC MANAGEMENT. You can then see all of your storage devices and the new drive should be marked with a black bar at the top indicating that it is not assigned or formatted yet. To initialise, just right click on the left side of the column on the new drive and select 'initialize'. Then you just format the drive by right clicking on the black bar and as it is over 2Tb storage I configured it as a single partition with GPT instead of MBR. Full formatting took about 5 hours but you could do a quick format.
Overall, very good for the price and extremely useful storage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews