Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't normally read fantasy and i'm not a kid...
... but i did really enjoy this book. It's a non-stop set of scenes where twig always seems to get into big trouble and then get himself out of it.

The illustrations are really good and there are lots of them (one every 2 or 3 pages). The book won't take an adult long to get through but s/he will enjoy the ride.

Recommended!!
Published on 6 July 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dramatic is its middle name
This book is simply about believing in yourself and seeking your destiny, no matter the price. Twig is... brave, courageous, a bit unsure, etcetera. But I find the book a bit too dramatic, because Twig keeps GETTING into TROUBLE!!!! ALL the time, as well! But its better than the average book, so read it!
Published on 21 May 2001


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't normally read fantasy and i'm not a kid..., 6 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... but i did really enjoy this book. It's a non-stop set of scenes where twig always seems to get into big trouble and then get himself out of it.

The illustrations are really good and there are lots of them (one every 2 or 3 pages). The book won't take an adult long to get through but s/he will enjoy the ride.

Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great descriptions, amazing pictures and fantabulous characters, 14 May 2011
This book is my all time favourite. It has great descriptions, amazing pictures and fantabulous characters. The creatures in this book are extremely imaginative and developed, and there are several twists in the plotline, which are great.
Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell are my favourite authors and my role models. I completely recommend Beyond the Deepwoods to anybody thinking about buying it or reading it.
Please note that this is the first book in second trilogy of the Edge Chronicles. You should know that there are 3 trilogies. The first is the Quint Trilogy. The second is the Twig Trilogy which begins with Beyond the Deepwoods. Then follows the Rook Trilogy, which is the last. Even so, it doesn't matter at all if you read a trilogy without reading the previous one.
Thank you very much for reading my review. - Grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but loads of fun, 26 Jan 2009
By 
Sometimes you just want a book that grabs your attention. This certainly did it when I spotted it on the bookshelf. I won't mince my words: that Banderbear picture looks awesome, doesn't it? I've known about the Edge Chronicles for some time, and I've always admired Riddell's talent as an artst, but I've never really looked into the series. Until now.

'Beyond the Deepwoods' is unique because it hasn't just been written by an author. It was visually inspired: Riddell would draw pictures for Stewart who would in turn build the story around them. So does it work? Well...yes and no, but I'll come to that in a moment.

'Beyond the Deepwoods' fires along at breakneck speed, and doesn't look back. Twig goes through trial and terror, escaping with the narrowest of escapes. It's all huge fun: if Guliver's travels had been written on a sugar rush, this would be the end result.
The trouble is, while it's insane amounts of fun, there's not a lot of depth. This is where one of the problems of building a story around pictures arises: you create brilliant set pieces, but sticking them all together into one story makes it rather patchwork-y. Twig is the only character you get to care about because everyone comes and goes within a few chapters, sometimes mere sentences, never to return. It's all a bit linear, which is a shame, because so many characters are passed and have enormous potential. Perhaps they will be in future books, but in 'Beyond the Deepwoods' alone, it felt like everything was on the conveyer belt from the Generation Game: everything passing by quickly, and never sticking in your memory.

So, the illustrations. There's no denying they're beautiful, and they give the book lots of character and atmosphere. And they're especially good for those who don't like reading endless blocks of text, as the illustrations break it up nicely. But sometimes I prefer to leave things to my imagination. If anything, the pictures can be too good, and simply distract you.

All this complaining makes me sound like I didn't like it. But I did! Immensely so, and I will certainly be reading the next. I just hope that the next one won't be a string of troubles and narrow escapes, and can bring something new to the table.

'Beyond the Deepwoods' is like a rollercoaster: it's huge fun, thrilling, fast, a tiny bit scary, and there are laughs aplenty. And you'll want to go again afterwards. If you want a book that's sheer enjoyment, with lots of fun pictures that pulls you into it's world, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cutting EDGE Children's Fiction, 20 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. Jacqueline A. Leevers "jack63kids" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beyond the Deep Woods is the best written and illustrated children's book I have come across for pre-teens. It was a pleasure reading it to my kids and sharing the whole EDGE experience. We have since read the entire series and followed Twigg's family through many adventures and dangers, twists and turns in plot, marriages and births.
The Stewart and Riddell partnership has produced some wonderful fiction, but none so gripping, nor as entertaining, and shocking as Twigg's tale in the first of the series: Beyond the Deep Woods.
Love it, can't recommend it more. So much so, that my original and much loved copy was loaned out so much I can't remember who had it last and kept it ... hence the new purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A childs view of a great book., 1 Nov 2001
This book is one of the most wonderful books I've ever read the descriptions are magnificent and the plot is very unique and the drawings are very good looking.It is a must for people who have read the Harry Potter series I hope you enjoyed this book as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond The Deepwoods, 18 July 2005
This is a fantastic read, enjoyable for all ages. The writer uses such imaginative ideas in this wonderful adventure-packed story. The story starts with a young boy, who strays from the path, to become a sky-pirate like his father. Along his jouney he meets a countless number of funny and mind-boggling creatures such as Banderbears, Shrykes and Prowlgrins. This book is certainly the best I have ever read, and I would recomed it to anyone. The endings of each of the books in the series keeps you suspended, waiting for the next book to come out. Chris Riddel and Paul Stewart certainly make a fine team, and the illustrations in the book are amazingly intrecate. I recomed you read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great books for teenagers., 22 Dec 2002
I'm the proud mum of a 14 year old boy ,who is into rap music,skateboarding,room untidying,dish unwashing and all the usual stuff that 14 year olds love to do to annoy their parents,so I am well impressed with The Edge Chronicles books.He happily sits for hours reading them,and can't wait to get his hands on the next one.
I think that all parents should introduce their teenagers to these books,and regain their sanity by enjoying a couple of hours free from rap music,bickering and violent movies and knowing that their safe in the hands of their return to childish fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My revew on beyond the deepwoods., 22 April 2002
By 
ringy100@hotmail.com (Aberystwyth(small welsh town),wales) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent book,full of hope and love.It's about a boy named twig abandoned by a bunch of sky pirates at a small village of wood trolls. While twig grows up he gets bullied badly by his friends. Then his mother tells him to leave home and make his way beyond the deepwoods to find his destiny.She tells him to never walk away from the path,but that was exactly what he did. Now,lost and tries to get out of the woods he meets a wonderful veriety of creatureas large,and small,harmless and dangeruous.If it kept me buried into it you're bound to get carried away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book has the makings of a very good adventure film., 25 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This book is very good. It has the makings of a very good adventure film. I would recommend it to someone of aged 9 or 10 years. They would have to like action and adventure stories. The story is set in the deep woods, there are lots of dangerous animals, trees and plants, but also some harmless ones. The main events are when Twig, the main character, has to leave home, when he finds his real father and when he meets the Gloamglozer. Twig was brought up by the wood trolls even though he is human. His wood troll father takes him to work with him where his real father sees him and wants to take him back. Twig does not do as his troll mother tells him to, because he strayed from the path and into the deep woods on the way to a cousins' house, he rescues a slaughterer and ruins a gyle goblin's pink custard. In the story Twig says that he would like to stay with the slaughterers, that a waistcoat that they gave him saved his life and that he would help the banderbear if he could stay. Ma-tutum says that Twig was a gaukly, ugly, little fellow, the sky pirate says he was special and the gloamglozer says he is nothing. It is a brilliant book and a very exciting read. Amy, aged 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great fantasy book, 9 Oct 2004
I loved this book i read all of the other books in the edge chronicles but this is my faverout book of all time. the drawings are excellent well done to Chris riddel and so are the different creatures and cultures.
i read this book 3 times and anyone who likes fantasy shold buy this book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews