Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterclass in TV scoring. Eccentric and electric - Arnold and Price have nailed the musical formula for Sherlock, 30 Jan 2012
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 1 (Audio CD)
The reimagining of Sherlock by writers Stephen Moffat and Mark Gatiss has produced some of the best British drama in recent times. Aside from the fantastic acting and the brilliant writing, one of the best things about the show is the BAFTA and EMMY nominated score by David Arnold (best known for his recent scores to the James Bond franchise and 90s blockbusters Independence Day and Godzilla) and Matthew Price. Their music fits the show perfectly - modern but quirky, this is a master class in TV scoring. In case it isn't clear, this contains music for the three episodes of series 1 only. The link to the series 2 soundtrack is listed below.

The album begins with the opening titles, and the backbone of this theme is reprised in various forms across the album. I won't go into detail on every track (there are 19 in total). Some of my favourites were the wonderful "Opening Titles" (track 1), "War" and "Final Act" (Track 19), which plays over the climax of series 1. My favourite however, was "Elegy" (Track 12), which featured a great female vocalist during the middle section of the track before ending on a sombre piano and string note. Regardless of my opinion, the key thing is that all the best themes and motifs are present across the album.

The score lasts a little under an hour, and this is a decent length. Of course, more music was written for the show than can be heard on album so some cues are inevitably left out. Regardless, I thought the track selection was excellent and I doubt anyone could be unhappy with this release. The sound quality is fantastic as you would hope and expect.

The only negative thing - why on earth did it take so long to release this? Given it's critical acclaim by the public and critics alike, the wait for this release has been too long!

Overall, this is stunning work by Arnold and Price. The soundtrack works amazingly well in the show, and on album it makes for a fantastic listen. And if that wasn't enough, the music to the second series of the show is already available to preorder > Sherlock - Original Television Soundtrack Music From Series Two. But for now, if you liked the music as heard in series 1, this release contains the best selection of tracks. Do not hesitate to buy this brilliant soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack Sherlock Holmes BBC, 10 Mar 2012
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 1 (Audio CD)
I can highly recommend the soundtrack of Sherlock BBC Series One. It is really fun to listen to it.
If you have seen series one, you will be absolutely delighted about the soundtrack. Enjoy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good series 1 music, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 1 (Audio CD)
Ordered this after power-viewing the Sherlock series (1 & 2) across a few days and now pining for Series 3 to be released. The CD is well done and features more music than I recall. Seems the show's producers really like "the game is on" and a few other themes, but the others are good supporting tracks as well.

Now I'm wondering how much difference there is in the Series 2 soundtrack?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appreciate the music to this wonderful series, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 1 (Audio CD)
If you like Sherlock you will love this, bringing back images through the music of different parts within the episodes, Fun, boisterous, thoughtful are just three of the moods recreated...there is much depth in this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock soundtrack BBC, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 1 (Audio CD)
Wanted this for ages and it sounded great. Exciting and atmospheric and beautifully written, I want to watch the series again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 1 (Audio CD)
I love the show and the music. It sounds excellent! and you don't need to be a fan of the serie to enjoy the music. It captures the spirit of the show. You will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully atmospheric, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 1 (Audio CD)
The soundtrack from season 1 Sherlock is simply brilliant. I hadn't heard of David Arnold and Michael Price before, now this CD and the series 2 one are my most played CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memory invoking, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 1 (Audio CD)
Great capture of all the music you will remember from the series. Full orchestral music you will be catepulted back instantly and know exactly when each piece was used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure amazing music, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you loved the music from the show this is will not disappoint. Literally just great music to enjoy listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 1 (Audio CD)
Brought for my niece who loves Sherlock Holmes. She thought it was excellent and plays it on a regular basis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock: Music From Series 1
Sherlock: Music From Series 1 by David Arnold (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews