Customer Reviews


659 Reviews
5 star:
 (590)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


161 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius
The BBC's excellent `Sherlock' has just completed its second series of three episodes in early 2012 and has been met with high praise and acclaim from both critics and viewers alike. Created and written by Stephen Moffat (of Dr. Who and TinTin) and Mark Gatiss (of The League of Gentlemen), `Sherlock' is a contemporary update of Conan Doyle's classic stories, placing...
Published on 22 Jan 2012 by Rob Payne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit far-fetched.
i guess i love the old version too much., the acting is good, but there are too many special effects.
Published 6 months ago by Lucy Palazzolo


‹ Previous | 1 2 366 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series ... but odd playback issues, 2 Feb 2012
By 
TheHemming (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I pre-ordered this for import to Canada and it arrived in about a week.

Absolutely fantastic series, and a great modern day interpretation of the novels. Highly recommended to anyone.

The only knock I have isn't about the episodes, but the compatibility of the discs. This is a Region Free set, but I absolutely cannot get this to playback correctly on my PS3. Basically, once the BBC Logo sequence completes ... the playback states that it's not set to any chapter/scene and the video length is 0. My Bourne & Matrix Trilogy imports from Amazon.co.uk work just fine on the same PS3.

Luckily, I have a second player in my PC and it functions correctly with PowerDVD.

PS3 Model = 80GB Fat + Firmware 4.00
PC = Windows 7 Ultimate + PowerDVD 12 + LG BH10LS30 Blu-Ray Writer 10X BD-R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV show you will ever see, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
To be honest, Sherlock has ruined my expectations on tv shows and/or movies. Nothing amazes me the way it used to, and I think it's because how brillantly Sherlock is done/writen/acted/directed, that just ruins everything else in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived very quickly. Benedict Cumberbatch fans may be interested ..., 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived very quickly. Benedict Cumberbatch fans may be interested in seeing National Live Theatre's version of Frankenstein - Cumberbatch plays opposite Johnny Lee Miller (who starred in another version of Sherlock Holmes) - and they take turns switching roles (between Dr. Frankenstein and 'the monster') in the two versions filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven but excellent nonetheless ..., 27 Dec 2012
By 
Craig Martin (Melbourne, VIC AUS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I found these feature-length reworkings of the adventures of Sherlock Holmes very satisfying and re-watchable, with the exception of the Baskerville story from series two, which is a little too far fetched and clever for its own good (or not). My favourite story is the first one: A Touch of Pink, as Holmes and Watson investigate their first case together, get to know one another, and move into Baker Street. The series is admittedly uneven but then again, so are Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's tales. Still, there's so much to enjoy in this fabulous series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 27 July 2012
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Brillant show. Highly recommendable. Beautifully filmed, great actors, well planned stories. The best Sherlock Holmes so far IMO. Watch watch watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant Television., 15 Jun 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
The BBC has really done itself proud with this excellent adaptation of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's legendary Detective Sherlock Holmes and this box set contain both series of this exciting programme.

Both series are set in the present day with Sherlock Holmes using Modern Technology such as the Internet and Mobile Phones to aid him in solving his cases.

Benedict Cumberbatch plays Sherlock Holmes with the right amount of obtuseness and enigmatic genius needed for such a character. Martin Freeman is cast as John Watson, Holmes Afghanistan Veteran Flatmate cum Sidekick who is able to bridge the gap between Sherlock and the Audience when solving complex cases.

In the first series the three 90 minute episodes in this first series are all quite different from one another, each great in its own right. The most nail biting episode however is the last one where we discover Holmes Arch Nemesis Moriaty!

In the three episodes of series two Sherlock has now gained a significant public following and his relationship with John Watson and Detective Le Strade are still unusual but have grown.

All of the episodes are very engaging, interesting and entertaining but nothing quite prepares you for the final episode and Sherlock's Final Showdown with Moriaty.

Episodes;

Series 1

1- A Study in Pink
2-The Blind Banker
3- The Great Game

Series 2

1 - A Scandal in Belgravia
2 - The Hounds of Baskerville
3 - The Reichenbach Fall

The BBC's Sherlock is a must watch for anyone who enjoys a good story with good acting and an entertainment factor of eleven out of ten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes - Re-incarnated!, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
A riveting, edge of the seat series. The most intriguing part of this production is the way in which the writers have modernised classic elements of the original Conan Doyle novels. Being a fan of the books, one is intially resistant to the idea of transporting it into the 21st century but it is handled so adeptly and creatively that it manages to pay homage to the mood of the novels while at the same time being thoroughly modern and, technolgically, on point.
Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are wonderfully paired as Holmes and Watson without in any way being a parody of the originals. Having watched it several times I cannot now envisage any other actors in the parts.

Overall, a "switch off the phones, get comfy on the couch, watch all episodes" production!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 7% solution, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I had the DVD I needed the blu ray.
Sherlock is amazing on DVD but the blu ray is more him.
Details, sound, everything look more real and clear and allows you to enjoy the work of the costume department, the fabulous music of Michael Price and David G Arnold, the twisted and diffused curls and the 221B re created by Arwel Wyn Jones and his team of wizards (Gandalf lied when he said they're only 5)
The sass of Mycroft, the energy of John, the Cumberbatchness of Lord Cumberbatch of London being the perfect Sherlock since Jeremy Brett, the curves of The woman and the evil glint in Moriarty's eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, delighted thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 366 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock - Series 1-2 [Blu-ray]  [Region Free]
Sherlock - Series 1-2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Benedict Cumberbatch (Blu-ray - 2012)
£14.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews