Customer Reviews


609 Reviews
5 star:
 (546)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


159 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius
The BBC's excellent `Sherlock' has just completed its second series of three episodes in early 2012 and has been met with high praise and acclaim from both critics and viewers alike. Created and written by Stephen Moffat (of Dr. Who and TinTin) and Mark Gatiss (of The League of Gentlemen), `Sherlock' is a contemporary update of Conan Doyle's classic stories, placing...
Published on 22 Jan 2012 by Rob Payne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit far-fetched.
i guess i love the old version too much., the acting is good, but there are too many special effects.
Published 1 month ago by Lucy Palazzolo


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

159 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 22 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The BBC's excellent `Sherlock' has just completed its second series of three episodes in early 2012 and has been met with high praise and acclaim from both critics and viewers alike. Created and written by Stephen Moffat (of Dr. Who and TinTin) and Mark Gatiss (of The League of Gentlemen), `Sherlock' is a contemporary update of Conan Doyle's classic stories, placing Holmes and Watson squarely in London in the 21st Century; a time of laptops, satellite navigation and text messages. In fact, modern technology and science is to play a very significant part in each episode.

Many elements of the original stories remain, such as Holmes' Baker Street address, his violin playing and his arch enemy, Moriarty. Other elements are transfigured cleverly to reflect modern day society and events, such as the recent return of the injured John Watson from the War in Afghanistan, as opposed to the Anglo-Afghan War of the late 19th Century. Instead of keeping a journal of his adventures, Dr. Watson writes an internet blog. There are some very neat touches that tie in the modern day sleuth to Conan Doyle's Victorian one, which fans of the original books should have great fun spotting. Holmes becomes inextricably linked to the deerstalker by the media after picking up the hat simply to hide himself from photographers, but hates and derides the association thereafter. His addiction in `Sherlock' is to cigarettes, and gone are the allusions to opium usage. Each episode is based on a story by Conan Doyle, but brought forward cleverly and thoughtfully to the 21st Century. For example `The Hounds of Baskerville' (Series 2, episode 2) centres on mysterious sightings of a large beast near `Baskerville', an M.O.D research facility on Dartmoor.

The casting is perfect, and Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are each superb as Sherlock and Dr. John Watson respectively. Sherlock is a brilliant man, eccentric, pompous and extremely arrogant and Cumberbatch manages perfectly to keep him just on the right side of likeability. By contrast, Freeman's Watson is dependable and level headed, while playing him with the same kind of bemusement that he portrayed so well as Tim in The Office. Andrew Scott is equally excellent as a menacing and manic Jim Moriarty.

The show's creators are to be applauded for the ceaselessly wonderful script. It is clever, witty and maintains a very high standard throughout the six episodes with hardly a wasted or misplaced line. Though each series seems disappointingly short at just three episodes long, each episode is feature length at 90 mins, and perhaps a shorter series is best to give the writers the time they need to maintain the quality of the script and ideas they have produced thus far.

`Sherlock' deserves it's high praise and popularity, and it certainly represents a major triumph for the BBC as one of the best and most original dramas they have produced in many years, possibly of all time.

Blu-ray disc quality, as you would expect and hope for such a stylish production, is superb. Extras include a 'making-of' documentary, and the original 60 minute pilot. This episode was fully filmed but the BBC declined to air it, instead requesting a re-write and re-shoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant :), 25 Jan 2012
By 
Just Me :) (Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a fan of TV shows such as 'House' or 'The Mentalist', I can pretty much guarantee that this will be right up your street. The BBC have brought Sherlock out of the 1800's and straight into the modern day, and have cleverly used mobile phones, computers and other modern gizmos and gadgets as integral parts of the plots. For example Watson now documents cases on a blog, and Holmes has a website 'The Science of Deduction' (both of which are actual websites set up by the BBC to compliment the show and are well worth a look!).
This show is a family favourite in my house, with each of us trying to be the first to correctly guess who did what and why, although the show is so well orchestrated that we rarely get it. When Sherlock reveals exactly what happened and explains how he knows its always a case of 'Of course! Why didn't I think of that?!'
Each series contains 3 great 90-min episodes, loosely based on actual Holmes books, however don't be put off if you think 'I've read the book so I know what's going to happen' - trust me when I say you most probably won't! These episodes can also be watched time and again as each time you watch it you spot something new that you missed first time round. First series are 'A Study in Pink', 'The Blind Banker' and 'The Great Game', and the second series are 'A Scandal in Belgravia', 'The Hounds of Baskerville' and 'The Reichenbach Fall'.
With some brilliant actors such as Benedict Cumberbatch (Holmes), Martin Freeman (Watson), Andrew Scott (Moriarty) and Rupert Graves (Lestrade) to name but a few, and some cracking scripts, this show is a definite must see.
This box set includes 4 dvd's including all episodes from series 1 and 2, the original pilot episode that was never broadcast (Also called 'A Study in Pink', however several big things in the plot were changed before it was re-filmed for series 1, but still good to watch), audio commentaries of some episodes, and 2 production documentaries (1 for each series).
Can whole-heartedly recommend 'Sherlock', a show that will have you on the edge of your seat and guessing like mad, but that you can watch over and over again and never get bored of :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am Sherlocked, 10 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
A couple of years ago I was introduced to the world of Sherlock Holmes through Guy Ritchie's film, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and consequently began to read the books. I remember watching the trailer for Sherlock and doubting that the series would work, never have I been so glad to be proved so wrong.

First and foremost is the script Moffatt, Thompson and Gatiss seamlessly made the script accessible to Sherlock newbies whilst simultaneously adding in one-line references to make Sherlockians snicker, anyone who has read the books can tell that they're fans of the originals. By bringing Sherlock into the 21st century they have also managed to remain completely true to Conan-Doyle's books whilst giving the franchise and new and exciting change. Sherlock just fits beautifully into the 21st century, John Watson is invalided home from Afghanistan - just as in the original. Whilst the Victorian setting added to the beauty of the stories I think the focus was always meant to be on the characters and their interactions, and the writers to just that. Sherlock, as Conan-Doyle, was at the forefront of the science of the time and Sherlock using a mobile phone or the internet is doing the same for the modern age. The writing is - simply put - a joy to behold.

Then there's the acting. Benedict Cumberbatch is, as always, exemplary and he was born to play this role, keeping Sherlock both true to the originals and just on the side of likeable. Over the series Cumberbatch beautifully portrays Sherlock's slow shift to becoming more human and by the end of series two he had me in tears. Now I can barely remember a time when Cumberbatch wasn't a household name! Martin Freeman was also the perfect choice, the complete opposite of Cumberbatch's portrayal Freeman really brings the production down to earth, his reaction shots provide the audience with something to relate to and he has a beautiful understated way of bringing John Watson to live. Together their chemistry is enthralling and electric.

I must of course, give a shout-out to the secondary characters as well, Andrew Scott rightfully won his BAFTA for his chilling and hilarious Jim Moriarty but equally impressive are Una Stubbs as the motherly Mrs Hudson, Rupert Graves' exasperated father-figure Greg Lestrade, Louise Brealey as the likeable Molly Hooper all add to the perfectly cast show. Even Mark Gatiss sneaking in as Mycroft Holmes, whom he plays magnificently. You have to keep an eye on them during any scene they're in.

Finally I must highlight those behind the scenes, the directors for being so endlessly inventive, the costume designers for really bringing the characters to life, the hauntingly fitting soundtrack, even the guy who taught Cumberbatch the violin - they all played a vital role in bringing the best thing on the box in years to life, watching unlockign Sherlock and listening to the commentaries really drew my attention to the smaller details.

So thank you BBC for Sherlock, you've restored my faith in British television, long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock - Series 1 & 2 Boxset., 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Could only give 5 stars as they're aren't anymore....Simply the best tv i've watched in years am now waiting series 3 to complete my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern twist WORKS!! Beautifully, mindblowingly superb !!!, 27 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Have you ever sat through an hour or so of really rubbish television program and thought, "why isnt anything good on TV these days?"

Then the answer is, there is you - but you've missed it!!! If you like crime stories, detective stories, thrillers, are a fan of Sherlock Holmes, sleauth type, mystery solving stories - or say you dont like any of those and yet want to watch something VERY cleverly written and executed, then the SHERLOCK series is a must watch!!

You will ask and beg for more once you start on this series!!

Series 1, Episode 1 "A Study in Pink" takes us through the meeting of 2 odd characters, Sherlock Holmes (a sociopathic, genius whose only obsession is to solve crimes) and John Watson (a war hero who has been invalidated home from Afghanistan), played by a perfectly cast, masterful Benedict Cumberbatch and a subtley understated Martin Freeman. An unlikely friendship begins when Sherlock asks John's help in solving a crime. The soldier who was bored back in civilian life is suddenly thrown back into the realities of death - and sees the city in a different way - like a battle ground. What is striking about this episode is its wonderful honesty to the original work of Sir Arthur Conan Doyles "A Study in Scarlet". Watson's wonderment at Holme's abilities, his efforts to make his new friend more "human" and trying to understand the strange genius he is in company of, is potrayed so wonderfully that the original writer, 122 years later, would be proud!!

Sherlock and John solve more crimes in Episode 2 involving a Chinese smuggler gang and mysterious murders and we get some great comic moments such as when Sherlock fails to understand why a date is more important than an oppurtunity to gather evidence. Episode 3 "The Great Game" is the one you'll watch again - not one, not two but 5 cases one after the other - someone is challenging Sherlock - solve this case within this deadline - who else but his arch enemy, Moriarty ? Without giving anything away, this episode is a masterpiece of crime solving fiction. It ends at a cliff hanger that will make you scramble for the next episode!!

Now the all important point of dragging Sherlock Holmes out of Victorian London and into the 21st century. The premise of a lot of original stories was that the police were not very good at the time. These days however the police have all kinds of scientific / forensic assistance and how would the producers keep the story fresh and the audience interested and still manage to make Holmes the person cleverer than the police? Stephen Moffat and Mark Gatiss do a remarkable job handling this utterly brilliantly. So homeless network of 2010 replaces the street urchins of 1888, black cabs replace hansoms, texts replace telegrams and nicotine patches replace smoking pipes.

The writers know their stuff, and the honesty they have displayed to the characters is worthy of an applause. Original lines such as "it is a three-pipe problem", becames a dialogue now as a "three patch problem". Sherlock disliking John's blog about his methods of reasoning is so reminiscent of the opening of the Sign of four, it is adorable to watch such work of art.

Series 2 surpasses all expectations that series 1 forms. Every episode is made with such flair, detail and clever twist. Here the producers tackle the three biggest stories, The Woman, The Hound and The Final Problem. It is ambitious and it is a big ask and everyone involved delivers. Andrew Scott returns as creepily brilliant Moriary. Episode 3 of Series 2 again ends on a cliff hanger, it certainly brought a tear to my eye and got thousands of fans speculating and theorising on "how it was done"

Benedict Cumberbatch has to get a special mention here, he is unbelievably convincing as a genius, yet a man with very few social skills, always seemingly unattached to human emotions. The friendship between the two men is fabulously potrayed and the modern twist totally works! Mark Gatiss is fantastic as Mycroft Holmes and Martin Freeman has played his part so well that at all times, he manages to show on screen what we, the audience are feeling.

I also love the way the producers show that characters in the show often think Holmes and Watson are a gay couple, and that is so reflecting of our society of today - 2 men simply cannot be friends without being gay!! Why is our society become like this?? The series also manages to poke fun at this notion of society, and how the 2 men ignore the talks and carry on regardless.

Another highlight of both the series is the music, which seems to bring every scene to life in a remarkably apt way.

A big pat on the back for the entire cast, crew and team... thank you for bringing credulity back to TV, which is getting more and more dire with over dose of reality and shabbily written characters!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better in blu-ray, 2 Sep 2012
By 
Cybercathi (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent series - I had seen them on TV, but they are so exciting and entertaining that I wanted to own them. The acting is superb and the whole idea of changing the stories slightly to bring them up-to-date is brilliant. I just want more of these series.

Good extras too - with documentaries about the characters and the making of the series.

I have a blu-ray player now and these are my first blu ray discs - So much clearer on blu-ray - picture is crisp and clear and especially good on darker scenes, which previously would have been difficult to view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just brilliant, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
if you ant a modern take on a classic this is it, mad?.... yes, a bit weird?... yes that too, but what a cast and what a ride enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A GREAT VERSION OF THE 'TALE' (A BBC TRIUMPH), 29 Sep 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Arthur Conan Doyle's' super-sleuth launched into the 21st century.
Starting at the very beginning when 'John Watson' and 'Sherlock'
team-up.
the update probably shouldn't work, but it really does.
'Sherlock' as in the original writings has an uncanny power of
deduction using his superior mind, too, along with 'Watson' ..solve
a series of murder investigations that have baffled 'Scotland Yard'
must admit, (only just watched series one and two) I've enjoyed this
'BBC' series more than any previous 'Holmes' presentations that had
come before.
.( glad I took the advice of my daughter and took time-out to watch it )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a spectacle!, 24 Jan 2012
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
*May contain spoilers if you have not watched it before*
This box set, containing Series 1 and Series 2 of the critically acclaimed BBC Drama Sherlock, is a must buy for everyone. Every one of the six movie length episodes provides a mix of tension, excitment, exileration and wit.

Benedict Cumberbatch, who plays Sherlock, is an amazing actor who plays Sherlock with brilliance and ease. His perforamnce of the charecter is perfect to a tea and is compells you without you even realising and combined with the acting talents of Martin Freeman, who plays Dr John Watson, they are partnership that work together very well. The acting of this pairing is outstanding and there are many times that you really do forget there acting - there that good!
Also combine the acting of Cumberbatch and Freeman with Andrew Scott (who play's Sherlock Holmes arch enemy Moriarty)you realise that it cant get any better. Scott himself does an excellent job portraying the chanrecter and personality of Jim Moriarty.

Then you come on to the storylines themselves, which are based on Sir Arthur Cannon Doyle's original Sherlock Holmes stories. Each episode (which are more like films at 90 minutes length each) provides an intruging story for the watcher that you are captivated from right from the beggining. I must say out of all 6 episodes my favourite was the last episode of the 1st series - 'The Great Game', I was really on the edge of my seat as Sherlock solved all the captivating puzzles.

A lot of people say "What makes this different adaption of Sherlock Holmes?" - well I shall tell you! This adaption is showing how Sherlock's wit and charecter is presented and works in the modern day, as all of his cases are set in the modern day (for example instead of John Watson writing a diary like in the original stories he instead keeps a blog). This idea of putting Sherlock in the modern day (which was thought up by the producers) is an amazing idea - and allows the audience to enjoy and connect with Sherlock like never before - and it really is extrodinary.

So you start with Series 1 - the opening episode 'The Lady in Pink' is a great start to the drama - as Sherlock is put on the case of serial suicides, but Sherlock soon realises that there may be more to the story. This episode shows right from the start the complete wit and 'cockyness' of sherlock, and just how clever he really is. Also in this episode John Watson moves in with Sherlock and helps him on the case. In the second episode, The Blind Baker, Sherlock is put on the case when Graffiti is found in a secure tight room, but as he looks further in to the case he gets tangled in a web of lies and deception that leads him to a new discovery all together. In the final episode of this series, titles 'The Great Game' Sherlock is set a series of puzzles by his arch enemy Moriarty, but the question is can Sherlock solve the cases before the time runs out... and what is it all leading up to?

Now you move on to Series 2 - the first episode 'A Scandal in Belgravia' where when Sherlock is put on to the case of compromising photo's held by sex pest Irene Adler (played by Laura Pulver) he finds himself locked in a battle of wits with Irene - but is she all that he seems? The second episode 'The Hounds of Baskerville' is a slant on the original story when Sherlock cant resist an invitation to Dartmoor - but is shelock at a stump or does the Baskerville really exist? The last episode titled 'The Reichanbach Fall' see's the return of Moriarty - and after he breaks in to three of the most secure locations on Britan Sherlock is put on the case to crack him down - but as Moriaty plays his games, Sherlock begins to get in to trouble - very big trouble!

So overall I can say that Sherlock is an amazing drama, and I definatly reccomend you buy this DVD - because you can enjoy it over and over again.

SH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series ... but odd playback issues, 2 Feb 2012
By 
TheHemming (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
I pre-ordered this for import to Canada and it arrived in about a week.

Absolutely fantastic series, and a great modern day interpretation of the novels. Highly recommended to anyone.

The only knock I have isn't about the episodes, but the compatibility of the discs. This is a Region Free set, but I absolutely cannot get this to playback correctly on my PS3. Basically, once the BBC Logo sequence completes ... the playback states that it's not set to any chapter/scene and the video length is 0. My Bourne & Matrix Trilogy imports from Amazon.co.uk work just fine on the same PS3.

Luckily, I have a second player in my PC and it functions correctly with PowerDVD.

PS3 Model = 80GB Fat + Firmware 4.00
PC = Windows 7 Ultimate + PowerDVD 12 + LG BH10LS30 Blu-Ray Writer 10X BD-R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD]
Sherlock - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] by Benedict Cumberbatch (DVD - 2012)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews