Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars343
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£19.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2008
I had heard a lot of good things about this film so went for a blind buy having missed it in the cinemas. The film more than met my expectations.

The success of Kung Fu Panda is that it is serious about the Kung Fu element and that makes the panda part even funnier. This isn't some parody with pop culture references like Dreamwork's Shrek or Madagascar. The makers seem to really love and appreciate martial arts film and, as a result, this gets the adult market despite the childish concept. The action is really visceral and exciting, especially in HiDef. The film is shown in 1:2.35 anamorphic.

The sound is in Dolby 5.1 TrueHD and your speakers will get a good workout. As for voice talent, the three leads, Jack Black, Dustin Hoffman and Ian McShane do sterling work. The rest of the talent, who are voicing the furious five (Angelina Jolie, Jackie Chan, Seth Rogen, Lucy Liu, David Cross) are good but don't really get a chance to shine.

The packaging makes it seem like the are only a few extras but there are a lot, equal to the US release (I am assuming my copy is Region B as it was bought through Amazon UK, but the packaging gives no apparent info about regions). I haven't watched these yet to comment, but I sucked at the games.

Languages: English 5.1 Dolby TrueHD, plus all the following in Dolby 5.1: Dutch; French; German; Italian; Portuguese; Spanish and Turkish (there are also commentaries). Subtitles cover the same languages plus English for hard of hearing and a trivia track.
22 comments|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Yup it's yet another animals as humans cartoons with a moral to tell. But don't let that put you off because this is a cut above the usual.
It's time to pick a chosen one whose kung-fu skills will hold back the terror of the snow leopard Tai lung's escape. Sensei Shifu holds a tournament fully expecting one of his 5 top notch students to step up & take the title of 'dragon warrior'. Instead overweight noodle waiter Panda Po accidently finds himself in the arena & being picked out as the chosen one by the great one Oogway.
Through the opposition of the 5 pupils & their teacher & his own doubts Po finally finds himself facing off against Tai Lung.
Not much of a plot but it's delivery has a refreshingly different angle. Po is funny as Jack Black lends him a great attitude & delivers many funny lines with spot on timing. There are a fair few big names here,(including Hoffman, Rogan & Jolie to name a few), but they are all just swept aside by Blacks memorable vocal work.
Added to this is the animation which is detailed & of very good quality. Some scene are positively beautiful. Also the fight scenes are far more bone crunching than is usual for an animated film.
There are many very funny threads such as Po's 'father' being a crane which provides a great moment at the end. The final fight really encapsulates the kung-fu genre nicely & Po's method of fighting brings a smile.
This is a rare case of a cartoon that will keep the children glued & still consistantly entertain adults too. The searing colours, fluid animation & high level of scripting all add to make this better than expected & well worthy of repeated viewing.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
I am a huge fan of 3D, but I don't buy every 3D movie out there. I only buy after a lot of research. Till date, I own 32 3D Blu-ray movies which give the best 3D and Kung Fu Panda 3D is one of the BEST. I loved this movie in 2D, But it's great in 3D. The colors in every scene are bright and vivid and the 3D is Visually stunning. Though there is a VERY minimum Cross-talk in few scenes, the whole experience is Great. It looks like as if they designed the movie keeping 3D in mind. There are a lot of scenes where the characters and other objects leap out of screen and look very lively, especially the fireworks in the beginning Dragon Warrior choosing scene and the snow and leaves fly out of screen and 3D works well where ever there are explosions. Believe me, It's a whole new experience to watch this in 3D. As a genuine 3D lover, I highly recommend watching this in 3D!!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 December 2008
This is simply the best Blu Ray I have ever seen! Better that Wall E in terms of the scintillating images, colour, and detail! If you have anything like a decent Hi Def set up, this is a must demo and 'show off' disc. The film is good too, and extrtemely enjoyable, funny, full of action, and engaging! You can't go wrong with this movie, especially if you have kids! These animated blockbusters really do get better all of the time, Cars, Ratatouille, Happy Feet, Wall E, Shrek etc. and this is surely the best looking one yet! Ok, I am an adult, and we have no kids, but I suspect like many of us over 25, I do have a soft spot for these films, which really do make the best of your expensive equipment. This is utterly enagaging on a aesthetic level. Forgot work and real life for a short while, and enjoy this absolutely excellent movie!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2009
Adults and kids love this one and the Blu-Ray version has amazing high definition image (you can actually see the animals fur against the wind!) and wonderful sound.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2009
The best animated film since Shrek stars Jack Black as the fat, but loveable panda Po, as he goes from working in his dad's noodle restaurant to becoming the Dragon Warrior.

The charming, artistically captivating animation features the star power of Black, Dustin Hoffman, Angelina Jolie, Lucy Liu and Jackie Chan. The film captures good-natured humour, juxtaposing it with hard hitting kung fu action (while managing not to insult the martial arts genre).

Plot-wise, Kung Fu Panda is simplistic, and there is a lack of character development with the Furious Five. However since the film is aimed at young children, this is unimportant; Kung Fu Panda is well worth watching, and will appeal across all age groups.

The Special Features disc features fun activities such as "Learn the Panda Dance" and "Become a Kung Fu Master", and features a detailed documentary into the making of the film.

Unfortunately, this will undoubtedly become a franchise with sequels which will probably never measure up, just like Shrek. However, you may as well enjoy it while you can!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Kung Fu Panda kicks butt! This is one of the better examples of the CGI animated genre and my only grumble was it didn't seem to last very long.

That might well be because time flys when you're having fun though, as this film was such a riot. The characters were all great, the look of the film was brilliant, the action was fast paced, the jokes funny and the whole thing was wonderfully directed.

The animation was superb and the Kung Fu epic! The film made great use of the martial-art to comic effect and there were more than one or two scenes which where clever parodies of well-know Karate Clichés.

The characters, on the whole were brilliant, and there was some brilliant voice acting - although I felt a few of the Furious Five let the side down there (Mainly Angelina Jolie as Tigress), but the Grand Master, Turtle or Tortoise, was excellent as were the rest of the supporting voices.

After recent disappointments such as 'Up', which I thought was rubbish, Kung Fu Panda was a welcome returnt o form for the CGI genre. If 'Up' was Yin, Kung Fu Panda was Yang. It really packs quite a punch!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2008
summary: ok I'm biased, I love animated movies, martial art movies, and comedy in general but this really got to me - your kids will love it too!

========================
Jack Black voices Po, a lazy, overweight Panda who idolises the Furious Five kung fu champions: Tigress (Angelina Jolie), Mantis (Seth Rogen), Crane (David Cross), Viper (Lucy Liu) and Monkey (Jackie Chan). However, when Po gatecrashes an initiation ceremony, he is accidentally chosen to be the mythical Dragon Warrior, who is destined to save his valley from the villainous leopard Tai Lung (Ian McShane).

The Furious Five are mortified that Po has gatecrashed their ranks, but Master Oogway (Randall Duk Kim) tells them that there are no accidents and this is indeed Po's destiny. However, when word reaches the Five that Tai Lung has escaped from prison, Po has to get into shape fast, so he begins training under Master Shifu (Dustin Hoffman).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
Having really enjoyed this film in 2D on Blu-Ray, I was very pleased that it looks even better in 3D!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
I am a long time fan of Kung Fu films, absolutely loving the old school Jackie Chan films like Snake and Crane Arts of Shaolin, Drunken Master, etc. I take the genre pretty seriously, and was hesitant when I saw the title. I thought Dreamworks would just butcher the genre with some preconceived notions of China, Kung Fu and the inherent philosophy woven throughout. What I got was a very well reasearched and thought out film with true-to-life philosophy, kung-fu action and styles. The five masters, Snake, Crane, Tiger, Mantis, Monkey are not the original five but they are indeed an integral part of the kung-fu animal styles. For a cartoon, the fighting is just awesome, and Dreamworks really stuck to the tradition of kung-fu flicks, making well choreographed, and true-to-style fight scenes. This is also one of the funniest Dreamworks films I have ever seen, it kept me laughing throughout. Jack Black is brilliant as the voice of the Panda, really bringing the moods, and attitudes to life. Dustin Hoffman also does a great job as Master Shifu. Five stars for brilliant voice-overs, great action, great story, and the inherent philosophy woven thoughout. This film delivers a strong message about believing in one's self which makes it great for kids as well.

The blu-ray

Picture:

1080P Transfer is just brilliant. Dreamworks did not skimp on this and the film is just a treat to watch on blu-ray. Reference quality here, nothing bad to say whatsoever.

Sound:

Dolby True HD- WOW. This is probably the best DT soundtrack I have ever heard. The bass is huge, the soundstage clear and awesome, the sound filling your room to put you in the middle of the action and the thumping hard bass perfectly timed with the action sequences. This is not only reference material sound, but also a film to show off your subwoofer with.

Languages:

Dolby True HD- English

DD 5.1- Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Turkish

Subtitles:

English, English SDH, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Turkish

Region- Not mentioned anywhere on the cover or disc...

Summary- Buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse