Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete gem!
I think iPad cases really are an individual thing and you have to think carefully about what you want it for. I spent hours looking for just the right one that would give me a protective case, an adjustable stand (landscape and portrait)and a detachable bluetooth keyboard (with English layout). This one fits the bill exactly and works brilliantly. The iPad can be...
Published on 19 Oct 2012 by Lotte1970

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced!
The Good:
Good keyboard with appropriate shortcuts
You can adjust the angle of the screen easily
Magnetic keyboard
Holds the original Motorola Xoom well

The Bad
The materials used to coat the outside of the case are beginning to wear away.
The rubber corners to hold the tablet in are not glued to their Velcro coating well.
The...
Published on 17 Sep 2012 by Michaela Guilmoto


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete gem!, 19 Oct 2012
This review is from: Kensington KeyFolio Pro 2 Folio Case and Removable Bluetooth Keyboard for iPad 4, iPad 3, iPad 2 - Black (Accessory)
I think iPad cases really are an individual thing and you have to think carefully about what you want it for. I spent hours looking for just the right one that would give me a protective case, an adjustable stand (landscape and portrait)and a detachable bluetooth keyboard (with English layout). This one fits the bill exactly and works brilliantly. The iPad can be supported at any angle, especially if you remove the keyboard from its magnetic holding place, giving great flexibility to suit all positions. My son uses it for games on the sofa; I can adjust it to use at a desk. If you remove the keyboard completely you can fold the bottom flap back and under and it looks just like one of the more minimal case/stands (you can even do this with the keyboard still in place). The keyboard is solid and I find it really responsive. Touch typists complain about the small keyboard size, but for a two finger typist like me I found it actually made me quicker! When it's closed it feels very secure - it may be a little bulky for some people but I actually like the reassurance of a more solid case. If you want a versatile case with a quality keyboard I really recommend this one. Oh, and after cross referencing with the Kensington website I found out this will suit the new iPad as well (which is what I'm using it with), not just the iPad 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stinks, Good Quality, but Quite Heavy, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kensington KeyFolio Pro 2 Folio Case and Removable Bluetooth Keyboard for iPad 4, iPad 3, iPad 2 - Black (Accessory)
I got this iPad case to replace the smart cover that I've been using with my iPad 2. First impressions when taking this out of the packaging is that this really stinks - like that new car smell to the max. Thankfully after 24 hours of airing it was a lot better and a week later it's fine.

The iPad slots into the side of the case easily, it's a snug fit and is held in place with a flap that's wrapped around the outer edge then tucked in. The front, back and sides of the iPad are then covered, though it seems like the outer (right) two corners are still slightly prone. Holes are provided for the home button, front and back cameras, headphone jack, dock connector, and volume keys so the iPad never needs to be removed once it's in place. However, the internal iPad speaker is slightly muffled.

The style of the case is more business than leisure, but it has a good quality feel. The iPad can be propped up (in landscape mode) at an angle using a Velcro strip and the keyboard can be removed from the case easily and positioned more comfortably. This works well on a flat surface but can be a bit unbalanced when used on your knee, for example. The case is quite weighty with the keyboard and iPad in place; this can be slightly mitigated by removing the keyboard if you know you're not going to need it - it's attached with 4 magnets and is easy to remove - and the case still works quite well without it.

The keyboard battery was flat when it arrived; after a couple of hours plugged into a USB port it was fully charged (using the lead from my HTC phone, which means fewer cables to carry around). A slide switch on the right edge turns the keyboard on and off - it's not immediately clear looking from the top which position is on and which off, and this could do with better labelling. Pairing the keyboard with the iPad for the first time was quick and painless and once done it connects instantly as soon as the keyboards turned on. There are LEDs for power, Bluetooth, and Caps Lock. It has a surprising amount of key travel for such a small keyboard, allowing fast typing, and is an enormous improvement over the on screen keyboard. There's no key lag or dropped characters as can sometimes be the case with cheaper Bluetooth keyboards.

The keyboard has keys for Home, Photos, Lock, Search, On-screen Keyboard, and basic music and volume controls. I guess these are useful for some things, but they could be better - the photo key oddly uses the origami slideshow, not sure why you need to activate the onscreen keyboard from a physical one sitting right in front of you, and what's really weird is there's no key to actually switch to the music app, only to play/pause and skip.

This case and keyboard is expensive but is of very high quality, provides excellent protection for the iPad, and represents good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced!, 17 Sep 2012
By 
Michaela Guilmoto (Guernsey,Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Good:
Good keyboard with appropriate shortcuts
You can adjust the angle of the screen easily
Magnetic keyboard
Holds the original Motorola Xoom well

The Bad
The materials used to coat the outside of the case are beginning to wear away.
The rubber corners to hold the tablet in are not glued to their Velcro coating well.
The keyboard can take a while to turn on.

The Conclusion
This keyboard case is probably the best generic keyboard case for tablets, however the build quality is not up to scratch for the price (£60 at time of purchase).

UPDATE: The rubber corners used to hold the tablet are falling apart and the outside of the case is peeling away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kensington KeyFolio Pro 2 Folio Case and Removable Bluetooth Keyboard for iPad 4, iPad 3, iPad 2 - Black (Accessory)
It's a great case. Battery life is just perfect. Initially I didn't charge it and it still works after a month of use. The keys are perfect in size. Big enough for any fingers and small enough to fit anything inside the keyboard. The quality is in high level. Also the fact that the keyboard can be detached from the case and used from every ware in a room is really useful.
The only thing that the case could be improved is the vertical placement of the iPad. It can be placed only in landscape mode. Not vertically.
Anyway, it's a case that really deserves its money which, by the way, are quite honest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good quality, lightweight and very handy folio case and keyboard for the iPas Air, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Kensington KeyFolio Pro iPad Air (i.e. the iPad Air) is a handy and quite smart looking case and keyboard for use with your iPad Air. The case is designed specifically to be used with the iPad Air and as such will not fit other models well or at all.

In a similar way to the majority of Kindle hard-backed/soft-covered cases, your iPad Air slips into the case which is then secured down with a dangling magnet clasp (the magnet securing to the body of the case and not your iPad). When in place, the iPad can be positioned upright (at multiple angles due to its clever magnetic design) to allow ease of use whilst in conjunction with the keyboard (basically in the end the overall layout is similar to flip-open laptop).

The keyboard itself is connected to the iPad Air via Bluetooth which connects within seconds once you have first established and allowed the link (which is a doddle). The keyboard also has its own inbuilt battery unit which lasts for up to 960 hours of ‘working time’ (very impressive) or 180 days on just standby (although we’ve only had the case for around a month now so I can’t say that we can confirm this claim!).

Upon getting the case out for the first time I have to admit that I was very surprised with how light it felt. Even with the keyboard included, the case doesn’t really add that much more weight onto the tablet, and because of its ultra-thin design, it doesn’t make your iPad really any less portable.

The keyboard itself has reasonable-sized keys, all in the standard Qwerty layout. And to be honest, upon using the keyboard with the iPad for the first time, I was surprised with how much I’d missed the ease of having the keys instead of the usual ‘virtual keypad’.

The overall feel and look of the case and keyboard is of a luxurious high-quality. Admittedly the actual case doesn’t feel like it would offer a huge amount of protection against particularly hard knocks and the like, but it’s certainly better than nothing at all. However, because of its thin and lightweight design, for general day-to-day commuting and the like, this really is pretty darn perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too Impressed, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kensington KeyFolio Pro 2 Folio Case and Removable Bluetooth Keyboard for iPad 4, iPad 3, iPad 2 - Black (Accessory)
This product is great for the first few months then the fabric 'relax's' a bit and the 'velcro' holding the screen at an angle doesnt hold it firm anymore so be mindful it may not last the test of regular use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtly improved on the version for the ipad 2/3 but also with some of the same minor faults, 22 Feb 2014
By 
bomble "bomble" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I bought the older version of this for the iPad 3 and have used that one for over a year now so had no qualms about getting one for the iPad air.
As per my review of the Kensington KeyFolio Pro 2 Case, Keyboard and Stand for iPad Family, if you want more than just some basic protection and a few viewing angles for your iPad, this is a terrific product. The only real down side is that it does come up heavier and thicker than many more basic iPad cases but for that you get a very practical bluetooth keyboard that I have found to be highly reliable so far with good range and battery life, a protective case that allows almost complete freedom to angle the iPad for best use (especially if you remove the keyboard and place it nearby) and a smart, professional looking design that gives an air of seriousness to a device that can be perceived as a bit of a toy!

The Bluetooth keyboard can be removed from the casing (either to leave it behind or to give you a less cramped typing layout). Moreover, the ipad air version seems to be made of a higher quality material (sheepskin) and has a magnetic clasp instead of the slightly tacky elastic strap. That said, I agree with the other reviewer who noted that the magnetic clasp can hit your ipad screen if you're not careful.

Also, a few comments from experience of the older model. After some time, the fit gets a little less tight so the corners of the ipad are potentially exposed as it slips slightly out of the case. I'm pretty sure this will happen to the iPad air version in time. Also, the hook-and-loop type strip that keeps holds the ipad at a given angle gradually loses some of its grip and the keyboard part can flop away if it's picked up without care. These are minor gripes that have shown up with continuous use of the other case but as I have every reason to believe they will occur on this reincarnation eventually, I knocked down my review by a star to take this into account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Case, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. T. S. James (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've tried a few different keyboard cases for the iPad over the years, the Kensington KeyFolio Pro is the latest and it's a fairly decent keyboard case depending on your needs.

First off there's the quality feel to the case, it's made from sheepskin so feels really nice and doesn't have that plasticy feel that some leather type cases do. It seems as though it will be fairly durable, but I'm being careful with it nonetheless, I don't want to risk damaging it.

It's a standard folio type case that holds the iPad Air, it seems solid and sturdy and I didn't have any issues with the way it holds the iPad. The case has multiple viewing angles, there's a magnet along the bottom edge of the case where it holds the iPad and this can slot into the grooves on the keyboard part of the case to prop it up at certain angles. For typing and maybe video some of the angles are pretty decent, but one thing I've found with a lot of keyboard cases is that the fixed angles that they provide aren't usually my cup of tea. For watching video in particular I generally prefer and almost upright angle and few cases provide this. The KeyFolio Pro does allow you to set your own angles by way of removing the keyboard. If you choose to do this then you're free position the iPad however you please, which is a bonus for me.

As for the keyboard itself, I've already mentioned that it's detachable. For some that may be a bonus, I prefer using the keyboard attached for the most part so it's not really a huge benefit for my use case, but I do like to detach it for watching video so I can get the iPad at the right angle. For typing on I found it quite reasonable, well spaced keys and they felt quite solid once pressed. Other cases I've used have had the feeling that you haven't pressed a certain key sometimes but I didn't find that with this case. There are a row of shortcut keys across the top which is pretty standard on most keyboards and just makes it easier to use certain functions.

The only real downside I can see is that the camera can get covered over depending on how you're using the case, but I don't really use the camera that often so it's not really an issue for me.

The price is quite reasonable for the case, it feels of nice quality, has a detachable keyboard and allows the iPad to prop up at multiple angles with or without the keyboard. Definitely worth taking a look at if you're in the market for an iPad keyboard case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my quest for a suitable ipad air keyboard I decided to try this one out. It turned out to be the worst of the lot I have had so far. It feels and oozes quality when you take it out the wrapper I must say but that is where the good ends! Pairing was a doddle so cant fault it there. However when typing the keys skip some commands sometimes meaning having to repunch keys to get the correct spelling.

Another bug is it simply does not offer optimum viewing angles at all and at the first angle it tends to tip over backwards. I absolutely hated it and repackaged it and began the process for a return and refund.

I might just get the ZaggKeys again or wait for them to launch an upgrade on the current one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classy Keyboard & case with one MAJOR flaw!!!, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Immediately upon picking up this case it oozes quality! With a professional leather "briefcase" appearance, this case securely holds your iPad in place and adds the luxury of a keyboard as well. It feels like you are holding a giant Filofax. The keyboard part is only held in place by strong magnets and is easily removed for those occasions where you just need the cover to protect your iPad but not the actual keyboard. Not everyone is a fan of the iPads virtual keyboard which feels like typing on a glass coffee table, so the satisfying addition of a "proper" keyboard is very welcome. It is very responsive and gives a satisfying "click" which each key press. ( It also leads to fewer typo's and mis-spellings). I am slightly disappointed that there is no "auto-lock" feature however which sends your iPad into sleep mode upon closing. Another niggle is the flip over magnetic clasp which is designed to keep the thing shut but can all too easily flip over upon opening and end up scratching aginst the screen! When the iPad is in use the cover easily slips into a choice of 3 "slots" or grooves to hold the iPad in landscape mode, however the difference in viewing angles between each of these 3 positions is only minimal. When you have selected your viewing position it is supposed to be held in place by magnets but these are not particularly strong so it does fall over occasionally. The bluetooth connection is very reliable. There is no problem using other bluetooth peripherals at the same time as the keyboard ( speakers, headphones etc) and the keyboard has it's own built in battery which only requires minimal charging with the supplied cable. As soon as you pick up the keyboard it is immediately apparent that this is a quality keyboard and it feels weighty without being too heavy.

This is however one MAJOR flaw that I have discovered; the main on/off button is set back in a recess (presumably if it protruded too much then it would stick out and scratch against the screen when the case was closed?) Now I have found that you have to press quite firmly (especially when you have fat fingers like me!) and on more than one occasion the button has "slid away" under the casing! I have had to tease it back out with a pin or needle several times. My fear is that it will slide away so far that I cannot get it back again! Ridiculous!

I would say that if you do a lot of typing then this is a worthy addition, but if like me, you just dabble with the odd game here & there, checking in on facebook and bidding on eBay then think long & hard before parting with the best part of £100 to add on an accessory that you may only use on occasion, and whatever you do keep that receipt as the unreliable on/off button may prove to be a costly fault!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews