Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A revisit of the New Orleans jazzy sound
Here we have Elvis present a new approach on the New Orleans sound, a far cry from "King Creole".
The title song, an old American classic, is actually given a powerful treatment and it holds pretty well on the top of the album.
Later on we receive songs that do not instigate any exciting listening experiences and the case is certainly made for "Petunia, the...
Published on 13 July 2004 by Petter Sellers

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not King Creole Indeed
I have never been attracted to the 'deluxe... lots of pictures' type of Elvis package, but I liked the song Frankie and Johnny and the much better value 'double feature' is impossible to get, so I bought this.
I find the outtakes distracting and not particularly informative, but they are quite entertaining. Unlike outtakes from the 50s and 70s, these show Elvis...
Published on 17 July 2004 by Mr. J. Hadwin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not King Creole Indeed, 17 July 2004
By 
Mr. J. Hadwin "John Hadwin" (England, Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny (Audio CD)
I have never been attracted to the 'deluxe... lots of pictures' type of Elvis package, but I liked the song Frankie and Johnny and the much better value 'double feature' is impossible to get, so I bought this.
I find the outtakes distracting and not particularly informative, but they are quite entertaining. Unlike outtakes from the 50s and 70s, these show Elvis struggling with words and approach, and offer little variations to the eventually released version.
There's a lack of real quality material as usual with Elvis' mid 60s output, and Elvis sounds not totally committed, but the quality is bolstered by the Dixie land feel, something which I feel hurt the far superior King Creole, probably due to the overall per rock feel of the whole venture.
There's pleanty of quite good songs also, the title track is a tough rendition from Elvis, the ballads "What Every Woman", "Beginner's Luck" and "Please Don't Stop" (even showing some emotion) are fine and there's plenty of pre-rock style fun with "Petunia", "Look Out Broadway" and "Come Along". There's even a surprise, the blues tinged "Hard Luck" shows a return to some form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A revisit of the New Orleans jazzy sound, 13 July 2004
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny (Audio CD)
Here we have Elvis present a new approach on the New Orleans sound, a far cry from "King Creole".
The title song, an old American classic, is actually given a powerful treatment and it holds pretty well on the top of the album.
Later on we receive songs that do not instigate any exciting listening experiences and the case is certainly made for "Petunia, the gardener's daughter". Still, the out-takes of even that tune provide a fresh look for avid collectors. A gypsy-like song by the name Chesay is sheer pleasure and is wonderfully mastered by Elvis. As far as the ballads go, in this album we are treated with more than the usual one or two. "Beginner's luck" and coming near the end strong and emotional "Please don't stop loving me" are real cult classics that command repeat perfomances.
Do listen to the overall out-takes because they vividly colorize the recording set and let you in the making process of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last, 16 Jun 2010
By 
D. Turner (Cardiff, Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie And Johnny (Audio CD)
Incredibly, this is the first time the original 1966 soundtrack to Elvis' twentieth movie has been released as a seperate CD. And it sounds fantastic, with truly excellent remastering bringing a richness and warmth to these recordings that I for one, have never heard before. The jewel case CD artwork nicely replicates that of the original album and the only letdown is the four page booklet. However, for the bargain prices that these soundtrack releases are going for, a hearty "well done!" is truly deserved by Sony for finally making these individual albums available. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two underrated Elvis albums on one CD, 12 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, so nobody is gonna mistake either "Frankie and Johnny" and "Paradise Hawaiian Style" as being among his best work. That said, both are good albums, if they are accepted on their own terms (1960's pop).

"Frankie and Johnny" is my favourite of the two, with is slightly unusual arrangements that include elements of the time that the movie itself was set in (1890s), although the songs sound more like something from a "Looney Tune" short than authentic music of the time. Still, Elvis tries his best, and the end result is fairly listenable, if cartoonish music, and few of the tracks are downright bad.

"Paradise Hawaiian Style", on the other hand, is basically the same thing, except with Hawaiian music. The tracks here are a mixed bag, with some verging on unlistenable (Such as the Grant/Baum/Kaye compostion "Queenie Wahine's Papaya"), although as usual, even on the songs which Elvis himself may not of liked, he still sings them very well.

Overall this CD may not rank among anyone's favourites, but with Elvis Presley's excellent singing, plus support from some of the top musicians and songwriters at RCA at the time, this is certainly a worthwhile listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Corny but "cute!"., 9 Mar 2014
This review is from: Frankie And Johnny (Audio CD)
Oh it is a mediocre album,not the best and it is reminicent of the King Creole sounds but hey,its fun and thats what Elvis was all about in the 60s.Certainly no classic,but worth listening to just for the bluesy "Hard Luck!",crisp sound,fun album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Balancing the view, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Charroman (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
I would agree with the other reviewers here that these two soundtracks reflect what is generally considered a low point in Presleys career. However I do believe it is always unfair when pople try and compare film soundtrack albums with what the Beatles and others were doing circa 65/66. A fairer comparison would be "proper" studio recordings he did such as the How great thou Art album or individual tracks such as Memphis Tennessee / It Hurts Me / Come What May / Fools Fall in Love from around the same time...any of these had better recorded sound/performance / material. The film soundtrack albums were purely that, often recorded quickly on film lot studios and it is to RCA and his management shame that they continued to plunder them for single and main album releases well past the time that they should. In fact Presley had recorded a number of non soundtrack songs that were wasted on film LPs as so called "bonus songs" and fans were crying out for new studio sets but had to make do with hodge podge collections like Elvis For Everyone
Taken on pure face value I have always liked the Frankie and Johnny tracks and there are a number of good ballads such as Please don't stop Loving Me, What Every Woman Lives For and the bluesy Hard Luck which get committed performances from Elvis. The title track is good also and actually charted reasonably at the time.
The faster songs have a revivalist / trad jazz feel to them and the whole album (like the film) hangs together well and creates a good atmosphere. Certainly his attempts to sound 1890's dixieland prove more succesful than the woeful attempt a year earlier to sound far eastern (Harum Scarum!). Paradise Hawaiin Style is more difficult to praise, particularly as it was always a poor 2nd cousin to Blue Hawaii soundtrack but you do get a more mature (deeper vocal) and one or two good performances. Hawaii USA was later used to open his 73 Aloha show (albeit not re-recorded) and Drums of The Island, House of Sand and even Datin are innoffensive film soundtrack songs. Stop (Where You Are) and You Scratch My Back are fillers and the obligatory situation songs (Queenie, Dogs Life) could have remained unissued. Truth be told the soundtrack may have made a better EP at the time.
So overall one album that is good if accepted for what it is and another with some good tracks that will be enjoyed by fans and others who want to dig a little deeper into the back catalogue of the troubled Hollywood era of Presleys career. Its only a matter of time before someone remixes some of these numbers and others from the film years and we may have to reappraise his work from this time ( not forgetting that A Little Less Conversation was a film soundtrack recording)Either way if you can get these double soundtrack albums they do represent good value for money and had some upgrade of sound over the original record mixes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars frankie and johnny /paradise hawaiian style, 6 Dec 2010
By 
Paradise hawaiian style=
Nothing speical about this album the Hawiian sound runs right through the album and ties in nicely with the film theme. Nothing to make you cringe but also nothing very exciting proberly the best track is 'Sand castles' ( not even in the film). You have your usual nonesense songs like 'Queenie wahaines papaya' 'Scratch my back 'and a couple of others .
Overall an average album nothing to get excited about, like Blue Hawaii a good album to put on in the middle of an English winter.
Frankie and johnny=
Difficult album to review this one firstly I dont like' it singing dixie is not what Elvis is about though some might point to 'King Creole' but that was different and the songs were in keeping with Elvis's style.No doubt some people like Dixieland and sounds of the old paddle steamers and thats fine everyone has there own taste's.So i'm not going to say its a bad album simply because I dont like the style, but its not what Elvis should be doing.The Beatles had not long released 'Rubber soul' pushing forward the bounderies of pop music and what do R.C.A do?, put Elvis music back a hundred years. There are a couple of nonesense tracks which you seem to get in most of Elvis soundtracks but the rest do tie in very well with the film.
Overall if you like this type of music then its a good album for you (and proberly worth 4 stars )if you are indifferent then you will only like a couple of tracks, for me its only a 2 star album'
but to be fair I will give it 3 stars, buying both as a double feature is value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars yet another elvis soundtrack, 11 July 2010
By 
Hans Nyhlen "Heinz" (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankie And Johnny (Audio CD)
I think thst the soundtrack i s much better than the movie itself. Interesting music.
Not the music that I am use to hear from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My review, 10 Nov 2010
Strictly for Elvis fans only, I have been an Elvis fan for over 40yrs, but his later films where dreadfull and the songs reflect that, not a decent song on this album very sub standard Elvis, not worthy of the King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I keep ordering the sbme versions and they keep sending me the cheaper Sony versions.o, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Mark Twain "Sam" (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny (Audio CD)
I keep ordering the advertised sbme Versions in this series, but Amazon keep sending me the cheaper Sony Label Versions. 4 times they did this.
5 Stars for the Vastly Improved Sound Quality.
4 Starts for the CD Contents.
-5 stars for Amazon. Even had the nerve to keep some of the return postage even thought it was all entirely their fault. I protested loud and long so they refunded my full return postage.
Of Course this won't get published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbab55c48)

This product

Frankie & Johnny
Frankie & Johnny by Elvis Presley
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews