Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where are they now????
This is one of the best and most borrowed albums I own. There is something for everybody here with its timeless dance tracks like New York city girl, Use it up, Back to my roots to big power ballads such as "looking for a way out". This is a must for any party or even those hairbrush diva moments. So get back to those (disco) roots, use it up and wear it out and buy...
Published on 3 Feb 2004

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Not bad, not great but not bad. "Greatest Hits" bit be a bit of a exaggeration, not even heard some of these songs. Only worth buying if you're a fan really
Published 12 months ago by Alan Tickner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where are they now????, 3 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is one of the best and most borrowed albums I own. There is something for everybody here with its timeless dance tracks like New York city girl, Use it up, Back to my roots to big power ballads such as "looking for a way out". This is a must for any party or even those hairbrush diva moments. So get back to those (disco) roots, use it up and wear it out and buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous trip back to DISCO!, 30 Jan 2005
By 
S. Hebbron "S B H." (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was still quite young when the disco craze hit the world, certainly way too young to enjoy what was going on in nightclubs, not too young to enjoy the music though!
My favourites at the time were undoubtedly this band. I recall dancing to all the hits at school disco's and once at a very magical evening trip to a local ice rink disco, with the youth club. But as well as stirring memories of the the late 70's and early 80's revisiting these tracks creates thoughts of just how stylisticly variable, vocally accomplished and downright excellent this band was! They deserved a lot more credit way back when and they do know. I defy you not to want to dance like crazy to "use it up" and "back to my roots" and I absolutley defy you to listen carefully to "native New Yorker" and not feel deeply stirred.
This is a cracking classic album! Perfect for a day alone doing housework or decorating, even more perfect for a great party!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 7 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Having heard Native New Yorker on tv being used in an ad I remembered how great the track was it rang through my head for days. I got The Greatest Hits cd and found surprises I had forgotten about and have enjoyed it very much.
If you care considering this cd then go for it you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classics from Soul/Disco legends, Odyssey, 24 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This review is for: The Greatest Hits
This CD is excellent. It contains all the best known Odyssey tracks mainly in their full-length 12"/album versions. To get classics like "Use It Up And Wear It out", "Inside Out", "Native New Yorker", "If You're Looking For A Way Out", and "Going Back To My Roots" all on one CD for such a bargain price (currently 3.87) is fantastic value. Their are 17 tracks here which are all top quality and highly recommended and back in 2003 when I bought this CD, it was the best available on the market. However since then, in 2005 they released the 3CD Odyssey Legends set, which includes all the tracks from this Greatest Hits CD plus another 24 tracks, bringing the tally up to 41 tracks. That gives you virtually everything Odyssey ever recorded, so it is worth considering paying a bit more to get that. The quality of Odyssey's output is always top class. Whichever you decide to buy, you won't regret it. Both are 5 star items.

By the way, I have also reviewed the 3CD Odyssey Legends set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous retro 80's, 17 July 2009
By 
Victor Meldrew Mk2 "stefan morawiec" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Its good, yes it's retro 80's, but the sounds are just as good as 30 years ago when many of the tracks were released. I still have some of this stuff on vinyl and whilst the sounds coming out of a CD are good, they are too pure and that is my only critiscim of what to me is a great sound. Yep it's dated and yes the lyrics can be a bit cheesy, but listen to it several times and you start to get into some of the soulful sounds that were arising out of the East side in the late 70's early 80's. Listen more carefully and you can see why the likes of Madonna and others were influenced by this underrated band.

1980 was when I first heard "Lookin for a way out" and it still sends shivers down my spine now; worth the price of this album for that track alone. Shame that "there's a rooster out in the barnyard" is not on the album, but hey ho, it's stll good and "Native New Yorker" "Hang together" and the rest make this a great album for those who can remember a fabulous era for innovative music.

What's the real decider regarding whether to buy or not? Some of the tracks are still played in clubs now when the frenzied modern stuff wears everyone out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile purchase, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It is all that I expected with regard to content and sound quality a worthwhile purchase which I would have no hesitation to recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rate, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
great cd, cost brilliant, every song is great and takes you back to memories of good times. Couldn't miss opportunity to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you want pure untouched Odyssey this is the one, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Pure Odyssey ~ Out of 17 tracks, there are 5 x top ten hits, 1 x top 40, and one which was just outside the top 40 ~ the other tracks are okay but I would grade some of them as " B " sides, - but all in all a great album if you are an Odyssey fan, and worth it just for the full length " Native New Yorker ", " Inside Out ", and " If You're looking for a Way Out "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Osyssey, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It was great to find this as a CD as have always loved Odyssey ( showing our age now) and our tape had worn out and broken with too much playing over the years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Inside out!, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I had forgotten how good Odyssey were, so many great hits. If you lived through the 1970's this album is a must to bring back the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest Hits
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews