Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
22
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2004
This CD contains the best and most energetic hits of Ms Aretha Franklin such as "Free Way of Love" and "Who's Zoomin' Who". Another great hit is "Sister's Are Doing It for Themselves". It can be the theme song for almost any single woman or group of women in the 20th and 21st century. Aretha has soul, she has spirit and she has one powerful voice and sound. This CD will get even the most reticent person swaying to the music, humming and singing along.
Along with Ms Aretha Franklin, there is a the Charles Williams Gospel Choir featured on "Sisters Are Doing It for Tthemselves", plus Annie Lennox of the Eurythmics on the keyboards and adding her vocals to this smashing song. We can hear steel drums on "Ain't Nobody Ever Loved You". There is a saxaphone solo on "Freeway of Love", along with the "Santana" rhythm section add their special effects providing the explosive beat. This CD contains some of the finest music Aretha Franklin has recorded. Smoldering hot music that never goes out of style. Erika Borsos (bakonyvilla)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
One of Aretha's lesser known albums from the 80's which I once owned in vinyl. This has a funky feel to the songs and Aretha seems to be having a good time belting these numbers out. And the good thing is that it hasn't aged at all but matured like a fine wine. The 80's seem to be back in fashion at the moment and this is a good album to have loud in your car with the windows down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
One of Aretha's best albums of the 80's contains Freeway Of Love, Another Night, the title track and a great rendition of Sweet Bitter Love. The Sisters duet with Annie Lennox is also here but that is not a great song IMO more Eurythmics than Aretha. Overall a good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
According to Amazon.com "This product is an authorized CD-R and is manufactured on demand".

I cannot fault the sound quality. However there is a fault with the track listing on CD 2, which has 14 tracks according to my CD readout and not the 12 as listed on the CD booklet and inlay. Amazon have a listing of 13 tracks in a different order to the CD listings.

When trying to fast forward or rewind to some of the individual tracks on CD 2, you cannot successfully listen to the song as there is an error with the recordings. Tracks start part way through, track 8 is Who's Zoomin' Who but the CD tracklisting has it as track 6. Very poor quality control. Overall, I feel this is not worth the money as the previous issue was sourced from vinyl and then repressed from the master tapes. I have returned my copy for a refund.
55 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
There's not a lot to say about this album other than it's virtually perfect from start to finish. Funky pop rhythms, latin infused dance, a duet with The Eurythmics on a classic pop song and a perfect ballad with Ree's vocal dexterity on show for all, combine to make this one of the must-have albums from this remarkable woman. She was certainly smokin' hot with this release.

The remixes are here in virtually all their forms, although yes, it would have been nice to miss, say, one of the percapella or dub tracks to put in another remix or two of the actual songs, but it's a minor quibble. All the 12" singles I've lovingly cared for all these years are now committed to perfect sounding CD quality and I'm very happy with this. Buy it and see what you're missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2010
Aretha Franklin gave us a superb set of tracks to dance and sing along to in the summer of 1985 with this upbeat and joyful album. The queen of soul sounds like she definitely enjoyed recording this album and her performance and production values are top notch. Hit singles "Freeway of love" "Another Night" and "Ain't Nobody evert loved you" are all here, along with a fabulous duet with the Eurythmics and the rockin' track "Push" performed by Aretha and Peter Wolf. It is great to finally have this 80's soul gem on CD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
Definetely the best Aretha album in my opinion. Great deluxe edition, good sound quality. I'm missing the Pink Cadillac Remix of "Freeway of love" though. It was released in Germany on a 12" single and should have been included here as an extra bonus. That would have been something.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2003
With the eighties bringing about synth rock and pop it was inevitable that the masters of the voice (Stevie, Luther, Aretha) would give in and follow suit. Whilst it didn't work for Stevie Wonder's 'Characters' and 'In Square Circle' it gave Aretha a chance to give "pop" a thoroughly good whack! Highlights include the summer-tinted 'Freeway of love' and the title track 'Who's Zoomin' Who?' (possibly one of Aretha's best songs in the past twenty odd years), with 'Sisters Are Doing It For Themselves' being the biggest and most recognised hit on this nine track selection. Elsewhere we have the Jamaican style 'Ain't Nobody Ever Loved You', which shows Aretha's joyous side. 'Until You Say You Love Me' is one of the slower tracks on the album yet still maintains the pace of the album; this is probably the least eighties-sounding track on the album. 'Push' is a personal favourite of mine. Not only is it a duet with the little known Peter Wolf but it also features Carlos Santana on guitar of course! Altogether the album hits the right notes throughout and any songs that lack originality or a catchy chorus are made listenable by the Queen of Soul's unmatched vocal abilities! Relive the eighties in style!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
Brings back such wonderful memories from school days... And happy to report that, having placed my order end Sep 2012, was automatically sent the updated version earlier reviewers mention, ie FTG-282/2 despite having already geared myself up to contact Funkytown too. Cooking one afternoon playing the CD I realised I'd forgotten how good Zoomin sounds and put it on repeat for about an hour!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
Anyone who might wonder how an already 'great' album can be turned into a 'superb' extended masterpiece
has only got to listen to Funkytowngrooves Deluxe Edition of this Aretha Franklin classic.
Chock full of bonus tracks - single mix,radio mix,dance mix & more ..... & spread over 2 CD's the result is truly marvelous,
- all compiled with much thought & care.
Lovingly remastered the sound is just awesome, & some of the bonus mixes are even better than the originals.

I had a query with my Amazon delivery & contacted Funkytowngrooves,- they could not have been more helpful.
(Note the correct pressing of this CD is FTG-282/2 which replaced the earlier FTG-282)
It is so nice to find a team who obviously love what they are doing & who are producing some really fine grooves.

For those who like late 70's/80's R & B check out Funkytown's issue of Burn - Melba Moore Burn - Expanded Edition
& Dancin With Melba Dancin With Melba - Expanded Edition - they are magnificent.
In fact the label has many 'hidden goodies' which can all be viewed under Amazon's 'Search - Music - Funkytowngrooves'.
Just be aware that some items sell out quickly - and once they are gone ........ If you love it - shop early.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.49
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)