Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Santana........
A thoroughly enjoyable new offering from Carlos and an excellent Santana band, recorded in July 2011 at the Montreux Film Festival. Both the visual and audio content of the disc is stunning throughout the two hours and forty minutes length of the concert. For me there is nothing quite like hearing and seeing the energetic Santana percussion section, Raul Rekow and Karl...
Published on 25 Feb 2012 by D. Richards

versus
8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Irritating
That's it, i am not buying any more santana concert dvd's that have a 'brass' section. This is guitar music, the original evil ways did not have brass for the simple reason that it does'nt sound right, this is not jazz it's rock.
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by Mr. C. Nicholson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Santana........, 25 Feb 2012
By 
D. Richards (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits - Live At Montreux 2011 [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
A thoroughly enjoyable new offering from Carlos and an excellent Santana band, recorded in July 2011 at the Montreux Film Festival. Both the visual and audio content of the disc is stunning throughout the two hours and forty minutes length of the concert. For me there is nothing quite like hearing and seeing the energetic Santana percussion section, Raul Rekow and Karl Perazzo, playing "flat out" alongside the incredible guitar playing of their leader.

The highlight for me this time around is the inclusion in the set of the opening track of Abraxas "Singing Winds, Crying Beasts" - I believe recorded on video for the first time. It is a favourite of mine, and did not disappoint.

This choices for the "Greatest Hits" concert was well balanced in terms of including songs from different phases of Carlos' long career, although shows a bias towards those wonderful early albums. Although the songs are familiar to most fans, they are often played in new and interesting ways, which gives the whole DVD a freshness that adds to the listening pleasure. There are some new to me melodies to be heard here and there, and I particularly liked "Spark of the Divine" which began the concert.

Santana has always been a band which defies categorisation, and there are examples here of music ranging from heavy rock to lilting guitar melodies. All of the musicians play a significant part in making it such an enjoyable experience, and a special mention here for David K Matthews who has the unenviable task of following in the keyboard playing footsteps of the great Chester "CT" Thompson. The brass duo, Bill Ortiz and Jeff Cressman, have been an established part of Santana for some time, and play an important part in adding that "extra little something" to many of the songs.

There is a relatively short yet enjoyable drum interlude from Cindy Blackman Santana, who shares a spot with long serving Santana bassist Benny Rietveld. Equally, two other special guests, guitarist Derek Trucks and guitarist and vocalist Susan Tedeschi, certainly play their part in adding further great musicianship to the evening.

I was lucky to see this in high definition which certainly contributed to the experience. I am sure it will be played for many years to come, although I may use the "skip" option on "Back in Black" - the "Guitar Heaven" album was fine, but not my most favourite of all the Santana offerings. May I cheekily suggest that adding "Flor De Canela/Promise of a Fisherman" from the "Borboletta" album instead, would further strengthen the set!

Carlos Santana's playing is immaculate throughout, and there seems to be a renewed sense of pleasure from all band members in playing together, which bodes well for the future.

My feeling is that anyone who has enjoyed Santana from any phase of their music in the past, would benefit from adding "Live in Montreux 2011" to their DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable concert, 28 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this concert,one of the best available on DVD ,BUT please Carlos what on earth is SOCC? the second number on disc one,it sound like a bunch of drunken madmen
I always think of Santana as melodious but this number is a thundering racket, its horrible

A very good selection of older numbers nicely played is on offer here.
My favorite Samba Pa Ti played beautifully,never tire of this,likewise Black magic women, Jingo,Oye Como Va,
Evil ways etc.
Benny and Cindy solo was toooooo loooong.....and became boring.
Derek Trucks playing is extraordinary in short measure I wouldnt want it for too long though. Whats happened to Chester Thompson? I miss him, but David Mathews takes his place,does a fine job, Hammond sounds great,please Dave its looks like you're catching flies,you might get something you dont want!a Wasp, Bee, Mozzie,and that would put paid to the playing for the evening.....

The interviews were nice I always like to hear what Carlos has to say on the state of the world.
The behind the scenes was very short and showed us nothing really,disappointing.
Nice to see Cindy speaking too,I wish them all the best, Carlos looks very happy.

Overall a good buy for nearly 3 hours of 1st class music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Live Performance, 15 Mar 2012
By 
Gutbucket (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Another superb live performance from Santana which is beautifully captured on this DVD with a great range of songs from their extensive repertoire. A must for all Santana fans, old and new, with something to please just about everybody. Short of seeing them live this is as good as it gets. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best blu-ray Santana, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits - Live At Montreux 2011 [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
This is pretty good Santana stuff - especially compared to his Blues at Montreux blu-ray. Loses a star for me due to the rap intrusions and the weak drum solo from Mrs Santana. Otherwise, it's Santana at his grooving best, with some wild and wonderful versions of classic tracks. Against the negative reviewers I don't think the brass is a problem (and I've been a Santana fan since mid-70s) and it is definitely NOT lounge music, unless your lounge is rocking! On a good 5.1 system turned up loud this does it for me, anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santana - big band, big sound!, 31 Jan 2012
Watched this concert, presumably extracts from the DVD, on a Singapore Airlines flight - it's in their February 2012 selection on Krisworld. Absolutely sensational bunch of musicians, I counted 11 in total including two drummers and a further percussionist, great brass section, two good vocalists and superb renditions of the Santana classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Santana, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent recording of favourites to keep when you have seen the band again on tour after so many years.
Must have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits - Live At Montreux 2011 [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
The sound quality of this concert is superb. If you like Carlos Santana you can not miss this concert. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Santana, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for friends who are Santana fans, I hear they think it brilliant and I can't wait to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb concert - a must for all Santana fans. Standard material for all Santana collectors. Viewing this dvd is a worth while investment of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars seen on flight, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this on a flight to Australia & watched it again on the return....A lot of my favourites there as well, so when home I bought the DVD,
If you are a Santana fan, you should love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb34a52c4)

This product

Greatest Hits - Live At Montreux 2011 [Blu-ray] [2012]
12.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews