Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small-town troubles
Imagine a cross between "Twin Peaks" and "Murder She Wrote," set in a quaint Maine town where weird things happen every week.

That's the best description I can come up with for "Haven," a paranormal crime show very loosely adapted from Stephen King's novel "The Colorado Kid." The first season starts off on a rather mediocre note with a string of one-off...
Published on 25 Aug. 2011 by EA Solinas

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great cast, shame about the weak, lazy writing.
The idea behind this show have promise, and some of the episode writing is solid, but there is too much weak writing for it to be a really good show. It has a good cast, I particularly like Emily Rose.

There is no suspense about any of the weird events, because no-one acts as if it is anything particularly out of the ordinary. There is no mystery because the...
Published 2 months ago by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small-town troubles, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Imagine a cross between "Twin Peaks" and "Murder She Wrote," set in a quaint Maine town where weird things happen every week.

That's the best description I can come up with for "Haven," a paranormal crime show very loosely adapted from Stephen King's novel "The Colorado Kid." The first season starts off on a rather mediocre note with a string of one-off "troubles," but slowly develops a mysterious arc that grows more intriguing and powerful as time passes.

FBI agent Audrey Parker (Emily Rose) is sent to the town of Haven to find an escaped murderer... but as soon as she arrives, she finds that the guy is dead... and his death was physically impossible.

Not only does Haven have some bizarre people and strange weather patterns, but Audrey finds that she has a connection to the place -- an old photo with a woman who looks just like her. So she decides to stay in Haven, and partners up with local cop Nathan Wuornos (Lucas Bryan) to solve local crimes while she searches for hints to her past.

However, it turns out that the "troubles" are returning to Haven after thirty-ish years -- mysterious aging, outbreaks of madness and sanity, spontaneously rotting food, horrible deaths related to artwork, a shadowy "Dark Man" (no, not the one Stephen King fans are thinking of!), a deadly shapeshifter, fiery deaths, a poltergeist and countless ground cracks.

"Haven Season 1" takes a little time to bloom. At first the acting is stiff, the one-off plots are ordinary, and there's no strong overarcing plot except "the troubles are back!" But as time goes by, the stories get darker and the writing becomes more compelling -- especially since only some of the mysteries center around stuff you can arrest people for.

Each episode introduces a new bizarre occurrence, and has Nathan and Audrey trying to unravel whose powers are going out of control. These mysteries are fairly clever, and there are some funny moments sprinkled in every episode ("I need a HUUUUUGG!"). And despite being based on a King novel, most of it isn't horrifying -- there are some creepy moments, such as a poor guy's eyes, ears and mouth slowly sealing up before our eyes. Eww.

Emily Rose is kind of stiff in the first few episodes, but she becomes a really likable heroine by the halfway point of the series -- she's strong, compassionate, playful and has some shocking secrets of her own. Bryan plays Nathan as reclusive and quiet, mainly because he can't physically feel anything. And there are some solid side performances by Eric Balfour as a charming smuggler, Nicholas Campbell as the gruff sheriff, and Anne Caillon as Nathan's girlfriend.

"Haven" hasn't fully unfolded into the great show it might become, but the first season shows it starting to really bloom -- and leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great cast, shame about the weak, lazy writing., 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haven - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The idea behind this show have promise, and some of the episode writing is solid, but there is too much weak writing for it to be a really good show. It has a good cast, I particularly like Emily Rose.

There is no suspense about any of the weird events, because no-one acts as if it is anything particularly out of the ordinary. There is no mystery because the weak writing means the main leads immediately jump to the correct weird and improbable solution to the latest mystery with only the most tangential clues.

I watched this free on Amazon Prime and I can safely say I would never have made it past episode 1 and would have been returning it post haste if I'd actually paid for it. As it is I didn't finish the series when there is so much better written stuff available.

I can only assume it has so many positive reviews because it is in no way taxing viewing. It is almost the visual equivalent of easy listening background music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy. great fun., 2 Oct. 2014
By 
Andrew W. Macfadyen "A-w-M" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Haven - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Charming Sci-fi/fantasy set in a small New England fishing town, great fun and great acting from very likeable leads.
Story starts out much like Fringe and begins as an FBI agent investigating individual incidents but a Stephen King style core story line builds up that keeps developing with each episode and season.

If you like The X Files or Fringe or The Prisoner or Torchwood or Orphan Black or Continum you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Fringe and X-Files but lighter and less intense, 25 Oct. 2012
By 
This review is from: Haven - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
HAVEN is a great new series and will appeal to Fringe and X File lovers. But it's not as heavy or as intense, so in many ways more relaxing to watch, bit like Eureka .
It's the usual formulae, guy, gal. slightly bad guy all working together to solve the weekly mystery.
Meanwhile there's a subplot - who was Audrey's mother? Why was she here in Haven? What happened to her.
Very enjoyable watching and lovely setting - was filmed in Nova Scotia (Canada).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IQ Depletion, 15 July 2014
I've managed to watch the first 4 episodes of this show and feel my gray matter shrinking at an alarming rate. How this show has continued on for 5 seasons is beyond me.

Firstly, and the most obvious logistical nightmare: how does anyone face a gruesome phenomenon with a cheeky grin and poorly written banter? The atrocity of the week is approached with such indifference and bland humor, it has to make one wonder if the FBI agent, and detective have a fiber of humanity of their own. It's like a walk in the park, with picnic basket and paranormal slaughter. I understand humor of all veriaties blended in the darkest of stories all to keep the story from turning dehumanizing, and too heavy, but these two protagonist seem to lack empathy or true concern, even when faced with brutal murders.

Either the (troubles) are truly troubling, or aren't they?

As for the acting itself, I'm unable to decern whether it is poor skill, or the poorer dialogue the actors have to work with. The plots are obvious, the conversations are shallow and meaningless, and the reactions of the characters in this story are disturbingly remenicant of an entire town on prozac. Creepy grins and cheeky (lame) banter in the face of disasters.

I gave this series two out of five stars, the second star only because the concept is decent, the execution, not so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good very good, and a bit different, 17 July 2012
By 
Mr. M. Regan - The Regsy "THE man in black" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haven - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I will say for the record that I am a fan of series like Supernatural, Sanctuary, CSI, the Mentalist, Castle etc and after running out of things to watch found Haven. Its a good series, likeable but flawed characters, interesting plot(s) and pretty well acted. So nothing new I hear you say, well true, but it does stand out. I suspect that some of the quality feel of this series comes from the fact it is based on Stephen Kings Colorado Kid, in the sense that the characters feel fully rounded and well developed, the overarching plot becomes more apparent as the series progesses but manages to deliver more than one suprise along the way. Its hard to put into the review without making the series sound bad, but its slower than some of its contemporaries, this is not in any way a bad thing just makes you feel a little more attached than some other shows where you feel that they have to cram in as much as possible. I can only recommend this to anyone even a little interested, it is well worth the investment and I really want to see the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show, 18 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haven - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'd heard some good things about this show and managed to stumble across the re-runs of the first season on syfy, and i am so glad I did!! There is definitely an X-Files type element to the show, but it really is in a league of its own.

The main character, Audrey, is an FBI agent (if you don't like the average cop/crime show don't let this put you off) who travels to Haven following a convict, but whilst she is there it becomes apparent that there is a whole lot more to Haven than meets the eye. The show is a refreshing change from the norm as most of the episodes keep you guessing right to the end, and the season finale has got to be one of the best I have seen in a long time.

I would say, if you're not sure just give it a go, you've got nothing to lose and everything to gain! So glad that they are at last releasing this on region 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haven - stick with it, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
MISS KERRY PULLEN (Stamford, Lincs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Haven - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched (devoured) both season one and two in quick succession. FBI Agent Audrey Parker finds herself in the town of Haven, where strange things happen all the time. She stays because there's a mystery surrounding exactly who she is and Haven seems to hold some clues. Yes, there are a few holes in it here and there, but that doesn't make it any less of a compelling watch. Or at least, it didn't for me!

I fell in love with the main characters, and found myself caring about what happened to them next.
A thoroughly enjoyable series, if you like things like The X Files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great supernatural series, based on Stephen Kings novel., 27 Jan. 2015
By 
Sarahred11 (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
Haven is an American/Canadian supernatural drama television series loosely based on the Stephen King novel The Colorado Kid. The show, which deals with strange events in a fictional town in Maine named Haven. It stars Emily Rose, Lucas Bryant and Eric Balfour, whose characters struggle to help townspeople with supernatural afflictions and protect the town from the effects of those afflictions. Really great series, cool characters, strange happens and funny. Looking forward to the next four series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing first season., 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing! Sat and watched 2 or 3 episodes a day, I am so impressed with it. Season one starts with a bang, jumps straight into The troubles and carries on unflinching and unwavering. The chemistry between all three main characters is perfect. Brilliant acting, no stiff or unnatural like some can be. Amazing show, amazing opener for the first season and it keeps going! Congrats to everyone who is involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haven - Season 1 [DVD]
Haven - Season 1 [DVD] by Emily Rose (DVD - 2012)
£8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews