Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's A 'Got to Have' !, 4 July 2008
By 
D. J. Miller "DJM 68" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The pleasure I have received from reading this book has left me morally obliged to do my first ever Amazon Review. Whilst I will attempt to wax lyrical, a little story first that will probably be more convincing in its way than any words of praise that I can muster:-

Although a Manchester City fan, I joined a coachful from our pub to go and give Stockport County a cheer in their play-off game at Wembley against Rochdale. The coach was a fair mix of County (obviously), City and United fans. I took Gary James's book to while away the journey. Suffice to say that others took an interest in it and were blown away with the 'differentness' of it. By the time we returned, I'd taken a total of 11 orders for copies!

The book clearly has a 'wow' factor. I think one of its main qualities is the author's refusal to merely compartmentalise each Manchester club's
history. Instead it is largely chronological and dwells many times on the relationships between clubs rather than just significant events in their individual past. Whilst United and City inevitably figure prominantly, there is due credit given to the likes of Bury who were Manchester's first truly successful club. At the other extreme, newcomers FC United are given respect for their efforts to return affordable football to the grassroots supporter. In between, every club from the area has its roots explained and its triumphs and tribulations related accurately and entertainingly .

One of my favourite sections is the rise and unfortunate demise of Manchester Central FC. If United and City had not combined and connived to keep this fledging club out of the League in the late'20's / early '30's, then either there would have been three city centre teams or an ailing United could have gone to the wall.

Gary James has researched so deeply that many errors have been found in clubs' official histories. Whilst such fine detail is to be commended, the narrative never lapses into a tedious list of dates that only the 'anorak' would appreciate. Instead it flows and has you wondering what happened next, even when on some occasions you were fairly sure you knew your football history.

As the guys on the coach found, this is a 'once seen - must have' book and I for one will be buying several more copies, as I have absolutely no doubt that as a Christmas or birthday present it will received with total delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended., 19 Jan 2011
By 
N. Appleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fantastic read that doesn't just focus on the big clubs. I thought I was quite knowledgable about Manchester football, but I've learned a lot from reading this outstanding book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HELPS ME RESTORE THE FAITH IN FOOTBALL, 10 Dec 2011
The author did not just focus on the glamour of Manchester City and United but also the other teams in the Manchester area. What I especially enjoyed about the book was hoW the author did not just concentrate on the glory side but also commented on such things as the Bury and Coventry scandal of the 1920s. As football gets further and further removed from what enticed me all those years ago, books like this help me see beyond the commericially hyped sanitised game that professional football has become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for any football fan!, 2 Jan 2014
My husband has not put this book down since he opened it on christmas morning. He is fascinated by the facts and stories and photos of all the clubs. He is a City fan but is finding the whole book an amazing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars foot ball fan, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. C. Walker "dancer" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for my brother who is a manchester born football fan .who finds it interesting to read all about the teams from where he

used to live mind you he is a city fan (but he cant help that )it will keep him quiet for a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every city should have one, 16 Feb 2013
By 
A. W. Jones "Prince Myshkin." (SW England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manchester City Manchester a Football History Book (Misc.)
This is a serious and scholarly study of the development of Association football in the Greater Manchester area. It is not a hagliography, It details the darker side as well as the triumphs. Also, the author doesn't waste too much time on the well documented events such as The Munich air disaster or the 1999 treble season.
This history isn't exclusively about the two major Manchester clubs. It covers, fairly comprehensively the lesser lights, Rochdale, Oldham, Bury, Stockport as well as the non-league clubs like Stalybridge and Hyde. The story is one of organic growth whereby the the history and fates of the larger clubs are somehow part of the same fabric that binds them to the district's smaller clubs.
Collecting the information for this book must have been very difficult as the author is explicit in separating the primary sources from the secondary and he is not afraid to debunk some of the myths that have arisen from some of those secondary (such as oral accounts) sources.
Every major city should commission a similar account of their local football clubs. It is an indispensable record of social development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Years of Scholarship Makes a Beautiful, Thorough Tome, 31 May 2011
By 
K. Nelson (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Gary James did exhaustive research into the history of Manchester via its surrounding and internal football teams. I purchased the 2008 volume for myself and then the updated (finally! Such a welcome thing!! I was trying to hold out until the updated version but could not. Now I will buy it, to support this amazing book and author.) volume came out, and it was coincedentally near my best friend and fellow United fan's birthday; so guess what he got! The shiny new 2010 version. Whether you are a United, City, or other team in the Manchester area, this is the perfect book. Primary and secondary sources are oozing out the endpages. Gary James has written perfection in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, and a thoroughly great read, 8 Nov 2010
Gary James is a Manchester City fan, but this monster of a book concerns itself with Manchester clubs as a whole - although he does concentrate on the 'bigger boys'.

If you are a football fan, particularly of any club in the Greater Manchester area, then I could not recommend this book more highly to you. I see it is currently out of stock here (at time of posting), which is unfortunate. Go find it elsewhere and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from Independent Newspaper, 23/06/08, 1 July 2008
BOOK OF THE WEEK by Ian Herbert, Independent Newspaper

For all the ink that has been spilled in the name of Manchester United, only now do we learn the definitive - some say fateful - date on which the planet's most famous sporting institution spluttered into life, as Newton Heath FC was consigned to history.

Even Old Trafford's mighty United Opus tells us it was on 26 April 1902 that the struggling former railwaymen's team, facing a winding-up order, was superceded at the New Islington public house in Ancoats by United, in what might today be called a re-branding exercise, and it says everything about his immaculate piece of scholarship that James reveals the club to be two days older than it seems to think it is. The meeting was on the 24th. Hard to believe also, in the age of the global brand, that the name "United" may well have been selected for no other reason than clubs' proclivity back then for seizing on the name of the moment. Sheffield United may have been the inspiration, having reached the FA Cup final seven days earlier.

The early histories of Manchester City and United provide some of the most fascinating elements of a story James relates without hype. The clubs' close bonds, much discussed at the recent 50th Munich anniversary, are an intriguing thread. City were keen to sell United (rather than southern sides) their best players, Bill Meredith included, when strapped for cash and reeling from a match-fixing scandal in 1907. The two also joined forces to prevent the newly- founded Manchester Central club being elected to the Football League and threatening their own fan bases in the early 1930s.

The periodic scandals - the collusion of Liverpool and United players to fix a league game United won 2-0 in 1915 is particularly well related - remind us that little is new in football.

Except money of course. This story is unimpassioned enough not to make judgements about the game's evolution in the Premier League era but the seamless interweaving of Stockport, Rochdale and Bury's narratives - not overshadowed, for once - with those of the Manchester giants tells more subtly what a toll that big money is taking on the lesser lights. Sir Alex Ferguson might detest FC United of Manchester, the club established in the teeth of the game's corporatisation, but James also attends to that club's ethos and relatively unknown recent splits with a level of detail befitting its significance. His story of City's beginnings - when a Manchester rector's daughter set up a club to distract the working men prone to drinking and violence, then known as "scuttling" - is also poignant amid Thaksin Shinawatra's search for global brand awareness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Football history in Greater Manchester, 13 Sep 2009
I already knew the book was out of print and that a rather shorter version, same author, similar title but different publisher, is due out this autumn,Manchester: A Football History - The Story of City, United, Bury, Oldham, Rochdale, Stalybridge, Stockport and More. I wanted this fuller version anyway - had enjoyed dipping into it at a friend's house. My only real adverse criticism is that the book doesn't have an index. With the wealth of detail included an index would have made it so much easier to 'search' for particular players and clubs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews