Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully original game
Catherine is a game like no other in the modern era, it's funny, it's well written, and you just want to know what happens next. I've been a huge fan of Atlus games for MANY years now, I've played pretty much all of the Persona team's games, and the SMT series, and this is Atlus's first jump to HD, and it's great. The turmoil of Vincent, a very confused middle aged man...
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by Jakku

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Lord
I love a good challenge in a game (my two solitary platinum trophies for Demons/Dark Souls can attest to this). Hell my brother and I even completed Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles on the NES many moons ago, no mean feat. Having read some mixed reviews about this game I gave it a shot. Hard is not the word for this bastard, i'd say unfair. The level designs are sadistic, one...
Published 23 months ago by Mr Ogden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully original game, 15 Feb 2012
By 
Jakku (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catherine: Stray Sheep Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Catherine is a game like no other in the modern era, it's funny, it's well written, and you just want to know what happens next. I've been a huge fan of Atlus games for MANY years now, I've played pretty much all of the Persona team's games, and the SMT series, and this is Atlus's first jump to HD, and it's great. The turmoil of Vincent, a very confused middle aged man who happens to end up sleeping with a blonde bombshell while still being in a long time relationship with his loving girlfriend, that night, he begins to have horrifying nightmares, that is where the main gameplay is. It's hard to explain the gameplay, you're better off looking up videos, but it's not something you'd expect really, it's a puzzle game, fyi.

This section is for the special edition that just came, for £48, the current price, I received a replica shirt of the protagonist, a pink shirt with the words 'Rave' on it, 2 coasters, a pizza box in the style of the in game's bar, and a poster of what was originally in the US edition, of the soundtrack. First off, the shirt is great quality, I've dealt with the people who make custom shirts like it before, the company rang a bell and I had a custom silent hill shirt made, great quality, extra large size, which is perfect for 6ft 3 me. The coasters are..well, they're coasters, very thin things you can put your drinks on, great design and the picture looks great on it. Finally, the poster..I'm very disappointed in it, mainly because it was originally a huge well made soundtrack in the US edition, and mine actually came a bit broken...so I have to be very careful.

All in all, for £7 extra over the disk on its own is a steal, the shirt alone is worth that, the other things are simply the icing on that delicious cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game I've played in a while, 5 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catherine: Stray Sheep Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I originally played this game in Japanese and became hooked, I knew I had to buy this game the moment it came out over here.
This game is wonderfully quirky, this is quite possibly the strangest game I've ever played but it is absolutely fantastic. The story is great, even the slightest change in your actions can change the outcome of the game so there are a lot of options for you to explore. The game play is brilliant, and you pick up the controls quickly.
Catherine is a game that challenges your mind and pushes you to the limit. It can be incredibly difficult during your first play through but that makes the game so much more rewarding when you do beat a stage.
The soundtrack is amazing, the remixes of classical music gives a sense of eeriness whilst bring the tracks up to date also gives them a sense of urgency.
Overall it is a fantastic game.
With the Stray Sheep edition, you get an awful lot for your money, the shirt is very big which makes it perfect for a night shirt if you're someone small like me. The only downside is you don't get the boxers like you do with the special editions the other countries received but it's still just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine: Stray Sheep Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
one of the best and unique games i have ever played if you love puzzles and or anime then this is the game for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 Dec 2012
By 
Stoaty Fox "Keep Rockin' Baby!!!" (Batley, West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine: Stray Sheep Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is amazing. Created by the developers of the Persona series. Its different as most games rely on combat, violence or being kiddified, whereas this game is more of a social aspect to the game as your character, Vincent, deals with relationship problems, but at the same time has to figure out why people are dying in their sleep.

Catherine is a puzzle game that gets progressively harder as you advance the game, but that's not where the meat of the game is. It's in its story, which is complimented by its amazing graphics, animation and art style. But it also delves into relationship and social issues at the same.

It's different and it might not be some people's cup of tea. For me though, it's a breath of fresh air for the gaming world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deeply frustrating but oddly rewarding, 18 July 2012
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine: Stray Sheep Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Catherine: a game so hard they had to patch in an "easy" mode in its original, Japanese release.

A game of two halves, Catherine tells the story of 30-ish Vincent as he struggles with his relationship and the two different women in his life, spending most of his time sitting in a bar conversing with friends and strangers. At night, he dreams a series of nightmarish puzzles that all revolve around climbing stacked blocks that can be shifted and dragged to form staircases and bridges, fighting against a time limit or an encroaching "boss". One part social experiment, one part platform-puzzler, Catherine is probably quite unique - though the vague idea of a social/life simulation game with weirder, more "game-like" things happening at night draws upon Atlus' own Persona games.

The social segments of the game are presented in a mix of stylish in-game graphics and fantastically animated cutscenes, and the voice acting - an English dub - is generally of a very high quality, which is something that could make or break a game like this. I think your enjoyment of the game overall will hinge very heavily upon whether you enjoy spending time in Vincent's world, talking with the NPCs in the game, ordering drinks from the bar and being rewarded with little tidbits of alcoholic trivia, and playing on the arcade machine that replicates the main game's gameplay in miniature, pixellated form.

The puzzle-platformers segments are absolutely diabolical, and hampered by occasionally sketchy controls. I'm extremely glad I played this on the PS3, rather than the Xbox 360 (which I usually prefer!) because of the PS3's superior d-pad, which is almost essential for precise movements compared to the analogue stick. I unwisely played the game on the "normal" difficulty, which does at least allow you to hit an "undo" button and take back your mistakes - something actually missing from the original release. Even with that feature, I often found myself getting stuck and frustrated, fighting against a harsh time limit and controls that inexplicably reverse themselves whenever you're climbing around the back of a block (something that happens rather a lot in the later stages). Despite that, there's a sense of accomplishment common to such difficult games, and while I'm not sure it's an experience I'd want to repeat on an even tougher setting, I feel it was worth the effort to experience the social storyline.

So, Catherine: a frustrating puzzler and a peculiar life simulation in a strange, faintly Japanese-y world. Go in with the right expectations and take on a unique, rewarding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Lord, 6 Oct 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine: Stray Sheep Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I love a good challenge in a game (my two solitary platinum trophies for Demons/Dark Souls can attest to this). Hell my brother and I even completed Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles on the NES many moons ago, no mean feat. Having read some mixed reviews about this game I gave it a shot. Hard is not the word for this bastard, i'd say unfair. The level designs are sadistic, one wrong move and you're f***ed. The graphics are gorgeous, dialogue is spot-on and the story is unique, provocative and is no doubt the star attraction here. Unfortunately when it comes down to the most important aspect (Gameplay) it's let down. Give it a go, just keep some stress balls or certain consummables nearby to keep your sanity levels respectable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catherine: Stray Sheep Edition (PS3)
Catherine: Stray Sheep Edition (PS3) by Deep Silver (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: £124.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews