Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every bit as good as the film
Like Quentin Tarantino, Robert Rodriguez takes a lot of care when choosing the songs to go on his soundtracks. Unlike QT, Rodriguez gets involved to the point of writing and scoring some of his film music (especially the Mariachi films)
Maybe its all a sneaky plot to make me listen to country music, which normally I would walk a mile to avoid, but if it is I am glad...
Published on 1 Mar 2004 by A. Skudder

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
The follows in a similar way to the soundtracks of other Tarantino-related movies records. The big difference with this (up until the Kill Bill films) is that some of these songs have been made to order and not a mix of resurrected oldies and forgotten gems that you normally get. The style of this soundtrack is Tex-Mex-flavored blues-rock and includes certain pasages of...
Published on 5 Jun 2004 by Lenny Banter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every bit as good as the film, 1 Mar 2004
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (Audio CD)
Like Quentin Tarantino, Robert Rodriguez takes a lot of care when choosing the songs to go on his soundtracks. Unlike QT, Rodriguez gets involved to the point of writing and scoring some of his film music (especially the Mariachi films)
Maybe its all a sneaky plot to make me listen to country music, which normally I would walk a mile to avoid, but if it is I am glad it worked, because the country tracks here are very idiosycratic. The Texas Funeral track for example is one which could tempt me to search out a Jon Wayne album - were it not for the fact that I have already read in a magazine how hard it is to find.
The two Tito & Tarantula tracks are the highlights for me, and I defy anyone to listen to them and not see the relevant scenes from the film in their head - especially After Dark (but to be fair the image of Selma Hayek dancing with a snake often pops into my head even without the music.)
There are a few snippets of dialogue from the film inbetween the songs, but all done as seperate tracks so you can skip them if you want (unlike on the Desperado soundtrack where they are laid over the music).
Everybody I have ever played this to has loved it, whether they had seen the film or not, and I really can't blame them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 5 Jun 2004
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (Audio CD)
The follows in a similar way to the soundtracks of other Tarantino-related movies records. The big difference with this (up until the Kill Bill films) is that some of these songs have been made to order and not a mix of resurrected oldies and forgotten gems that you normally get. The style of this soundtrack is Tex-Mex-flavored blues-rock and includes certain pasages of dialogue from the film. Like most soundtracks that use soundbites, they only work if you know where they come in the film. To the casual listener or someone who has not seen the film, they do not add anything to the experience. This is a minor gripe however.
There is some good songs. The presence of such names as Stevie Ray Vaughan, the Blasters, and ZZ Top guarantee that but the majority of the album is palatable at best.
Even though this was not a Tarantino directed movie, the soundtrack falls into the same trap. Some great somes intersperced with some filler (except for Kill Bill 2 which is a terrible record). I dare anyone to say that Resevoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction does not include at least a couple of dud tracks on each. The great songs are worth it though as long as Amazon keeps it at the resonable of £7.99
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Soundtrack for a Brilliant Film, 18 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (Audio CD)
This is a top class CD. It features all of the tracks from the film including the title theme "Dark Knight". But it does depend on your genre of music most of these are Rock/Country & Western. I have to admit I would rather listen to Limp Bizkit than Country & Western but some of the tunes are very very catchy including the ZZ Top track. If you like things like Prodigy or Cradle of Filth then stay away but if you like the film then go on BUY IT Enjoy By Chris Ireland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as great as the movie, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Amanda Louden (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (Audio CD)
This soundtrack is awesome and every bit as great as the movie. A fantastic mix of excerpts from the film and heart thumping songs, that will keep you thinking of the movie. A BIG thumbs up from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnific music from a very cool movie, 1 Aug 2011
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (Audio CD)
The movie is mega cool, the music is amazing!!! After Dark from Tito & Tarantula is already a legendary track, the car driving sound from ZZ Top, Stevie Ray Vaughan and other Blues/Rock tubes make that soundtrack to a must have for real music maniacs!!! Buy it without any doubts!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adult film with great music, 4 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (Audio CD)
After seeing the film I wanted to hear more of the music. This C.D. is one of the better soundtrack albums, especially if you like ZZ Top and Stevie Ray Vaughn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (Audio CD)
Was disappointed with this album, only two good tracks on it. But at such a low price couldn't complain.But loved the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (Audio CD)
Great sound track from the film. Really love the Tito and Tarantula songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film great score, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Jl Hurst - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (Audio CD)
as ever from the tarantino collection this is a must! don't delay buy today!
it was well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must if you love the film, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (Audio CD)
Love this sound track, it relates to the movie perfectly. A must if you love the film. In my top 10 albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews