Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful bedtime stories
These are wonderful stories to tell small children at bedtime. Even though they were written nearly one hundred years ago, Milly-Molly-Mandy and Little Friend Susan do much the same things as little girls do today. Where their experiences differ will whet any child's interest about the past. I remember my mother reading these to me in the early fifties when I was very...
Published 18 months ago by Mrs. K. A. P. Wright

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A searing indictment of Man's Inhumanity to Man
In this rare departure from her usual style, Lankester Brisley attempts-with some success- to move outside the stereotypical confines that she felt restricted her previous works into her short-lived and controversial "noir" period, yet remains true to her dominant themes of friendship and loyalty.
Billy Blunt is convicted of a murder he did not commit and...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. Mark L. Francis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful bedtime stories, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. K. A. P. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milly-Molly-Mandy's Adventures (Milly Molly Mandy) (Kindle Edition)
These are wonderful stories to tell small children at bedtime. Even though they were written nearly one hundred years ago, Milly-Molly-Mandy and Little Friend Susan do much the same things as little girls do today. Where their experiences differ will whet any child's interest about the past. I remember my mother reading these to me in the early fifties when I was very small, and being fascinated by 'raspberry drops' and 'bullseyes' - strange things from the olden days - then sweets came off the ration and we could buy them ourselves. I half expected stagecoaches and dragons to suddenly make an appearance.
Lovely, comforting stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful!, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milly-Molly-Mandy's Adventures (Milly Molly Mandy) (Kindle Edition)
I grew up reading MMM books and my five year old loves them. She was delighted when I downloaded this collection of stories for her and I now have to fight her for my kindle. They are delightful, old fashioned stories about a little girl growing up in an English village. Very wholesome and with some of the original illustrations in the kindle version too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A searing indictment of Man's Inhumanity to Man, 21 May 2014
By 
In this rare departure from her usual style, Lankester Brisley attempts-with some success- to move outside the stereotypical confines that she felt restricted her previous works into her short-lived and controversial "noir" period, yet remains true to her dominant themes of friendship and loyalty.
Billy Blunt is convicted of a murder he did not commit and Milly-Molly-Mandy risks all to spring him from Death Row & save him from the chair. To this end she must go undercover & infiltrate the violent sub culture of US prison gangs. Here perhaps Lankester Brisley, despite spending six months in San Quentin to research this book, makes several novice mistakes leading too significant plot holes. For instance, the illustration on p.38 (Milly Molly holds the prison governor hostage) clearly features a SEMI-automatic 9mm Mauser whereas the text identifies it as a Glock 19 (which is obviously an AUTOMATIC) ! This may seem minor but it fundamentally alters the entire dynamic of the shoot-out in Chapter 7,intended as a homage to Jimmy Cagney "Angels with Dirty Faces".

And are we really expected to believe that a weasel could crawl 100 yards through ventilation ducts with it anal cavity packed with 300grams of nitro-glycerine in order to explode in the guardroom killing 15 prison warders?
That said I felt the scene where Milly-Molly Mandy gouges out the eye of Jake "Slasher" Rees-Mogg, the leader of the Aryan Brotherhood using only a sharpened toothbrush was sensitively- indeed compassionately handled.
Sadly the movie deal with Sam Peckinpah never materialised - ostensibly due to Lankester Brisley refusing to accede to Peckinpah's demands to tone down the rape scene in Chapter 6 (in which she acrimoniously described him as "a pussy") but more likely due to the several death threats from the Mustelid Protection Brigade, the armed wing of the Friends of the American Weasel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have loved this forever, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved these stories as a child, my daughter loved them, my children at school loved them and now it's time for the grandchildren to get to know Milly Molly Mandy and her friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Dec 2013
The books arrived promptly and as described. A very good service. I shall enjoy sharing the stories with my three-year-old granddaughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MORE LOVELY STORIES, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milly-Molly-Mandy's Adventures (Milly Molly Mandy) (Kindle Edition)
Yet more lovely stories to enjoy reading to my small grandchildren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Milly-Molly-Mandy's Adventures (Milly Molly Mandy)
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews