Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The fourth Exodus album, Impact is Imminent is not as immediate as its awesome predecessor. The band took their new grooving sound and added a big dose of speed, resulting in a mix between Bonded by Blood and Fabulous Disaster... with an incredibly heavy guitar sound. The production is pretty decent and Steve's vocals are slightly harsher, however the songs are structured in such a way that they can take repeated listens to get familiar with, which can give a bad first impression. The album contains cheesy lyrics, muddy bass and some really standard drumming from new sticks-man John Tempesta.

However; the lead guitar work is excellent and the album does contain lots of quality guitar solos and a few really excellent riffs. Most people's problem with the album is that the it riffs away without evolving or being significantly inventive, however I find that the songs hold up well on their own and do not require a fresh angle. It's classic Exodus at its most...Exodus and I for one enjoy that.

Standout songs include the anti-drink driving Title Track, the speedy 'Thrash Under Pressure,' and the semi-epic 'Heads They Win (Tails They Lose)'
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2008
A most underated album by a band still putting out top class thrash albums today. This is not the fun balls out thrash of their first three albums but a more mature, heavier album. It took me many years to fully appreciate this album but now i cant remove it from my stereo.. it basically rocks ! From the opening riff of 'impact is imminent' to the fury of 'thrash under pressure' it pummells you into submission. If you are enjoying the newer material and not delved into their back catalogue this is a good place to start. Thrash never went away...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Exodus is one of my top favorite thrash metal bands, mostly the 80's era with both vocalists.
I have all their albums, and this one is a great one too, a thrash attack to the face.
An album you listen to it in a loop if you are a thrasher, there are great songs and introes with massive riffs and solos.
I like all the songs in the album but the favorite tracks are: 'Thrash Under Pressure', 'Impact is Imminent' and 'Only Death Decide'.
Any thrash fan and Exodus lover should own it, a must have classic album. Enjoy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2008
This was their debut for EMI in the UK, and boy did they deliver a kick in the teeth for their new record label. I used to work in Virgin Retail in Cardiff. If I was in the store after hours I could put this on the shop system, which was pretty loud. Once workmen elswhere in the building asked me to turn it off as the vibration was annoying them! One of the best, harshest, opening riffs ever. Great to find this midprice after watching greedy sids charging £30 for this on CD!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
this wouldnt be my favourite exodus album , its heavy enough, speedy enough, groovier than before perhaps but doesnt contain a great run of memorable songs, there are some but not as many stand out, still a good album but not what i wanted in terms of what the band were capable of, the three albums before were all gold , you see the point.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
This is the heaviest Thrash album of its time and is head and shoulders above 99% of the also ran Thrash Bands in 1990. There are nine Thrash Metal masterpieces on this monumental slab of bludgeoning, sonic terror and each of them is awe inspiring! This album is so heavy and enjoyable it should be illegal but thank the Metal Gods it is not!!! In my mind if you love Thrash Metal then you already own this album, there is no excuse for not owning it what so ever. Buy or die!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Excelent and totally underrated album, maybe not the best from Exodus but still awesome, much better than average Thrash albums. The only problem here is the poor production, the album sounds like amateur band album, but even this is improved with the remastering, so if youre Exodus or Thrash fan dont have excuse for not buying it, 100% recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Exodus is a really good band live. Unfortunately not so constant when they cut an album. There is still classics but
far from bonded by blood or their latest albums. Still it's a must!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2004
I was lucky enough to have been around when Bonded By Blood was released, when most people was listening to Motley Crue etc... and this record is a just class like eveything which Exodus has done. Wanna listen to classic old school metal then buy this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2004
absolutley brilliant!! into thrash buy this record, better than anything Metallica have ever done. Exodus are the pretty much the pioneers of the bay area thrash Scene rite ok onto the album excellent album by far my favourite Exodus Album it starts off with the song Impact is imminent which is an excellent song to start the album its just like a wack in the face, riffage throughout the album is excellent and u must buy this album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)