Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars contraband is an amazing rock album
i'm a huge fan of guns n' roses to start with. But as from today i'm officialy a bigger fan of velvet revolver. I've been listening to contraband for the past week on MTV's official website and its simply an amazing rock album. It kicks off with the punky "sucker train blues" which has a catchy bassline intro that'll stick deep into your head. The first 5 songs will rock...
Published on 6 Jun 2004 by digs_markey

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I know music piracy is wrong but this is just ridiculous,
Firstly, I should just mention that the music on this albumn is absolutely brilliant, possibley lacking in a few slash style "epic" solo's, (speaking as a huge slash fan), but that aside the music easily gets 5 stars. The problem lies with the CD.
Before buying, this "digipak" version of contraband appears to be nothing more then a bonus disc with an extra track on...
Published on 10 Jan 2005 by Jack Carden


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars contraband is an amazing rock album, 6 Jun 2004
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
i'm a huge fan of guns n' roses to start with. But as from today i'm officialy a bigger fan of velvet revolver. I've been listening to contraband for the past week on MTV's official website and its simply an amazing rock album. It kicks off with the punky "sucker train blues" which has a catchy bassline intro that'll stick deep into your head. The first 5 songs will rock you to the bone but then suddenly this down-spiralling riff from slash invites you to share what I think will be the song to catch everybodys attention to this band. With the name "Fall to Pieces" this is a beatiful power ballad that has a another catchy chorus and amazing guitar solo. This isn't the only ballad on the album, there's 3 in total. The other 2 are amazing too, with really strong lyrics and beautiful melodies. Other hard rockers include "Dirty Little Thing" (with a speedy solo) and "Slither" (this is probably the best heavy one on the album). If your sick of buying albums with 1 or 2 good songs, then the rest are crap... then fork out the cash for this one because believe me this doesn't fail to deliver!! There's at least 11 strong tracks on this album. Definately worth every penny!
P.S i forgot to mention the track "Loving the Aliens" very emotional track, really really good song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthwhile Addition To An Excellent Album!, 2 May 2005
Firstly, Contraband is an excellent album. Despite the group being made up of several ex-Guns N' Roses members, the sound is refreshingly modern rock. Excellent tracks on the album include Slither, Sucker Train Blues, You Got No Right, Fall To Pieces... the list goes on. In fact, the only track I'm not fond of is Loving the Alien - it's very slow in contrast to the rest of the album.
However, if you're looking at the import version, the chances are you already own Contraband and are looking for something extra for your collection. The three bonus tracks Surrender, No More No More and Negative Creep are all quite good. Not a patch on the rest of the Contraband album, but worthwhile having. They are all covers of other band's music (for instance, No More No More was originally recorded by Aerosmith) but Velvet Revolver have put their own take on it. Best track is probably Surrender, but if you're in the mood for a heavy, driving metal song, Negative Creep is the one! One small disadvantage is that the UK Bonus Track, Bodies, is not present on this album. I know, it's an import, but Bodies is a good song.
The videos are pretty much as you'd expect - not particularly high quality and they're just the Music Videos for Slither and Fall To Pieces. A "behind the scenes look" would have been nice, but of course they're limited to one CD.
The major advantage to this release, however, is the lack of BMG Copy Protection that's on the UK and European versions of Contraband. This means that you can listen to the CD on your PC or Mac, and it's not got those annoying "sparks" of sound. It's also possible to import the music to your MP3 player, so if that's what you're after then this is an excellent CD to buy.
In summary: Great CD1, CD2 is ok but worth having if you're a collector, and both CDs are an improvement if you find the BMG Copy Control restrictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What GNR should have become., 14 Jun 2007
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
due to the similarity between the members of VR and Guns & Roses, the comparison is inevitable. Standing along side Appetite for Destruction, this album does occasionally struggle, but what is surprising is how little GNR's masterpiece outshines VR's debut - and in some ways VR overshadow GNR.

Appetite's greatest asset was its raw aggression and the co-ordinated mayhem of a dysfunctional bunch of kids in a band who could just about hold it together long enough to finish the tracks. This chaos contributed to the near-perfection of that album, which no-one has bettered before or since. However, 'real' GNR are long gone.

Enter: Velvet Revolver from the wreckage of GNR and Stone Temple Pilots, and what you get is an inflammable mix of riffs, screaming, aggression and Slash-nesh which makes the jaw drop. This is not a tired bunch of 40yr-olds trying to re-live their glory days. This sounds like a new band. And, praise be. It's good. Very good.

This album is about as riff-filled as one could hope for. The tracks "Slither", "Set Me Free", "Superhuman" and "Suckertrain Blues" hit hard with vintage Slash riffs, and some cool solo-ing. Scott Weiland is a fantastic counterfoil to all the GNR-ness - his voice is snarly, angry, and screwed up for the loud bits, but clear end edgy when it needs to be for the quieter moments.

The GNR rhythm section is here, and they are as lean, tight and powerful as ever. Louder, certainly, and probably crisper too. There are some complex rhythms on here - and the guys make it sound easy. "Slither" is probably my favourite here - it slams in, and grinds into a totally infectious riff with a chorus that opens up into something quite special. GNR never sounded this good. Had a cool dungeon-based video if I remember too...

What also stands out is how VR manage to shift gear into 'power-ballad' mode, but still retaining their edge. the two 'ballads' here "Fall To Pieces", which was a single, and "Loving The Alien" are fabulous. FTP is a more traditional power-style ballad, but it's got that cool guitar 'complete' sound which sets it apart from lesser bands. LTA ,which is almost entirely acoustic is just simply beautiful - acoustic that is until Slash cranks up and comes in with a ridiculously good laid-back bluesy November-Rain style solo. Utterly stunning.

Production is fabulous - and detailing is wonderful. Across the album, the balance is right - Slash is clearly prominent (and playing out of his skin, rather than out of his head), and the interplay between his guitar and Scott's voice works amazingly well. Matt and duff drive the album forward with precision and grit - and the effect of all this is just awesome. Repeated listens reveal new riffs and licks that make this more special. The controlled chaos is in the detail - it's still there, but now it sounds properly screwed together.

Indeed however you describe them, Velvet Revolver show us what GNR should have become - and hopefully won't stop with this album.

Roll on Libertad, 2 July 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 26 Aug 2004
This review is from: Contraband [Digipak] (Audio CD)
I approached this album with some excitement as I'm a big, big Slash and G n' R fan. With the addition of Scott Weiland I thought it was a breath of fresh air and a new angle and, if you ask me, quite ironic. Stone Temple Pilots are very similar to bands such as Alice In Chains, Pearl Jam and Nirvana and it is this kind of music which eventually signalled the demise of Guns n Roses so it was a strange choice to pick Scott but I think an interesting one. The album kicks off as it means to go on. A thick, ugly bass line that kicks into a classic Slash riff and you're already jumping around your car, living room, whatever! Weilands vocals complement each and every song perfectly and he gets his chance to test his range on 'Fall To Pieces' a slow ballad and - no doubt- a live set resting point for the band! The lyrics are surprisingly anti-drug considering the majority of the bands' history and for me 'Headspace' is another high point on the album. And then we come to the first single, 'Slither', which sums up Weilands' stage performance perfectly! He is a human snake. Matt Sorums' snare drum is only a brief intro to Duffs' bass and riffing of Dave Kushner and the legendary Slash as the song rips through you like a scythe and delivers another classic rock n'roll anthem. The solo is awesome and you're left with another three songs with which to chill out and recover! So is it like Guns? With the musical core of the band present, it's hard not to sound like them. But with the addition of a different style singer in Scott Weiland it takes them to another dimension. They may all have cleaned up their act with drink and drugs but they most definitely have not cleaned up their music. Dirty, melodic and pumping. Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second great rock 'supergroup' in 18 months, 7 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
Audioslave set the recent benchmark for what could be achieved by taking a singer from one late, great rock band (although Stone Temple Pilots were never in the same league as Guns N Roses, or, with regard to Audioslave, Soundgarden) and the guitarists and drummers from another seminal rock band.
Perfectly timed to steal the thunder from the inadequate GNR best of, Contraband fulfils all the promise the line up offered. Full of huge guitar licks and memorable solos (well, if Slash couldn't still leave an imprint on an album, who could?) and with Scott Weiland's voice providing an edge of authentic 'rock' - all deep throaty venom, but capable too (on Fall to Pieces for example) of a satisfying change of pace - Velvet Revolver prove that some bands can indeed match the hype.
As has been said, basically if you love Slither, then this is the album for you.
Good to see Weiland actually making headlines for music and not for failed rehab attempts / arrests too. Seeing his skeletal frame gyrate around in the Slither video shows that 'heavy' rock's own Mick Jagger - check the hip wiggling! - is back on that ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Velvet revolver, 5 Nov 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
This is great rock music. Slash rips on the guitar in his usual fantastic style. The songs and lyrics are superb. This band has such a great feel to them, I can't wait for the next installment. This is highly recommended whether you're a fan of Guns and Roses or not, as it's just brilliant rock music. Turn your stereo up loud, put on this album and let the good times roll!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Savour of rock and roll, 15 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Contraband [2CD] (Audio CD)
finally a band to over take guns n roses this albums surges hard through your speakers and keeps on going. This band is so refreshing with its pure dirty sound i cant get tired of hearing them .There cover of no more no more is spectacular really good solo on it .I have to take my hats of to slash and co ( my reason for picking this album up in the first place). Even the variety of songs shows the potential for growth of the band , in your face rock n roll like slither to awe inspiring power ballads like fall to peices . Cant wait untill the follow up album . Also i seen them play live at the secc on june the 9th and they were immense keep on goin lads you will save the soul of rock and roll and blow away the pretenders with your no nononsense uncompromising f*ck off attitude and powerfull songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grower, 14 Nov 2004
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
I ordered this album as soon as I heard about it, and when I opened it on the day of its arrival I have to say I was a touch disappointed. However, I listened to it a few times, and found myself liking it more and more with each turn, it's not GnR, and it's not STP, people looking for another incarnation of those bands are bound to be disappointed. It's a slightly punky offering from a supergroup who have put the stuff they already released behind them. Don't buy it because you like Slash, or Scott Weiland, the whole point is that they're doing something different, just listen to it as a new offering from a new band (which it is), hold no preconceived notions about it, and you'll realise what a masterpiece it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelieveably good., 26 May 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contraband [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Ok, well i wasn't too hopeful when I found out Scott Willand was going to be the singer of this band, because i was never a stone temple pilots (or grunge generally) fan, but the combination of him and the ex Guns N Roses boys Slash, Duff and Matt, and a new guitarist on the scene, Slash's childhood friend Dave Kushner is amazing. Here is my review of each song that has been heard sofar ion the radio and internet:
1 suckertrain blues - Superfast and super heavy. It sounds a little overproduced but is really origional sounding, great lyrics.
2 Do it for the kids - despite the geekish title, this is a real rocker with a lot of balls and melodic chorus, GNR fans will love it.
3 Big machine - if you like its so easy and mr brownstone you will love this. Some of the most origional lyrics i have ever heard here but i don't think amazon would let me repeat them here. Another all out rocker with a great B section.
4 illegal 1. Straight out rocker, doesn't have the Epic structure of the last 3 which are very complex songs. Great riff which reminds me a lot of led zepplins immigrant song.
5 spectacle - Really aggressive but catchy punk/alt rock sonf
6 Fall to pices - This could be a number 1 single. Structured like 'don't cry' and with a guitar riff as dominant as the one from sweet child o mine this is some of slash's best melodic work ever.
7 - headspace, another straight out rocker, probably my least favourite song on the album but its still pretty good.
8 - Superhuman - this song is just messed up, in the best way, i have never heard anything like it, its as ifall the best bits of nirvana and megadeth have been mashed together in a single song. The main riff sounds like sweet child o mine on acid, and 2 minutes into the song you realise there have been at least 6 different sections to the song already. This song really needs to be heard to be believed.
9 - set me free - great anthem with a great riff, the first song we heard as it was on the Hulk soundtrack.
10 - You gott no right - Amazing epic ballad somewhere between David Bowie, Oasis and with a really great solo, probably best solo on the album for melody.
11 - Slither, the first single, straight out grung song sounds like early STP or Alice in chains
12Dirty little thing - the only song we haven't heard yet, hope its good.
13Loving the alien (sometimes) - this has nothing to do with the david bowie song of the same name, it is an origional, 70's sounding prog rock ballad, great guitar riff and solo.
14 - bodies, the bonus track, a cover of the sex pistols song, which says it all. Cool song but not in the same class as the new ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOOP, 25 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
One of the best rock albums in the world... Ever, cant beleive these guys arent gettin as much recognition as they should be, definately a must buy for any real rock band!!!

look out for - fall to peices, slither, spectacle awsome tracks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contraband [Explicit]
Contraband [Explicit] by Velvet Revolver
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews