Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun
she's always worth reading - love the fact that she's not hard up. Slightly smug, but amusingly so.
Have read about three in the last month - will give it a break now - but will happily come back. Light, interesting, and
although I get slightly irritated at the fawning over the wife of the late.......... by his criminal colleagues, it soon passes.
Good...
Published 17 months ago by Mrs. J. Ludlow

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny
There are several scenes in this novel which made me smile. Ms Pargeter goes to on a slimming diet at a health farm, which of course lends itself to hilarious situations. Sometimes I had the impression though that the writer introduced scenes which which had little or nothing to do with the plot, just for the sake of their comic potential. Like the scene with the estate...
Published on 22 Oct 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Ludlow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Pargeter's Pound of Flesh (A Mrs Pargeter Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
she's always worth reading - love the fact that she's not hard up. Slightly smug, but amusingly so.
Have read about three in the last month - will give it a break now - but will happily come back. Light, interesting, and
although I get slightly irritated at the fawning over the wife of the late.......... by his criminal colleagues, it soon passes.
Good holiday stuff, train reading and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read!, 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Pargeter's Pound of Flesh (A Mrs Pargeter Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
This was my first experience of Simon Brett's Mrs Pargeter series and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I have to say that I have nothing but admiration for the late Mr Pargeter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 22 Oct 2000
By A Customer
There are several scenes in this novel which made me smile. Ms Pargeter goes to on a slimming diet at a health farm, which of course lends itself to hilarious situations. Sometimes I had the impression though that the writer introduced scenes which which had little or nothing to do with the plot, just for the sake of their comic potential. Like the scene with the estate agent on the telephone. I have the suspicion that this was originally intended as a radio play, for some reason not produced, and the was just stuffing into one of his crime novels. It's a funny scene, don't mistake me, but it has nothing to do with the story line. I also felt that some of the gags were overplayed. A bit more subtlety would have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First class entertainment, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Pargeter's Pound of Flesh (A Mrs Pargeter Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
If you only read one Mrs Pargeter book make it this one, although it is more than likely you will want to read more about this redoubtable lady. This book is funny, the plot is clever, she comes close to meeting her maker and there is a clever twist near the end. It is pure entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Pargeter, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Pargeter's Pound of Flesh (A Mrs Pargeter Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
She's a brilliant character and in this one she actually follows her late husbands 'guidelines' I particularly enjoy the 'old firm' members who turn up to help her especially their nicknames!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to find in print, 19 Sep 2013
By 
J. Hillyard (Darlington, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Pargeter's Pound of Flesh (A Mrs Pargeter Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
The one Pargeter book I had never read. Thanks for making it available in e-book format, these are getting harder to find in libraries etc and it was very reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Pargeter's Pound of Flesh (A Mrs Pargeter Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
A good holiday read, and now up to book four. I really enjoy the Mrs Pargeter character, and her friends . I shall look forward to book 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an easy read, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. Geoffrey Bloomfield (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of Simon Brett [except for the Blotto Twinks books,which I dont like}. The first Mrs. Pargeter mystery that I read was "A nice class of corpse" which is excellent, a really good book. This one not quite as good but definitely still a very good and readable light murder mystery and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Pargeter does it again!, 11 May 2009
By 
Sue jess (Farnborough, Hants.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simon Brett is brilliant at writing a good whodunnit with lots of humour. His Mrs Pargeter's books are a good example of this. The nicknames of the characters who help her in her investigations are hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Pargeter's Pound of Flesh (A Mrs Pargeter Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I like this series of books,they are an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews