Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good design, low power, good delivery and packing.
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:22 Mins
Pleased with the speed of delivery, the packing was good (both amazon and affinity).

In summary - Purchased the affinity heater after a lot of searching, looking at the designs available, reading reviews of the various heaters out there, plus this been the lowest power I could find and thus lowest running costs. This has proven...
Published on 26 Jan. 2013 by ShaggyD

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Design
The heater has no indicator that it is working. It should be an LED, preferably green. The float has a white circular plastic pad fitted which could be mistaken for packaging. A 'Do not Remove' sticker should be affixed to it. Also there is no mention anywhere of what fuse should be fitted to the plug. A good idea ruined by lack of thought.
Published on 5 Dec. 2012 by southwestern


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good design, low power, good delivery and packing., 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater (Garden & Outdoors)
Length:: 0:22 Mins

Pleased with the speed of delivery, the packing was good (both amazon and affinity).

In summary - Purchased the affinity heater after a lot of searching, looking at the designs available, reading reviews of the various heaters out there, plus this been the lowest power I could find and thus lowest running costs. This has proven itself to be a very good buy. I bought at £24, but I would still recommend at the present £32 cost, even over the cheaper rod/foam heaters

The design is simple, build quality good, no problem with attaching the heater rod (fitted inside the convection tube) to the float, just push and twist for a firm grip.

I like the design of using a convection tube, will keep water travelling closely up past the heater rod and thus end up with heated water at a low power use jetting out at the top of the tube to the surface of the pond.

The white plastic packing that is embedded in the float is quite obviously meant for floatation by the way that it is hooked into it.

The 10m cable is ideal for the job.

Keep hold of the box for summer storage.

Our small bath sized pond spends all of the day in shade at this time of year, and thus normally gets a very thick covering of ice and is not visable when snow settles. Last year was really bad and even with us clearing a hole every day we ended up with dead toads and fish frozen in the ice.

Over the last few weeks of snow and freezing temperatures the heater has kept a hole about the size of a dinner plate ice free and most of the pond snow free, not just the hole in the middle of the float but round the edges to a good size.
The hole gets visited by birds and the cat that has adopted us as one of his owners, I see the fish passing under the hole quite happily.

The 50watt heater is left on 24/7, thus using 1.2kw, costing us £0.16 a day with the tariff that we are on.

Video of heater in action attached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used outside the office - worked a treat, 1 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater (Garden & Outdoors)
I can vouch for this product having seen it in action outside our office in our Affinity Octagon pool. During the relly cold weather, our waterfall froze solid, as did the top of the affinity pool and our other pond, we put one in each and very quickly, the vent hole appeared and the fish seemed a lot happier, overall, i would recommend this product as it definitely does what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My fish loves it !, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater (Garden & Outdoors)
Our pond are partly raised out of ground so we wanted some extra winter protection. This heater worked perfectly whenever the weather got real cold and the fish gathered around the heater like spokes on a wheel !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater (Garden & Outdoors)
Not tried it yet as wrong time of year. Was recommended by a friend who said it does what's on the box . The only draw back was that it kept his pond warm so fish had to be feed in Winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater (Garden & Outdoors)
Having used it I can say that this product was exactly right for my needs. I have a small pond which easily ices over. This product keeps a small area unfrozen and the central tube allows exchange of gases, exactly as specified. It was delivered promptly in good condition/packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fish love pond heater, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater (Garden & Outdoors)
The heater arrived promptly and the fish love it. Huddled around it like their own hot water bottle. It does what is described and I hope it will be okay to use again and again in subsequent years, unlike others makes I've tired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tried and tested now, works great, 11 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater (Garden & Outdoors)
This product works fantastically, tried it with the cold weather we have just had and the vent hole was the perfect size for our Affinity Pool, we also have one in our garden pond too wired in through one of the Blagdon Powersafe connector things.

Just a normal plug and fuse for the Affinity heater is needed, not sure why that was a big issue from another customer, and all is very self explanatory with the packaging and the pictures on the box. Its so easy a 2 year old could use it and put it together.

Also use the power monitor thing from Eon we have got and it uses half as much power as the previous models we have had. Great news when the price of power is going up by so much these days.

Thanks Blagdon :) Another great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good product, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater (Garden & Outdoors)
Have used this product over the winter and it has proved to be worth much praise as it served its purpose well.
Very pleased with the purchase and the usual quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the pond ice at bay., 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater (Garden & Outdoors)
The unit is solid enough for the job and appears to keep a decent hole in the ice.would benefit from warning light/neon/led to remind me that it's still on. Also have a Blagdon pond pump which has given no problems so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater (Garden & Outdoors)
Good quality product which was delivered quickly. Is now in place and appears to be working in some quite inclement weather - like freezing. Spring will see how effectively when I see my fish again.
May 2013 - I have now seen my fish so everyone is happy with the heater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blagdon Pond and Affinity Ice Vent Heater
£26.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews