Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent solution for backups
previously all my backups were done through external drives, this product you are able to use internal drives which slot into the docking station with big savings for only paying internal drive prices compared to external drives which are more expensive. The one I purchased has two slots which means you can copy from one drive to the other, and of course from your...
Published 23 months ago by C. W. King

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity. Dust magnet
Missed opportunity. The covers on the top only cover part of the top making it a total dust magnet. There should have been additional covers for the 2.5 inch side, hinged on the other side. Also, they should have been a copy button that enabled cloning of a drive without needing a PC.
Published 11 months ago by DLD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent solution for backups, 30 July 2013
By 
C. W. King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for Dual 2.5/3.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
previously all my backups were done through external drives, this product you are able to use internal drives which slot into the docking station with big savings for only paying internal drive prices compared to external drives which are more expensive. The one I purchased has two slots which means you can copy from one drive to the other, and of course from your computer drives and they are able to take either 3.5 or 2.5 Sata drives, and older types with an adapter at extra cost. This is a perfect solution to backing up all your photos and data and keep them filed using little space, the other good feature is that if you have an old computer where the drive is not working or redundant you are able to take these drives out and use these to retrieve any data (as in my case when the computer stop working) or use them for backing up. So this product gets full marks, however one slight criticism is that with the instruction manual on the most crucial page of how to set up the new drives, the page was blank! However this was rectified by going onto their website and download the instructions from there . But an excellent solution for backups of all descriptions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USB 3.0 Startech HDD dock, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for Dual 2.5/3.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
I use this when I'm fixing peoples computers and they want there data backed up or they say the drive is dead, I use this as a way to test if the drives dead and if I can get the data then great, I've experienced data rates of around 100-200MB/s usually settles towards 100MB/s which is still great. Its an easy to use device you simply plug your HDD in and push the bay button to turn it on, once you have used it simply push the button at the side to release the HDD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says with no problems so far, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
LORD BEAU (London, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for Dual 2.5/3.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
I have given this four stars as it is quite a bit more expensive than some similar offerings. However, it does offer USB3 and is very useful for sticking raw hard disks into your computer either to see what's on them or to add extra drives without bothering to buy a case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product - still able to use those old harddisks, 10 Mar. 2013
By 
D. B. Vleeshhouwer "vleeshhd" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for Dual 2.5/3.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
Easy to use - simple plug and play.
Fast data transfer!
Comes with USB cable.
Separate power buttons for each drive slot.
Just have to be a bit careful with the flaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for Dual 2.5/3.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
Every person that deals with SATA drives should own one of these. Just connect it up with USB 3.0 and use something like TeraCopy to duplicate 2TB in about 6 hours. The individual power buttons are an excellent feature and it's a very sturdy metal case so should last. I managed to salvage a Samsung drive that was worrying Windows and for that it was worth every penny. I'm now using it to create offline backups as it's so easy to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy, 21 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for Dual 2.5/3.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
The product is well made, useful and quick. I'm very happy using it. That's great change over USB 2 solution which I had before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity. Dust magnet, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for Dual 2.5/3.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
Missed opportunity. The covers on the top only cover part of the top making it a total dust magnet. There should have been additional covers for the 2.5 inch side, hinged on the other side. Also, they should have been a copy button that enabled cloning of a drive without needing a PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, and fast too!, 17 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for Dual 2.5/3.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
Bought this to replace an older unit which started acting up. That one was USB2 and right away I noticed that this unit was MUCH faster! Highly recommended, provided you have a USB3 port.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for Dual 2.5/3.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
Works perfectly and very easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars twin dock usb 3, 25 Dec. 2012
By 
R. Steer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for Dual 2.5/3.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
Exactly as expected. Use to service nas drive at high speed. bought for usb3 connection. If I seem to be waffling, its because there is a minumum number of words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews