Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game
Very good golf game and glad to see the option to get alot of the classic courses from previous years (highlands, Predator and emerald Dragon etc.)

Tiger woods 14 out now but I prefer to get games like this cheaper so waited and got it at a bargain price.
Published 17 months ago by Robert Dutoit

versus
65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EA takes the biscuit.
This review is more of a specific view of this games major fault, as I see it, which underlines a problem EA have been forcing on its customers and is getting worse. As for the game play and modes, I see no real change from previous additions that warrant a new game or reviewing for that matter, which has long since been the norm with the Tiger Woods series (and similarly...
Published on 21 May 2012 by Max


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EA takes the biscuit., 21 May 2012
By 
Max (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This review is more of a specific view of this games major fault, as I see it, which underlines a problem EA have been forcing on its customers and is getting worse. As for the game play and modes, I see no real change from previous additions that warrant a new game or reviewing for that matter, which has long since been the norm with the Tiger Woods series (and similarly other EA Sports titles).

EA and Tiger Woods 13 pushes the limit to what gamers are prepared to accept in terms of a one off payment for a game, to the point where this year's incarnation gives the gamer starting out little to pick from but lots to pay for. Of the 36 courses on offer there are only 17 available to play.

Of the courses that are locked you can pay to play a round of golf on them. One round will either cost you 6000 in game coins (earned as you play, 6000 coins will take about 7-8 rounds of 18 holes to gain) or you can pay one pound 59 of real money to play one round of 18 holes on that course. To unlock the course outright takes a large task of completing a set of objectives at that course (paying for rounds so you can complete them). Alternatively you can unlock unlimited play at one course for 18,000 coins (the earnings of about 20-25 rounds of 18). Unlocking eleven of the locked courses can be paid for at around thirty two pounds (or for the pretty much unobtainable 150,000 coins). Put basically it will take a large investment of your time to unlock courses.

Additionally, pin packs (in game boosts) can be bought for a large sum of in game coins or again for real money. As an example if you were just starting out a 15 pin pack would cost nearly four pounds with a 4-5 rounds of 18 at an unlocked course to afford. It's worth noting it would take a huge amount of playing to save enough in game coins for bonuses if you are constantly paying for rounds of golf or attempting to unlock locked courses (a lot of the online challenges are played at locked courses as well).

EA once again allow you to pay real money to level up in career mode, which some may decide to do rather than trudge through this completely unchanged mode again. two pounds 39 of real money will grant you instant access to the next level. Golfer attire can also be paid for, a set of largely uninteresting t-shirts and clubs can set you back nearly four pounds.

Of course you don't have to pay for these extras but those returning to the games will be dismayed at having to earn the same equipment and attire, the same levels etc that they had previously already achieved. There's no new incentive to play.

EA now view games as just the beginning of a cash cow that potentially could make them double what was originally paid by the customer, with nothing new or exciting added to warrant any investment. Tiger Woods 13 takes this to a new quite unbelievable low making you buy mere rounds at courses or trawling through hours and hours of play to get unlimited rounds on one course (being able to unlock courses through reasonable play is not too much to ask). What you get when you buy the game is really not enough and is not transparent to the customer as to what they're really getting.

Fans of these titles would be wise to hold onto older copies and more importantly stop buying these newer games until EA get the message that it's simply not acceptable business practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you have previous edition, not worth upgrade, 30 May 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found the game irritatingly long to load, and made worse by every hole requiring further waiting time to load graphics. My son did not have the patience and found the long waits frustrating and lost interest in playing.

There is a glich in the graphics as the ball you have played is coming to a rest, sometimes the screen freezes momentarily then jumps to where the ball has stopped. Unacceptable really on a high end games console.

On the plus side it was easy to learn the club swinging technique.

As we already have Tiger Woods 2008 I dont think this upgrade was necessary if you have previous generation games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
Very good golf game and glad to see the option to get alot of the classic courses from previous years (highlands, Predator and emerald Dragon etc.)

Tiger woods 14 out now but I prefer to get games like this cheaper so waited and got it at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EA Rip Offs, 21 Nov 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
I have just been looking at buying a few of the EA Sports games as presents for family and see that they are now all about online play and trying to get more money out of people after their purchases. Until this rip off mentality is corrected I will not be purchasing any EA Sports in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Best Tiger Woods Yet, 7 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm astounded at the negative reviews of this game so far -
The career mode of Tiny Tiger to Older tiger is fun
The point people make about buying courses - well if you play the game enough you get the gold coins after each round of golf usually 600 per 18 holes in career mode, you also earn gold coins joining a country club and if you play connected on-line 4 days in a row you get 1000 coins - I refuse to waste them on pin packs etc.(which you can get for free by completing course mastery) - I am saving my coins up for a 6 Hole unlimited pack at a cost of 75,000 or 90,000 so no need to spend money you just need to play the game...
The new swing mode is much more realistic in how you play golf - once used to it - it's better than previous versions
On-line games against other people can be fun - if you set the level to within your expertise range...
also playing against my misses is fun (although no Xp or coins earned)
All in all this is the best PGA Tiger woods game yet and yes I am Addicted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, just stop charging for everything!, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
I love this game, the graphics are superb as is the gameplay but I'm fed up with EA charging for everything. You can play the game with the included courses but you have to pay more than I payed for the game itself to get the rest! You can earn them through gameplay but you would be playing this every day for a year just to get close to the amount of points you need. In conclusion it's a great game in itself but after a while you loose interest because you know you will need to play this forever just to get all the courses and by then you become fed up of having to play the same courses over and over again to achieve the points. Or of course you can give in to the evil capitalist empire of EA and spend a fortune on getting what you always used to get included in previous pga games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replacing 2005 for me, 18 May 2013
By 
Mr. R. Burton (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
I won The 2013 Masters by 3 clear strokes from Adam Scott this year. Not in my dreams but playing on the very days that he did all be it in virtual form. Thats the beauty of this game for me, playing the courses and the tournaments that constitute the PGA tour means you get to know every hole and that makes watching on Sky so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tiger woods 13, 6 Jan 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
Tiger woods 13 has great graphics, and decent gameplay but I got frustrated after only one day of playing it. They say the new swing control is the best in golf games but too me it was really hard to do. I traded it in after 3 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tiger Woods 13, 23 Dec 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
Have played TW for last 6yrs or so and i personally think that although this game evolves with seperate releases, EA try to improve features which were originally sound and didnt require improvement....the exception with 13 is the swing gameplay...best yet...
The game appears to have many gliches, which give the game overall feel of bittyness.
I cannot get online where i live and so missout on at least a dozen courses!!!!
Poor show EA,for what was an excellent series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3)
Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews