Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acoustic Stranglers - Interesting Interlude in Brugge, 29 Aug 2012
By 
Secret Scribe (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic in Brugge (Audio CD)
I must admit that I wasn't sure about purchasing this, at first. But after a long hiatus from The Meninblack when Hugh Cornwell left, I happened to pick up Giants and was pleasantly blown away. Then ditto with Norfolk Coast and Suite XVI albums. The Stranglers have long since evolved as musicians and adopted a broader palette than their 'Punk meets Doors' earlier offerings suggested. It got boring during the latter years with Cornwell, but thankfully the duelling keyboards and bass guitar are back to the fore and the band is revitalised - they sound like they mean it once more.

Then suddenly, out of nowhere comes this stripped back acoustic set, showcasing different versions of older and newer material. JJ sports an acoustic bass and Jet Black still hits the skins, so the acoustic rendering of songs still has the trademark bite. The band are relaxed and clearly enjoying this gig, as you can hear from the between songs banter with the away crowd of raucous Brits and more reserved locals. The setlist is by no means a Greatest Hits effort, so we are treated with several hits + album tracks.

If, like me, you are interested in the overall song writing, then the acoustic format is an excellent way to study the songs' texture, dynamics and lyrics.

Sorry I missed their Roundhouse gig now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic in Brugge (Audio CD)
Up to the Stranglers usual standard EXCELLENT, bought to replace worn out cd,played so many times before needed new cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unplugged excellence, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic in Brugge (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of The meninblack since my school days which was long ago when Dinosaurs ruled the world and I purchased the amazing Rattus Norvegicus and followed them up until ,H**h C!'~well ,parted company. Over the years I continued to see em live but didn't really get in to the new stuff but that all changed when they released released the superb Giants album. Having just seen the lads live at Hammersmith I decided to give this cd a try having read other reviews,we'll what a hidden gem this is. The songs a broken down brilliantly and shows what great song writers and musicians they are. If you love The Stranglers grab this cd and peel back your lug holes and enjoy but don't bring Harry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy !!!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic in Brugge (Audio CD)
Absolutely loved the Stranglers in the 70's & absolutely love this
Always enjoyed listening to the first 4 classic releases but that was as far as it went, but over the last few months i've slowly been getting my Stranglers collection up to date. A great track listing spanning over the last few decades and a joy to listen to.
You wont be disappointed Buy and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars phenomenal., 16 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Gordon Mackenzie (Hampshire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic in Brugge (Audio CD)
Phenomenal quality from one of historys most underrated band. A must for the fan. Better than another greatest hits rehash. Acoustic music at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stranglers unplugged at Brugge, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic in Brugge (Audio CD)
Nice one by the men in black. Relaxed and refreshing take on familiar songs. Burnel sings like in the old days. With this crystal clear style of producing the music can stand the test of time and the unplugged versions show how sophisticated they really are (or were). Recommended for true Strangleristi. Even the new songs fit in well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an acoustic evening with the stranglers., 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic in Brugge (Audio CD)
great acoustic gig,lets face it the stranglers live are never gonna dissapiont,and with plenty of amusing banter between songs its a really enjoyable album,in a word excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic in Brugge (Audio CD)
Bought it for my husband for Xmas and he players it over and over he's a life long Stranglers fan and has loved this one.delivery was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acoustic in Brugge
Acoustic in Brugge by Stranglers (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews