Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally uplifting read
Promise Cove is an emotional story that has been cleverly crafted into an engaging and uplifting read. At the heart of the book lies a tale of a small family destroyed by the raging war in Iraq and a small town's unwillingness to step up and help one of their own.

Jordan really is a smashing character, with McKeehan effortlessly portraying her simultaneously as...
Published 24 months ago by BestChickLit.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
I TRIED A FEW TIMES TO GET INTO THIS BOOK AND ACTUALLY READ 2 CHAPTERS BUT UNFORTUNETLEY IT DID'NT HOLD ME ENOUGH TO WANT TO READ FURTHER
Published 10 months ago by Mrs. A. M. Weston


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally uplifting read, 2 Sep 2012
This review is from: Promise Cove (A Pelican Pointe Novel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Promise Cove is an emotional story that has been cleverly crafted into an engaging and uplifting read. At the heart of the book lies a tale of a small family destroyed by the raging war in Iraq and a small town's unwillingness to step up and help one of their own.

Jordan really is a smashing character, with McKeehan effortlessly portraying her simultaneously as a grieving widow with the world on her shoulders, a caring mother and an intelligent woman trying her best to emotionally move on. Jordan carries the book along with guilt-ridden Nick; the rugged but damaged male lead. Sexual tension between the two hums from the pages and the development of Nick's character makes Promise Cove hard to put down. Certain scenes involving Nick, Jordon's daughter Hutton and the town's people are the book's pulling power, adding depth and a touch of reality to a great storyline. A brilliant and rewarding read.

Reviewed by Charlotte Foreman on behalf of BestChickLit.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believable Romance, 31 Jan 2013
This review is from: Promise Cove (A Pelican Pointe Novel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book the characters were so believable and I got drawn into the book from the start and I do not normally read romance stories. My favorite character was Murphy who comes across as a no nonsense person but one who has a heart of gold. The love story and the interaction between all of the characters kept me hooked and gave me a sleepless night as I just had to finish the book would highly recommend this book it is certainly well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I laughed, I cried and fell in love with this book!, 11 Mar 2013
This review is from: Promise Cove (A Pelican Pointe Novel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The premise of the story is not that unique, Jordan Philips becomes a widow when her husband is killed in Iraq and one of the men he served with, Nick Harris, makes a promise to him to visit his widow. What happens after that is not so predictable. Every time I thought I knew what was going to happen next, I was thrown for a loop. It was funny, sweet, romantic, had lots of tension (sexual and otherwise), loveable characters and scenery to die for. I did not want to put this down and even when it was over, I was hoping that there would be more. I was given a copy of this book in order to review it, but I am sucked in and will be buying the other books in this series. I definitely recommend reading this contemporary romance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely story happy and sad, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Cove (A Pelican Pointe Novel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant story couldn't put it down another great free read from amazon would have gladly paid for it though, had me in tears at times well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Cove (A Pelican Pointe Novel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have really enjoyed this story, got me hooked from start to finish a great read highly recommend it x.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Cove (A Pelican Pointe Novel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I TRIED A FEW TIMES TO GET INTO THIS BOOK AND ACTUALLY READ 2 CHAPTERS BUT UNFORTUNETLEY IT DID'NT HOLD ME ENOUGH TO WANT TO READ FURTHER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching Love Story, 3 Sep 2013
This review is from: Promise Cove (A Pelican Pointe Novel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wow. I'm so glad I selected this book on my Kindle today. Being under the weather, I wanted a good read, scrolled through my downloads, and decided to give Promise Cove a shot, having no clue the sweet love story I was in store for.

Driving in a convoy outside of Bagdad, Captain Scott Phillips drones on and on about his wife Jordan and daughter Hutton to Lieutenant Nick Harris. Nick humors him, although details of his commanding officer's domestic bliss and dream of renovating his Queen Anne Victorian into a Bed & Breakfast bores Nick to tears. After playboy Nick declares marriage would be a rock around his neck, followed by Scott's assurance that a good woman like Jordan would change his mind, their Humvee is struck by a mortar. Scott's dying request to Nick is to take care of "his girls."

Suffering from PTSD, Nick makes good on his promise a year later, pulling up on his Harley in front of Scott's childhood home. He finds the Victorian rundown and Scott's beautiful widow in tears after losing a battle with a sander. In despair, Jordan confesses she is on the verge of losing her home to the stranger, if she doesn't open her Bed & Breakfast within two months. Nick had planned on sharing details of Scott's death and then leaving, with hopes of finally being free from plaguing nightmares of that day. However, much to his frustration, he knows he can't leave his friend's family in a dire situation, and without sharing who he is, the financier passes himself off as a "carpenter slash handyman."

The tender and touching love story that unfolds as Nick and Jordan make Scott's dream come true kept me clicking. The writing and characters are beautiful. Who wouldn't like a story about two kind and selfless people who find one another in their sorrow and brokenness? It was a very rewarding read by an extremely gifted writer. Being sick is the pits. The upside: Uninterrupted reading time to get lost in Promise Cove. I look forward to reading more by Vickie McKeehan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Cove (A Pelican Pointe Novel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Promise Cove is a wonderful story about Nick, an Iraqi veteran, who comes to Pelican Pointe to fullfill a promise well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab x, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Cove (A Pelican Pointe Novel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a great wee book had me hooked from beginning to end xx Fab characters Especially Murphy he is a no nonsense character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Promise. cove, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Cove (A Pelican Pointe Novel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book the author story held you until the final words it was romantic exciting in places it made you rush to see what happened on the next page I can't wait to read more of this series of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews